Old 01-18-2020, 08:22 AM   #1
GameAudioRvlzzr
Human being with feelings
 
GameAudioRvlzzr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 59
Default Mute-Button deactivates Video

Hi!
When i have a video on a track, pressing the mute button mutes the sound - as expected - but also deactivates the video image showing in the video window. I understand that this is not a bug and is how reaper works.

However, it makes my workflow of sounddesigning for a video a little cumbersome:
I often have to switch back and forth between my sounddesign (on the other tracks) and the original audio that came with the video, which has a rough layout by the director or a guide track. Of course, which ever it is, i want to see the video at all times.
At them moment, i can't use the mute button, i have to either have the video's audio on an additional track (extract the audio from the video in an external program first) and turn the volume on the video to -inf, now i can use the mute button on the additional track. Or i only use the video track and turn the volume up from inf to 0 as a way of "(un)mute by turning the volume knob".

Maybe somebody has advice how to deal better with this? Or maybe there's an option to have mute deactivate audio but not video, that i missed?

Thank you, Micha
GameAudioRvlzzr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2020, 09:14 AM   #2
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 25,825
Default

Uncheck master parent send in the track's routing dialog (I/O button). There are also SWS actions to do this with key commands or toolbar buttons for selected tracks.
__________________
Music happens between the grid lines.
karbomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2020, 09:34 AM   #3
GameAudioRvlzzr
Human being with feelings
 
GameAudioRvlzzr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 59
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
Uncheck master parent send in the track's routing dialog (I/O button).
Thank you Karbomusic!
Am i correct that that just mutes the audio? To switch that on and of is not really less complicated than pulling up and down the volume knob i think.
Also, with an action assigned to a button: I would have to select the video track, then push the button, then solo the video track (to mute the other tracks).
Still not quite the solution i'm looking for, i'm afraid -.-
GameAudioRvlzzr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2020, 09:48 AM   #4
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 25,825
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GameAudioRvlzzr View Post
Thank you Karbomusic!
Am i correct that that just mutes the audio? To switch that on and of is not really less complicated than pulling up and down the volume knob i think.
Also, with an action assigned to a button: I would have to select the video track, then push the button, then solo the video track (to mute the other tracks).
Still not quite the solution i'm looking for, i'm afraid -.-
It mutes the audio only, you select the video track(s) and press the keyboard shortcut (or button) you create. There's a "toggle master/parent" action, so selecting the track and using that single key command is for practical purposes as fast as reaching up and clicking the mute button. When you want to hear that video's audio again, you click the button again.
__________________
Music happens between the grid lines.
karbomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2020, 12:10 PM   #5
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 7,443
Default

Alt+click on the routing button disables master send. Or if it's more convenient to use a mute button, disable master send permanently and send the audio to a different track for muting.
__________________
My Wyyyrd Music
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.