Old 02-21-2020, 06:46 AM   #1
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Detmold - Germany
Posts: 629
Default midi device related midi shortcuts (action list)

I'd love to have midi device related shortcuts in the action list. At the moment it doesn't matter which midi device triggers the shortcut but in many situations it can be of advantage to trigger actions not just by a defined midi channel and note but also just by a defined device. I use an elgato stream deck to trigger different actions via midi notes. Playing on my midi keyboard also triggers these actions...
__________________
https://gassnklang.de
Gass n Klang is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2020, 11:58 AM   #2
billybuck
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 107
Default

Im not in front of Reaper at the moment, but I believe actions triggers can be set to specific midi channels as well as CCs. If you set your devices to each transmit on a specific channel, wouldn’t that give you the specificity you’re looking for?

It might also have advantages in other Reaper tasks, too, such as having a specific device control a particular vst instrument or track.
billybuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2020, 06:16 PM   #3
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Detmold - Germany
Posts: 629
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by billybuck View Post
Im not in front of Reaper at the moment, but I believe actions triggers can be set to specific midi channels as well as CCs.
yes but it could be way more specific if there would be a distinction between different devices.
__________________
https://gassnklang.de
Gass n Klang is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2020, 04:01 AM   #4
beingmf
Human being with feelings
 
beingmf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Jazz City
Posts: 3,984
Default

ReaLearn would do that.
__________________
Windows 10x64 | ATI FirePro 2260, 8.911.3.4000 | Marian Seraph AD2, 4.0.9.0 | Yamaha Steinberg MR816x
Experience the Blunzeworscht!
beingmf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2020, 08:12 AM   #5
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Detmold - Germany
Posts: 629
Default

I don't think so. Realearn works track based as far as I know. I want to do midi shortcuts in the action list. global for all projects.
__________________
https://gassnklang.de
Gass n Klang is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2020, 12:13 AM   #6
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 2,295
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gass n Klang View Post
I'd love to have midi device related shortcuts in the action list. At the moment it doesn't matter which midi device triggers the shortcut but in many situations it can be of advantage to trigger actions not just by a defined midi channel and note but also just by a defined device. I use an elgato stream deck to trigger different actions via midi notes. Playing on my midi keyboard also triggers these actions...
Find the action you are interested in, assign it, very simple. If you can not find anything you like, you can not assign.
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2020, 02:39 AM   #7
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Detmold - Germany
Posts: 629
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonE View Post
Find the action you are interested in, assign it, very simple. If you can not find anything you like, you can not assign.
You obviously did not read or understand what I want to do. I know how to assign shortcuts to actions.
__________________
https://gassnklang.de
Gass n Klang is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2020, 03:28 AM   #8
beingmf
Human being with feelings
 
beingmf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Jazz City
Posts: 3,984
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gass n Klang View Post
I don't think so. Realearn works track based as far as I know. I want to do midi shortcuts in the action list. global for all projects.
Not track based at all. While of course you pop the plugin itself on a track (how else), the triggers and actions are working projectwide. Just save your settings as a preset and re-open them as you like.
__________________
Windows 10x64 | ATI FirePro 2260, 8.911.3.4000 | Marian Seraph AD2, 4.0.9.0 | Yamaha Steinberg MR816x
Experience the Blunzeworscht!
beingmf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2020, 07:06 AM   #9
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 2,295
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gass n Klang View Post
You obviously did not read or understand what I want to do. I know how to assign shortcuts to actions.
I understood, but there is no such thing like seperate channels for mapping per device. All are coming through one single channel, afaik.
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2020, 07:07 AM   #10
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 2,295
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by beingmf View Post
Not track based at all. While of course you pop the plugin itself on a track (how else), the triggers and actions are working projectwide. Just save your settings as a preset and re-open them as you like.
ReaLearn is great, if it would not crash.
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2020, 07:09 AM   #11
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 2,295
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gass n Klang View Post
I don't think so. Realearn works track based as far as I know. I want to do midi shortcuts in the action list. global for all projects.
Can you give 10 examples for midi mappings how you want to use it?
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2020, 09:18 AM   #12
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Detmold - Germany
Posts: 629
Default

afaik bitwig has a per device separation. On a track base you also select your device input, so why not on actions?.

I want to map all my plugins to midi commands to recall them via different midi controllers for example. Besides several custom actions and so on.
__________________
https://gassnklang.de
Gass n Klang is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2020, 10:50 AM   #13
beingmf
Human being with feelings
 
beingmf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Jazz City
Posts: 3,984
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonE View Post
ReaLearn is great, if it would not crash.
Does it? Never happened here so far.
__________________
Windows 10x64 | ATI FirePro 2260, 8.911.3.4000 | Marian Seraph AD2, 4.0.9.0 | Yamaha Steinberg MR816x
Experience the Blunzeworscht!
beingmf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2020, 11:05 AM   #14
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 2,295
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by beingmf View Post
Does it? Never happened here so far.
Then probably you did not push it to its limits. First I thought wonderful, even with json export, import, has potential for more, then after those crashes I stopped using it. At least for my plans it was not compatible. But now thanks to mespotines us api there will be in future something which can plug the project to your hardware and not the opposite. Much more fun, turning any reaper project, with one button into a groovebox, kind of. Removing the boring automation work entirely. Welcome to the multi groovebox world of Reaper or to tomorrow.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sOTQsdwEdk8
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2020, 03:16 PM   #15
beingmf
Human being with feelings
 
beingmf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Jazz City
Posts: 3,984
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonE View Post
But now thanks to mespotines us api there will be in future something which can plug the project to your hardware and not the opposite. Much more fun, turning any reaper project, with one button into a groovebox, kind of.
From what I understand, the possibilities are insane - but has anyone developed anything groundbreaking with it?
__________________
Windows 10x64 | ATI FirePro 2260, 8.911.3.4000 | Marian Seraph AD2, 4.0.9.0 | Yamaha Steinberg MR816x
Experience the Blunzeworscht!
beingmf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2020, 06:38 AM   #16
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 2,295
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by beingmf View Post
From what I understand, the possibilities are insane - but has anyone developed anything groundbreaking with it?
Depends on the users, only a question of time. Groundbreaking, is not a must, but it has to work, that is a must. No matter how tiny the improvement, it has to work, always.
You could ask also Anton9, maybe he did already anything?

Last edited by TonE; 02-25-2020 at 06:47 AM.
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 06:09 AM   #17
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Detmold - Germany
Posts: 629
Default

bump.
__________________
https://gassnklang.de
Gass n Klang is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 01:27 PM   #18
Klangfarben
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 917
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gass n Klang View Post
afaik bitwig has a per device separation. On a track base you also select your device input, so why not on actions?.
^^This
Klangfarben is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.