Old 03-30-2020, 01:14 PM   #1
Mike@Ossarium
Human being with feelings
 
Mike@Ossarium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 59
Default CSI - Behringer X-Touch & X-Touch Extender

Hi,

i have made configuration files for the Behringer X-Touch & X-Touch Extender.
Please let me know if you encounter problems or have some feature requests.

BR, Mike

https://stash.reaper.fm/38709/CSI_Be...tender_V01.zip
__________________
Reaper Version: 6.05 / Audio Interface: Behringer FCA1616
Band: Ossarium / Last Project: http://ossarium.bandcamp.com/ (Recorded and Mixed with Reaper)
Mike@Ossarium is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2020, 02:24 PM   #2
spkr4thdd
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Scotland
Posts: 13
Default Great work!

Hey Mike!

Just thought I’d make my first post a positive one!

I just got an X-Touch and use MixBus and Reaper as my two main DAWs. MB has built in support for the X-Touch and I’ve only put off getting one as I love recording in Reaper so wanted decent interoperability in that as well.

I set up CSI last night and dropped your .mst and zon files in. Painless, seamless and almost as good as the official integration in MB. Thank you so much! It means I can now focus on setting up my VI’s, plugins and fx etc.

Great work!

Last edited by spkr4thdd; 04-02-2020 at 02:27 PM. Reason: Spelling!
spkr4thdd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2020, 01:27 AM   #3
Mike@Ossarium
Human being with feelings
 
Mike@Ossarium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 59
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spkr4thdd View Post
Hey Mike!

Just thought I’d make my first post a positive one!

I just got an X-Touch and use MixBus and Reaper as my two main DAWs. MB has built in support for the X-Touch and I’ve only put off getting one as I love recording in Reaper so wanted decent interoperability in that as well.

I set up CSI last night and dropped your .mst and zon files in. Painless, seamless and almost as good as the official integration in MB. Thank you so much! It means I can now focus on setting up my VI’s, plugins and fx etc.

Great work!
Thanks for the feedback. Let me know if something don't work or what functions you are missing. I will try to extend it in the future.

Cheers, Mike
__________________
Reaper Version: 6.05 / Audio Interface: Behringer FCA1616
Band: Ossarium / Last Project: http://ossarium.bandcamp.com/ (Recorded and Mixed with Reaper)
Mike@Ossarium is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2020, 02:19 PM   #4
edding
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 38
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike@Ossarium View Post
Hi,

i have made configuration files for the Behringer X-Touch & X-Touch Extender.
Please let me know if you encounter problems or have some feature requests.

BR, Mike

https://stash.reaper.fm/38709/CSI_Be...tender_V01.zip
Thank you for your work.
EDIT:
In the beggining this happen to me:
I can move the faders from reaper and x touch reflect it and move it, but when i try to move from X touch it doesnt reflect on reaper. After 3 secords the fader return to the original position.

Later i tried to use the action CSI Edit mode and check show mode input from surfaces. After that, the fader doesnt return to inital position but some other faults is happening:
-Everty time i push "select" from track doesnt work but cycle is lighted on surface
-PRevious Fader bank doesnt work
-next channel doesnt work

There is a huge delay between any movements and the effect on reaper

Last edited by edding; Yesterday at 10:33 AM.
edding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 11:00 AM   #5
Mike@Ossarium
Human being with feelings
 
Mike@Ossarium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 59
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by edding View Post
Thank you for your work.
EDIT:
In the beggining this happen to me:
I can move the faders from reaper and x touch reflect it and move it, but when i try to move from X touch it doesnt reflect on reaper. After 3 secords the fader return to the original position.

