Old 01-31-2020, 10:45 AM   #41
Vincent Sermonne
Human being with feelings
 
Vincent Sermonne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Marseille France
Posts: 6,257
Default

Oh great !!! Adopted !! Thx a lot !
__________________
Vincent
ReaperDrummer
http://www.tchackpoum.fr
Vincent Sermonne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2020, 11:29 AM   #42
themixtape
Human being with feelings
 
themixtape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 849
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by White Tie View Post
You don't know that, you've assumed that. And you have assumed incorrectly. Which is entirely fair enough, because no matter how many times I explain the goals of the default theme, my explanations never seem to penetrate the conversation, not on the internet at least.

Design in consumer facing software is almost always driven by the marketing and product departments. From day one a core requirement is for potential customers to take a glance at it and say "ooh I like how it looks." Reaper doesn't even have these departments.

Design for industry more and more follows the principles of data driven HFD (high function design). This is design where if someone accidentally presses the wrong button, people might die. Or (less dramatically but more commonly) if their 100,000 global employees take 500ms longer to find the "...and fries" button, that amounts to a vast cost when time is money. The design is repeatedly and exhaustively iterated, often automatically, and the data collected until it says the best design has been found. And that always seems to have one characteristic; its ugly. Oh so ugly. Like a slapped arse. But no one cares because in that world the data is king.

Which is the appropriate approach for a Reaper default? Reaper doesn't collect data on its users, and quite rightly too. And doing HFD without data is like dancing without music. So, strictly speaking, that's out. Many users instinctively have an expectation that it should take the same approach as other DAWs, even though the way Reaper is made ('themed' rather than 'designed') means that its never going to do that entirely successfully. The answer is, and no other DAW would have the balls to treat its users like grown-ups and to do this : a bit of both. The core lessons of HFD can be applied, for the most part, while trying to make it look at least somewhat appealing and not entirely like a slapped arse.

One of those core lessons is to have as wide as possible a visual hierarchy, so that nothing looks the same as anything else. Wildly disparate size, colours, shapes, visual styles and contrast levels. This is in direct conflict with people's instinctive desire for everything to look the same, neatly ordered and nice. So, lets take a look at that play button. Its easier for me to make it look the same as the other buttons; my computer has a fully functional copy and paste. Is the play button a top level control in the visual hierarchy? No one can say for sure; for the new user certainly, for the experienced user that's space bar and only the on state is important information. I decided it was, and made it big, chrome and bright, and made its surrounding elements of lower hierarchy. Much the same as I did with the volume control. But what if it isn't of great importance to you? Well, I have gone to great lengths to make it easy for you to change, and now I have also provided the button images. With pleasure.

Now that I have, again, explained a few things, I have no doubt that people will still say "yeah, but I don't like it". Even though the degree of that user 'liking it' is a currency I spend in order to maximise its chances being the best theme to still be using five years from now. For some people this translates into rancour on the forum, I understand this, and so long as its not disrupting my pre-release work threads I have to be (and am) at peace with it. Also, I have found that on the internet people say negative things in public and positive things privately, and even then I have been surprised and delighted by how little rancour the Def6 theme has caused, easily the least of any of the default themes so far. I consider it a triumph. But people have different needs, subjective opinions, and some people just want to 'like it', dammit, and all of this is valid. So I'm going to continue to provide images, instructions and encouragement. S'all good.
Ok. Didn't know it ran that deep. Thanks for all your work.
themixtape is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2020, 04:41 PM   #43
Funkybot
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 860
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by White Tie View Post
That may be what you think, but I disagree. And from a quorum of two, just you and I, we are able to have differing opinions then that rules out there being a 'right' answer. Just to repeat this again, there will always be complaints. I'm okay with it, and I have found the amount of complaints for V6 to be very low. And I'm very very clear that doing things based on minimising forum complaints is utter madness anyway, proved beyond any doubt in V4. There is no need to extrapolate what you believe my intentions to be, I'm straight-up telling you what they are
Perfectly reasonable. And as pointed out regularly, it's not like we can't just tweak these things to our own liking. You've got what must seem a thankless jobs at times, so let me just say stop and say thanks!
Funkybot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2020, 10:19 PM   #44
TobyAM
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 60
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Funkybot View Post
White Tie I get the approach you took and why, and I think big chunks of the 6.0 Theme are great. There are a few other things I don't personally like...
While aesthetically I basically agree with you, and have strived to those ends with tweaking, it requires more than just tweaking Reaper to work well. You've got to install dark, high-contrast Windows themes and makes sure API windows match. So user tweaking will always be needed to make a nice 'really dark' theme, and we are given an awesome starting point for those inclined.
TobyAM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2020, 11:24 AM   #45
PMan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 8
Default Thanks for the mods!

