Old 01-13-2020, 09:54 AM   #1
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 5,360
Default v6.03 - January 13 2020

v6.03 - January 13 2020

+ Actions: show custom action toggle state as enabled/disabled if all component actions that report a toggle state are enabled/disabled [t=229048]
+ FX browser: improve mixed-state handling of plug-in options in context menus
+ FX chain: improve behavior with multimonitors at different DPIs
+ Knobs: use v5.x image selection behavior
+ Linux: fix listview header hit testing [p=2208515]
+ macOS: fix ReaTune scrollbar appearance issues
+ macOS: fix routing matrix/wiring diagram scrollbar appearance issues
+ macOS: improve appearance of static text fields when option to allow dark mode is enabled
+ macOS: optionally display last undo point in REAPER title bar
+ MIDI editor: add option to prevent mouse edits of single CC events from moving past other CC events
+ MIDI editor: double-click on CC lane header selects all events in lane
+ MIDI editor: improve visibility of note text in diamond or triangle view mode [t=228720]
+ MIDI: preserve CC shapes when gluing items with timebase source beats [t=229058]
+ Media explorer: fix memory leak when opening/closing window
+ Media items: add preference to set imported media items with embedded tempo to auto-stretch at project tempo changes
+ Media items: improve auto-stretch warp slope calculation with linear tempo changes [p=2215207]
+ OSC: fix divide by zero bugs when device sets bank size of zero [p=2228676]
+ ReaTune: improve correction tab drawing behavior when window is very small
+ Stretch markers: fix timing issues with tempo ramps and/or 0ms fade-times
+ Stretch markers: preserve beat-based positions of stretch markers when copy/pasting items with timebase beats
+ Toolbars: fix actions to press active toolbar button by position [p=2229796]
+ Toolbars: refresh toolbar after running any action via toolbar [t=229048]
+ Toolbars: refresh toolbars after running any custom action [t=229048]
+ Track panels: prevent meters from occluding track name when renaming tracks on Windows [t=228993]
+ VST: add hasCockosSampleAccurateAutomation and hasCockosEmbeddedUI support for third-party plug-ins
+ Windows: fix truncated docker tabs with HiDPI
+ Windows: improve track/region manager HiDPI resize behaviors
+ Windows: improve screensets window HiDPI resize behavior
+ Windows: improve media explorer routing button HiDPI resizing
+ Windows: fix listview header hit testing with non-standard scalings

This thread is for pre-release features discussion. Use the Feature Requests forum for other requests.
Changelog - Pre-Releases

Generated by X-Raym's REAPER ChangeLog to BBCode
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2020, 10:09 AM   #2
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 19,689
Default

MIDI editor: add option to prevent mouse edits of single CC events from moving past other CC events

A NICE start at tidying up some more MIDI loose ends! Thanks, guys
__________________
"What a dick comment. I'm gonna make sure to avoid your name." Dicks other than Trump can speak????
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2020, 01:06 PM   #3
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpander View Post
+ Media items: improve auto-stretch warp slope calculation with linear tempo changes [p=2215207]
Unfortunately, the bugs that I mentioned in dev1222 are still present, and the auto-stretch timebase is too dangerous to use yet:

* Sometimes, when switching to auto-stretch timebase, the dialog box doesn't pop up, and the audio is shifted as if REAPER assumes that the audio is not yet mapped. This seems to happen if there are no tempo changes over the item, or if each tempo change already has a manually inserted stretch marker underneath at the same time position.

For example, in this screenshot shows a MIDI item (top) and its render (middle), which is of course tempo mapped. There are no tempo markers above the item (except at the edges). When setting timebase to auto-stretch (bottom), the audio is automatically warped without a dialog box:



If there are tempo markers across the item, but they are directly above the stretch markers, there are again no dialog, and the audio is automatically warped:




* If the audio crosses linear tempo changes, and the audio is already mapped to these changes (and "Yes" is clicked in the dialog box), incorrect sloped markers are inserted, and the audio is shifted. The timebase should either insert flat SMs (thereby regarding the current mapping as the "base", or it should "reverse engineer" the current tempo map to a flat tempo base, and then insert sloped SMs as if the item has not yet been mapped.

This is the example that I posted before. The original audio is on top, the two alternative correct options are in the middle, and the incorrect results of the present version in at the bottom:



Here is another example, in which there is a tempo marker above the item without a SM in the item. The dialog is popped up, but even if YES is clicked, the audio is warped:

juliansader is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2020, 01:13 PM   #4
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,626
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliansader View Post
Unfortunately, the bugs that I mentioned in dev1222 are still present, and the auto-stretch timebase is too dangerous to use yet:
I think that all of these cases occur only when you initially set a media item to auto-stretch when it is already tempo-mapped within an existing gradual (ramped) project tempo change. This particular case is simply not handleable by REAPER at present. I suppose we should add a popup that disallows setting the auto-stretch timebase in this situation.

Last edited by schwa; 01-13-2020 at 01:49 PM.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2020, 01:37 PM   #5
Klangfarben
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 926
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
I think that all of these cases occur only when you initially set a media item to auto-stretch when it is already tempo-mapped within an existing gradual project tempo change. This particular case is simply not handleable by REAPER at present. I suppose we should add a popup that disallows setting the auto-stretch timebase in this situation.
Just for clarification are you saying this wouldn't/shouldn't happen with a media item that overlaps multiple fixed tempo changes? (as opposed to ramps). Because that is a pretty common occurrence.
Klangfarben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2020, 01:50 PM   #6
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,626
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Klangfarben View Post
Just for clarification are you saying this wouldn't/shouldn't happen with a media item that overlaps multiple fixed tempo changes? (as opposed to ramps). Because that is a pretty common occurrence.
Correct. The only situation where I think there is a problem is when media is already mapped to a gradual tempo change (either because it was played that way or as a result of previous editing/manipulation).
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2020, 02:14 PM   #7
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,591
Default

Please allow some of us to import from media explorer into plugins (samplers/wave table synths/drum machines) with included time stretch.

- my workaround for osx is import into project,render to new item, open in finder, drag to plugin and delete created garbage in project, all this for each sample
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2020, 01:27 AM   #8
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
I think that all of these cases occur only when you initially set a media item to auto-stretch when it is already tempo-mapped within an existing gradual (ramped) project tempo change. This particular case is simply not handleable by REAPER at present. I suppose we should add a popup that disallows setting the auto-stretch timebase in this situation.
Interesting. I tested this, and it appears that the effects of a gradual tempo change cannot be reset by another gradual tempo of the opposite slope. Similarly for sloped stretch markers. Is this the reason why these cases are not handleable by auto-stretch at present?

So the best way to handle these is the old way: insert stretch markers manually, and set the timebase to Beats (p,l&r)?
juliansader is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.