Later i tried to use the action CSI Edit mode and check show mode input from surfaces. After that, the fader doesnt return to inital position but some other faults is happening:
-Everty time i push "select" from track doesnt work but cycle is lighted on surface
-PRevious Fader bank doesnt work
-next channel doesnt work

There is a huge delay between any movements and the effect on reaper
Hm - that sound strange.
Have you disabled the input/outputs of the x-touch in the midi device settings?
Or have you changed some settings in reaper?
__________________
Reaper Version: 6.05 / Audio Interface: Behringer FCA1616
Band: Ossarium / Last Project: http://ossarium.bandcamp.com/ (Recorded and Mixed with Reaper)
Mike@Ossarium is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 11:48 AM   #6
edding
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 38
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike@Ossarium View Post
Hm - that sound strange.
Have you disabled the input/outputs of the x-touch in the midi device settings?
Or have you changed some settings in reaper?
Yes. I cannot enable it meanwhile i use original MCU or CSI. Reaper report an error when i try to enable it.
I will try in other computer starting from scratch.

By the way, im courious, you think it will possible to make a configuration to use the 2nd row of scribb to show more characters of track name? Upper row is limited to 7 characters.
edding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 12:14 PM   #7
Finow79
Human being with feelings
 
Finow79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Brandenburg
Posts: 40
Default

You can download a fresh version from reaper.fm and install it as portable.
After this, you can configure it again as you want it (Midi/ CSI).
Are there any issues, too?

Felix!
Finow79 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 01:32 PM   #8
Mike@Ossarium
Human being with feelings
 
Mike@Ossarium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 59
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by edding View Post
Yes. I cannot enable it meanwhile i use original MCU or CSI. Reaper report an error when i try to enable it.
I will try in other computer starting from scratch.

By the way, im courious, you think it will possible to make a configuration to use the 2nd row of scribb to show more characters of track name? Upper row is limited to 7 characters.
You should stricktley follow the installation gute from the Wiki:
https://github.com/malcolmgroves/reaper_csi/wiki

I will check if it is possible to show the rest of the track name on the lower display part, but i like that it shos normally the panning or the automation mode.
Cheers, Mike
__________________
Reaper Version: 6.05 / Audio Interface: Behringer FCA1616
Band: Ossarium / Last Project: http://ossarium.bandcamp.com/ (Recorded and Mixed with Reaper)
Mike@Ossarium is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 02:36 PM   #9
edding
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 38
Default

Thank you all. Using a fresh reaper portable install its working

Looks like there is something in my previous installation that is not compatible.
I will make a step by step migration of configuration to this new portable install to try to debug what happened.
edding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 02:44 PM   #10
edding
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 38
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike@Ossarium View Post
I will check if it is possible to show the rest of the track name on the lower display part, but i like that it shos normally the panning or the automation mode.
Cheers, Mike
Thank you very much!. If its possible i will investigate to tune it by my self.
For me, the panning information with the rotatory knob led is enough.
in the other hand I think dB are useful once you move the fader like is working now.

My pain mixing with xtouch is to use cryptics names for tracks.
For example a track like "Guitar1 Chorus delay" need to crop to "gt1chdl" to recognice it in the surface. Maybe with color in scribble could be easier also.
edding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 03:43 AM   #11
Mike@Ossarium
Human being with feelings
 
Mike@Ossarium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 59
Default New Release with FX support

Hi,
today or tomorrow i will post a new release with support for the ReaEQ, ReaComp and Voxengo MSED FX.

With that release the SWS extension is needed!

Please feel free to post your wishes.

Cheers,
Mike
__________________
Reaper Version: 6.05 / Audio Interface: Behringer FCA1616
Band: Ossarium / Last Project: http://ossarium.bandcamp.com/ (Recorded and Mixed with Reaper)
Mike@Ossarium is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 04:54 AM   #12
tdc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Sydney
Posts: 200
Default

Hi Mike, thanks for sharing this.

Whilst I don't have any of that hardware, seeing your syntax and style of script has been very helpful.

Cheers, tdc
tdc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 06:28 AM   #13
ToxMox
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 8
Thumbs up

Thank you for this. It works great!
ToxMox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.