I've been testing a lot of different V6 themes, and the mod in post 3, with the hacked in MCP strip rocks. It's the closest I have tried to a "perfect" theme for me.

Many thanks, WT!
PMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 02:36 PM   #46
DeathByGuitar
Human being with feelings
 
DeathByGuitar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 460
Default

Has anyone put these elements into a theme yet? If not, I probably will although I've never made a theme before. Then again I assume it's not rocket science.
DeathByGuitar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2020, 09:30 AM   #47
SmajjL
Human being with feelings
 
SmajjL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,230
Default

Ohh yeah!
I recall SmajjL-whine about thin pan lines, eat that! schmajjl!.. thanks WT
I'm happy with that TCP and that volume knob is one cool idea you got there.
TCP BG color is way better (because it is not the same color as..) most whines is solved, even the routing whine. (not my patented whine though)

Carry on, p l e a s e
Thank you for doing this.
__________________
:)
SmajjL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2020, 10:28 AM   #48
Thonex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,084
Default

If I want to use WhiteTie's stacked pan knobs, what lines in the rtconfig must I adjust to make them work? I'm assuming just dropping them in the appropriate folder won't be enough since you have the coded pan knobs there to begin with.

Any help would be most welcome.

Thanks.
__________________
Cheers,
Andrew K
v6.03+dev0114 - January 14 2020 • Mac 10.12.+ • i7 Quad 2.9GHz • 24GB
Thonex is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2020, 12:01 PM   #49
Thonex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,084
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thonex View Post
If I want to use WhiteTie's stacked pan knobs, what lines in the rtconfig must I adjust to make them work? I'm assuming just dropping them in the appropriate folder won't be enough since you have the coded pan knobs there to begin with.

Any help would be most welcome.

Thanks.
Ok.. it seems it just works. Question though. Is it possible for the mcp_pan_small knobs to have more than 33 states? What if I'd like 128 states to support the MIDI standard?
__________________
Cheers,
Andrew K
v6.03+dev0114 - January 14 2020 • Mac 10.12.+ • i7 Quad 2.9GHz • 24GB
Thonex is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2020, 02:45 PM   #50
lucas_LCS
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1,052
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thonex
I'm assuming just dropping them in the appropriate folder won't be enough...
Quote:
Originally Posted by White Tie
... or those who want to just swap out some elements. So I shall be providing some as time and inclination allows; all in 100%, 150% and 200%, all at exact sizes so you can just swap them into the default theme with no messing about with WALTER.
did you miss this in the first post?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Thonex View Post
Is it possible for the mcp_pan_small knobs to have more than 33 states? What if I'd like 128 states to support the MIDI standard?
I believe the answer is yes.
You can make a knob in knobman to test or find an appropriate one in the Knobman gallery.

::
lucas_LCS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2020, 02:51 PM   #51
Thonex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,084
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucas_LCS View Post
did you miss this in the first post?


I believe the answer is yes.
You can make a knob in knobman to test or find an appropriate one in the Knobman gallery.

::
Thanks Lucas.

I saw the bit about swapping out, but was working on another theme that was based on the default and didn't see a similarly named sprite sheet for the panning knob. Was just making sure.

Thanks for your help!
__________________
Cheers,
Andrew K
v6.03+dev0114 - January 14 2020 • Mac 10.12.+ • i7 Quad 2.9GHz • 24GB
Thonex is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2020, 12:09 PM   #52
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,006
Default

Would it be possible to create a replacement TCP Route button that is less vibrant, and more similar in style to the FX and Envelope buttons?
juliansader is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2020, 11:07 PM   #53
Thonex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,084
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliansader View Post
Would it be possible to create a replacement TCP Route button that is less vibrant, and more similar in style to the FX and Envelope buttons?
Here's a couple I have done.... for the TCP it has the vibe of the FX and Trim:



For the MCP it blends more with the darker background. I also de-colored the inactive record buttons as well as made the panning more readable to my eyes.:



Let me know if you're interested ad I'll put together a zip with those assets. although I've only done 200 and 100%.... since I have no need for 150%.

Oh... I also shrunk down the fader heads.
__________________
Cheers,
Andrew K
v6.03+dev0114 - January 14 2020 • Mac 10.12.+ • i7 Quad 2.9GHz • 24GB

Last edited by Thonex; 02-20-2020 at 09:15 AM.
Thonex is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2020, 09:06 PM   #54
stormformer
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks White Tie, I was keen to try this out. I followed the instructions you linked to, but I've seemed to destroyed the Default 6 Theme in the process. Any chance you know how to restore the default 6 theme? I have no local backup.
stormformer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2020, 05:20 AM   #55
White Tie
Pixel Pusher
 
White Tie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blighty
Posts: 2,867
Default

UPDATE

Added dark MCP elements, in all three sizes. Downloads updated in post #1, added to the theme in post #2.







