Old 03-11-2019, 03:02 AM   #1
MaXyM
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 314
Default volume slider background without meter

Is there any way to disable meter in MCP at all, having background for volume slider rendered?
I spent whole evening trying probably 100 different combinations. Figured out, that when mcp.volume is disabled (zeroed), then volume slider (mcp_volthumb) is not rendered at all. It's not fair
Then I tried to trick Reaper playing with alphas in volume backgrounds, and almost succeeded. After setting 100% transparency for mcp_vu.png all meter bars disappeared... except MIDI activity one
Also, there is a background (meter_bg_v?) which is always rendered on top of other objects covering mcp_volthumb.


Why am I asking? There are tracks which I'm using only as group masters. Those don't need volume/midi metering but require volume slider.



I also tried to paint background for volume slider on mcp_bg. It works, but then is vulnerable while selecting different global_scale (I try my best to make a theme global scale independent)


with regards
MaXyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 03:18 AM   #2
sl23
Human being with feelings
 
sl23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: I live everywhere, or I'd be dead!
Posts: 71
Default

Only suggestion I can make is to change it the same colour as the back ground. You won't see it then.

That's what I've done with several items. Rather than try to remove them, I made them the same colour as the back ground underneath so as to render them invisible.

Is that what you're trying to achieve?

Sorry, I'm new to this!
__________________
Know that by knowing which everything be known.
sl23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 04:08 AM   #3
MaXyM
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 314
Default

Hmm. Yeah.. It might work.

Thanx for the idea.
MaXyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 06:49 AM   #4
MaXyM
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 314
Default

One doubt: how to set color of a meter in particular layout only?

I can achieve it for VU meters (in fact making mcp_vu.png transparent). But how to get rid of MIDI activity meter for selected layout?
MaXyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 09:48 AM   #5
sl23
Human being with feelings
 
sl23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: I live everywhere, or I'd be dead!
Posts: 71
Default

Edit the theme I would imagine is the only way
__________________
Know that by knowing which everything be known.
sl23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 09:50 AM   #6
sl23
Human being with feelings
 
sl23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: I live everywhere, or I'd be dead!
Posts: 71
Default

Actually, I think you just open the folder where the layout is inside the theme zip file and then edit the graphics within.

Depends on the theme though. If it doesn't exist, then you'll need to create the relevant graphic and edit the themes rtconfig file by adding the relevant instruction to use that graphic. This I cannot help you with I'm afraid.
__________________
Know that by knowing which everything be known.
sl23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 01:42 PM   #7
lucas_LCS
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1,073
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaXyM View Post
Is there any way to disable meter in MCP at all..
open the RTCONFIG file and find the line for the meter.
put a zero statement after the set and mcp.meter statement:
set mcp.meter [0]
.
lucas_LCS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 02:40 PM   #8
sl23
Human being with feelings
 
sl23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: I live everywhere, or I'd be dead!
Posts: 71
Default

Shows how much I know! lol
__________________
Know that by knowing which everything be known.
sl23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 06:02 PM   #9
MaXyM
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucas_LCS View Post
open the RTCONFIG file and find the line for the meter.
put a zero statement after the set and mcp.meter statement:
set mcp.meter [0]
.

Yes, it is it.
Then providing mcp_volbg.png does the job for me.



thank you
MaXyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2019, 04:36 AM   #10
Curtis
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 708
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaXyM View Post
Is there any way to disable meter in MCP at all, having background for volume slider rendered?
I spent whole evening trying probably 100 different combinations. Figured out, that when mcp.volume is disabled (zeroed), then volume slider (mcp_volthumb) is not rendered at all. It's not fair
Then I tried to trick Reaper playing with alphas in volume backgrounds, and almost succeeded. After setting 100% transparency for mcp_vu.png all meter bars disappeared... except MIDI activity one
Also, there is a background (meter_bg_v?) which is always rendered on top of other objects covering mcp_volthumb.


Why am I asking? There are tracks which I'm using only as group masters. Those don't need volume/midi metering but require volume slider.



I also tried to paint background for volume slider on mcp_bg. It works, but then is vulnerable while selecting different global_scale (I try my best to make a theme global scale independent)


with regards

If you disable the meter all tracks using that same layout wont have meters either
Curtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2019, 05:12 AM   #11
MaXyM
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Curtis View Post
If you disable the meter all tracks using that same layout wont have meters either
true. But it seems we don't understand each other.
I know only one method of changing color of MIDI activity indicator, and it's global for whole theme. How to set it for specific layout?
MaXyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.