Old 12-18-2019, 01:04 PM   #1
lilith93
Human being with feelings
 
lilith93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Karlsruhe
Posts: 282
Default VST3 Plugins

Can you load vst3 plugins in Reaper? Reaper crashed when I try to load the VST3i version of U-he Repro or Diva Reaper crashes with Segmentation fault.

Presswerk (VST3) is working on the other hand.

--------------
Tried with Debian 10 / XFCE; Reaper 6.0
__________________
https://soundcloud.com/lilith_93

Debian - Buster / XFCE
lilith93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2019, 04:13 PM   #2
azslow3
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Heidelberg, Germany
Posts: 784
Default

VST3 is badly defined, REAPER's Linux graphics is "a hack" and Linux VST3 graphic support is incomplete (original VST3 SDK code to support it is also almost a hack, and "reference" VST3 SDK Host has no chance to work correctly, you can find my explanation on Github).
So, all that somwhow works but there can be issues in case some plug-in is not "REAPER aware" (lol, you can find "special for REAPER" even in the VSTGUI source...).

I HOPE, yes really hope, VST3 will be obsolete on all platforms and goes into nowhere, to meet DX which is already there. After visioned discovery of VST(2), Steinberg has "hard killed" VST2. Ignoring simple fact people do not switch just because VST3 is disaster in documentation, reference SDK and it is a time bomb in ABI.
azslow3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2019, 11:39 PM   #3
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 8,621
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by azslow3 View Post
and Linux VST3 graphic support is incomplete
Does any VST API specification by Steinberg define graphics issues ?

I had the impression that a plugin's GUI needs to be done directly accessing the appropriate OSes API. (But I did not do any VSTs yet.) Directly accessing the OS of course would allow for more versatile / beautiful GUIs to be done but greatly hampers portability.

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2019, 12:16 AM   #4
azslow3
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Heidelberg, Germany
Posts: 784
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
Does any VST API specification by Steinberg define graphics issues ?
Details there: https://github.com/iPlug2/iPlug2/iss...ment-561196161

In short, Linux has no "main loop". And some main loop is required to process graphics. So there are 2 approaches. The first is provide some kind of "main loop integration", the second is create GUI thread for each plug-in or instance or framework. Let say you have 100 plug-ins in the project and that creates 100 active threads... Steinberg has recognized the problem. For Linux GUI only (so still defending silly "you do not need idle time for processing" paradigm).

It is implemented in VSTGUI and clearly that looks ugly.

And now read: https://github.com/steinbergmedia/vs..._sdk/issues/16 to imaging how experienced in such things was the person who has defined it....

BTW REAPER has implemented the integration as periodically calling "file descriptor ready". Without checking anything, just in onIdle. Timers are not implemented at all, they are registered without error but never called.

Not only GUI is unclear. The sequence in which REAPER calls plug-ins processing related interface of VST3 is at least questionable. No wonder, Steinberg VST3 "helper classes" in many cases do not match the documentation. As the result, what should be called when and from where is not well defined.

In Windows/OSX, after years of "this plug-in does not work in that DAW", VST3 is slowly rolling. VST3 on Linux is still "bleeding edge development" (and the existence of VST2 on Linux was never and will be never recognized by Steinberg).
azslow3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2020, 02:07 PM   #5
lilith93
Human being with feelings
 
lilith93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Karlsruhe
Posts: 282
Default

Thanks for the comments. I didn't read the links yet.

I tested again and some if the U-he plugins work actually.

Reaper version I'm using is v6.03 - January 13 2020
VST 3 Diva 8272: works
VST 3 Hive 8676: works
VST 3 Zebra 2 8272: works

These crashes in Reaper (but not in Bitwig).
VST 3 Repro 1 & Repro 5 8256: Crashes with segfault
VST 3 Satin 8256 Crashes with segfault
VST 3 Colorcopy 8256 Crashes with segfault
__________________
https://soundcloud.com/lilith_93

Debian - Buster / XFCE
lilith93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2020, 05:20 AM   #6
lilith93
Human being with feelings
 
lilith93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Karlsruhe
Posts: 282
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lilith93 View Post
Thanks for the comments. I didn't read the links yet.

I tested again and some if the U-he plugins work actually.

Reaper version I'm using is v6.03 - January 13 2020
VST 3 Diva 8272: works
VST 3 Hive 8676: works
VST 3 Zebra 2 8272: works

These crashes in Reaper (but not in Bitwig).
VST 3 Repro 1 & Repro 5 8256: Crashes with segfault
VST 3 Satin 8256 Crashes with segfault
VST 3 Colorcopy 8256 Crashes with segfault

The latest Linux builds work.
__________________
https://soundcloud.com/lilith_93

Debian - Buster / XFCE
lilith93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.