----------------------------------------------

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathByGuitar View Post
Has anyone put these elements into a theme yet?
See post #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliansader View Post
Would it be possible to create a replacement TCP Route button that is less vibrant, and more similar in style to the FX and Envelope buttons?
Sure thing, please do remind me if I forget.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stormformer View Post
Thanks White Tie, I was keen to try this out. I followed the instructions you linked to, but I've seemed to destroyed the Default 6 Theme in the process. Any chance you know how to restore the default 6 theme? I have no local backup.
If you extracted from the reaperthemezip file, there's your backup. Otherwise you could do a mobile install of Reaper (takes seconds) and grab the theme file from there.
__________________
The House of White Tie
White Tie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2020, 08:22 AM   #56
vidalsh
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: madrid/spain
Posts: 909
Default

Sir WHite Tie, finally you got it.

This is the first theme that I don´t want to change anything, all on this theme is quite perfect looks.

Now nobody can will says than reaper is ugly.

Congrats...Keep it up.
vidalsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2020, 08:52 AM   #57
BobF
Human being with feelings
 
BobF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 693
Default

Thanks tonnes WT.

Your effort and generosity are both appreciated.
__________________
--
Reaper 5 x64/Studio One 4P, Win10 Pro x64, UMC1820, FaderPort
i7-6700@3.8G/32G
BobF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2020, 09:48 AM   #58
+NRG
Human being with feelings
 
+NRG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 655
Default

Thank you for the update!
__________________
“Where words fail, music speaks”
+NRG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2020, 01:47 PM   #59
Chimpscookie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks! Any chance this will be used as the default?
Chimpscookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2020, 02:51 PM   #60
stormformer
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks White Tie, much appreciated.
stormformer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2020, 12:32 AM   #61
lucas_LCS
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1,052
Default button sizing bug in WALTER code

I found a button sizing bug in the default RTCONFIG for the TCP_IO button.
TCP layout 'A' has it sized @ 34.
TCP layout 'B' & 'C' have it sized @ 37 for the 100% section, but 34 for the 150% & 200% versions of those layouts.

::

Last edited by lucas_LCS; 03-04-2020 at 12:40 AM.
lucas_LCS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2020, 01:33 AM   #62
timothys_monster
Human being with feelings
 
timothys_monster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 900
Default

Just wanted to come by and say thank you, WT! This theme is perfect for my needs and apart from that quite sexy. First time I am happily using a WT theme again. Thanks for listening and gifting us this gem.
timothys_monster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2020, 03:29 AM   #63
White Tie
Pixel Pusher
 
White Tie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blighty
Posts: 2,867
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucas_LCS View Post
I found a button sizing bug in the default RTCONFIG for the TCP_IO button.
TCP layout 'A' has it sized @ 34.
TCP layout 'B' & 'C' have it sized @ 37 for the 100% section, but 34 for the 150% & 200% versions of those layouts.
Great find, thanks!

Well done for reporting it in the Pre thread; that means a cockosian will see it and poke me; if you report it here I'm only going to see it if I'm reading this thread, and clearly its important for an immediate fix.
__________________
The House of White Tie
White Tie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2020, 03:29 AM   #64
White Tie
Pixel Pusher
 
White Tie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blighty
Posts: 2,867
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timothys_monster View Post
Thanks for listening
Always listening.
__________________
The House of White Tie
White Tie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2020, 05:32 AM   #65
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,940
Default

Can someone please explain (maybe White Tie) why in both Default and this mod themes there are 50% and 75% layouts, which have the same size as 100%?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2020, 05:41 AM   #66
White Tie
Pixel Pusher
 
White Tie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blighty
Posts: 2,867
Default

Explained by kenny here.
__________________
The House of White Tie
White Tie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2020, 05:54 AM   #67
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,940
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by White Tie View Post
Explained by kenny here.
Thank you, understood. Can we please have narrower MCP layout like in V5 at least in this mod (Default_6.0_wt_mod_parts.ReaperThemeZip)? My screen has 1366x768 and the layout looks a bit wide.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2020, 10:05 PM   #68
LarrySeyer
Human being with feelings
 
LarrySeyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 84
Default Software you use?

White Tie,

What software do you use to create these incredible graphics?

I've just gotta know!

L
LarrySeyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2020, 06:15 AM   #69
bless
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Siberia, Russia.
Posts: 15
Default Default Reaper 6 theme

How much need resolution of display for active using 75% и 50% size in Options > Layuots > Master Mixer Panel? Why it not working wirh 1260x1080p? It is Bug?

Last edited by bless; 03-17-2020 at 07:59 PM.
bless is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.