Old 07-25-2019, 12:55 AM   #1
AugerJ
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 436
Default Select tracks from Media Item Lane in MIDI Editor

Hello. I have this box checked:
(in Preferences - Editing Behavior - Mouse)
"Mouse click/edit in track view changes track selection".
Which in my case basically means: 'select an item – and the corresponding track will be selected as well'.
But that doesn't work the same way when it comes to selecting items from the Media Item Lane in the MIDI Editor.
Simply because it's not "in track view", I guess.
So, I propose adding such an action:
"Selecting an item in Media Item Lane in MIDI Editor selects the corresponding track".
So a user could solo the track, change its volume etc. (maybe using the shortcuts) without having to jump from one window to another.

And another (but connected) matter
The MIDI Editor (Piano Roll) window could be stretched up to the Ruler of the Arrange view.
For there would be no pressing need in going to the Arrange window when you can select tracks from within the Piano Roll (from the Media Item Lane) and still see what you're doing, right?
Apart from that, this stretching higher would compensate at least some space taken by the Media Item Lane...

And another connected matter
If you had two MIDI items shown in the Piano Roll,
one editable and the other one not editable (just for reference),
then if double-clicking on a note of the uneditable item would turn the things around (make this item editable and the other one uneditable but still shown in the Piano Roll),
wouldn't that be handy?
Wouldn't it be faster than running through all the items (two of them in this example, for simplicity, and who knows how many in reality), because you may not remember what item do these notes belong to, in this project?
And if the second item was on another track then double-clicking its note would select the item itself AND the track it was on (that's the connection).
That would call for such a checkbox:
"Selecting an item in MIDI Editor selects the corresponding track".
(Or should the word "containing" be used instead of "corresponding"?)

Thanks.

Last edited by AugerJ; 07-25-2019 at 01:47 AM.
AugerJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2019, 03:02 AM   #2
AugerJ
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 436
Default Select tracks from the Track List as well

for the same benefits:
Quote:
Originally Posted by AugerJ View Post
So a user could solo the track, change its volume etc. (maybe using the shortcuts) without having to jump from one window to another.
AugerJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2020, 12:22 PM   #3
AugerJ
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 436
Default workaround

2 Custom actions:

Custom: Select item on next track (under Edit cursor)
Track: Go to next track
Xenakios/SWS: Select items under edit cursor on selected tracks

Custom: Select item on previous track (under Edit cursor)
Track: Go to previous track
Xenakios/SWS: Select items under edit cursor on selected tracks
AugerJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.