Old 02-05-2019, 10:00 AM   #281
frood
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 67
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Ragnur View Post
I recently had a job involving a lot of punch in recording vocal dubs. When I do it the basic way - that is pressing Play, then Rec on punch in spot - the key is to start plenty in advance, since I don't want to miss the breath leading to the beginning note.
What I found myself missing was the ability to let the recording musician hear the few first notes of the previous recording - while at the same time recording the new overdub (plenty in advance).
And I really don't want to create a new track pr dub...

1 Set a short cut for "Time Selection: Set start point"
2 Right click rec button, choose "Recording mode: time selection auto punch"
3 Set the time selection very late
4 Begin recording.
5 Punch in with "Time Selection: Set start point"
6 Pull left side of the item to reveal all the recorded content and make a pretty transition.

The cool thing is you can just leave the time selection if doing more takes.
Also, punch out with "Time Selection: Set end point".

Screenshot recording:
https://stash.reaper.fm/21793/punch%20in%20trick.gif
this is a nice workaround, but I'm sure there's another way I've seen described somewhere. previously, I've always messed around with multiple tracks, muting here and there and comping afterwards. not ideal.
frood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2019, 05:41 PM   #282
bolgwrad
Human being with feelings
 
bolgwrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: On my arse in Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 338
Default Very basic workflow tip - may be obvious, but you never know.

When recording a voice or instrument, you may find that the optimal record level is a lot lower than the playback level you're aiming for in the mix, unless you're going to get a clipped, distorted signal.

So rather than record on your carefully nurtured vocal/guitar/bassoon track and then dial the take level up (every time!), or record hot and risk clipping, just:

- Record at the optimal level on a VST-lite *copy* of your playback track. -

Once recorded or comped, drag the new, optimal media item onto your carefully nurtured playback track, which is all ready with VSTs, envelopes, etc. Mute the record track, colour it purple. God it's so simple. Yes, it's bloody obvious, but others like me may have overlooked this method.

For each live recorded um, thing, I have a 'master' PLAY track which is not normally adjusted, and an identical, dispensable, 'RECORD' track (apart maybe from level, fewer VSTs and sends/receives) which can be named appropriately for daily/hourly/instantaneous takes. And of course it can be duplicated for alternate takes; but you never need to adjust the 'PLAY' track once you're set, or unless you're in tweak mode.

This may be common 1-0-1 practice that even the noobiest noob would know, but I didn't suss it till today. (Smacks forehead). Not just Reaper, but if it's easier in another DAW I'd be surprised. I'm trying to imagine how it would work with tape.
bolgwrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2019, 02:57 AM   #283
bolgwrad
Human being with feelings
 
bolgwrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: On my arse in Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 338
Default Good multi-monitor zoom shortcut

A good one if you don't know it: (shift +?) double-click on a selected mixer track (not the pan area) zooms that track (and toggles zoom) in the track window. A boon with multiple monitors, anyway, and eliminates most of that track height adjustment/locking.

Last edited by bolgwrad; 09-30-2019 at 12:38 PM. Reason: Add title
bolgwrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 06:43 AM   #284
nellipalooza
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 4
Default Forums as RSS Feeds

Copy the URL of this forum and add it to your RSS reader!
(I use NewsBlur)
nellipalooza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2019, 12:34 PM   #285
bolgwrad
Human being with feelings
 
bolgwrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: On my arse in Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 338
Default Reduce CPU strain in multiple windows and minimizing

Hi, only me again.

Set a custom action to 'toggle all FX on/off', such as Ctrl+F. It's very useful if you want to open more Reaper tabs or windows, eg for project/item copy/pasting purposes.

While the FX are off, your computer won't go into snail mode and Reaper won't be straining to even run. If you then minimize Reaper with all the FX off, it doesn't seem to hog CPU, and it's much faster to switch back, including turning the FX back on.

No need to close Reaper any more! I haven't tested to see if it reduces loading speed

YMMV.
__________________
www.sachetsofrelish.com
bolgwrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2019, 07:18 AM   #286
ChrisBlue
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 274
Default crossfade

I was going to put how to crossfade because what is written in the Quickstart guide for it just never works for me partly because it doesn't seem clear, it looks like they are saying enable, drag while holding X but that has never worked for me. I worked out what to do once but can't find the note I made about how so could someone tell me please? Thanks
ChrisBlue is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2019, 01:06 PM   #287
juan_r
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 20
Default

Can't download the compiled tips pdf file for offline perusal. Google docs says I need authorization. I asked for it over a month ago, but still no response. Is that abandoned?
juan_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2019, 11:42 AM   #288
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 7,792
Default Trim all tracks

My tip of the day is how to trim all tracks. Say you have your mix happening but you see a few tracks clipping and want to fix it. You have automation on some channels and you don't want to upset that either.

I made a script that selects all of my tracks that are not folders, headphone mixes, click/structure or my fx bus tracks. I use ^ in my folder tracks, like ^vox so I have a script to select them, then I invert to select everything except folders.

Then I deselect fx, hp, click/structure (it has my arrangement verse, chorus, bridge) and then set those track automations to trim mode. Then I can just drag a fader and adjust them all at once. When done I have a button to set them all back to Read mode. I hope it helps someone. Enjoy.


Custom: Trim all tracks
Script: JB_select_^_track.lua
SWS: Toggle (invert) track selection
Script: JB_deselect_fx_tracks.lua
Script: JB_deselect_hp_tracks.lua
Script: JB_deselect_structure_tracks.lua
Automation: Set track automation mode to trim/read
Attached Files
File Type: lua JB_select_^_track.lua (1.4 KB, 67 views)
File Type: lua JB_deselect_fx_tracks.lua (1.4 KB, 65 views)
File Type: lua JB_deselect_hp_tracks.lua (1.4 KB, 72 views)
File Type: lua JB_deselect_structure_tracks.lua (1.4 KB, 69 views)
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2020, 11:33 AM   #289
Ether
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 45
Default Google account enforced.

As a newcomer, tips is good.

However...
The "Link to user-editable tips list" is demanding a Google account to open.

Which mean that it's no gathered tips for me then.
Ether is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2020, 01:24 PM   #290
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 7,792
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ether View Post
As a newcomer, tips is good.

However...
The "Link to user-editable tips list" is demanding a Google account to open.

Which mean that it's no gathered tips for me then.
Do one thing every day that scares you.
Eleanor Roosevelt
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2020, 02:09 PM   #291
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 9,491
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ether View Post
As a newcomer, tips is good.

However...
The "Link to user-editable tips list" is demanding a Google account to open.

Which mean that it's no gathered tips for me then.
I set this up back then but at that time there wasn't a Google account necessary for everyone to access it.
Now I can't even access it myself anymore. :/
Anyone has a backup by chance to upload it somewhere else?
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2020, 04:27 PM   #292
Ether
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 45
Default

I could start a new "tip list" topic where i would see to it that posted tips get copied to the list in the starting post.
I would need two things:
1. A copy of the list. The latest edition possible to minimize the number of old post to go thru.
2. Some info of how many words there can be in a post. If the list gets popular it could be large. And also if the need to continue in a second post could be allowed and feasible to move up the chain and be post number two in the topic.
Ether is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2020, 06:20 PM   #293
Ether
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 45
Default Extra vst.

Install the free Cakewalk by Bandlab. Do a vst scan in Reaper. Voila...you've got a bunch of new vst's.
You don't have to use the daw.
You don't have to authorize it. Without authorization it goes into demo mode which means it will not save things. But it still works.
Ether is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2020, 01:05 AM   #294
Dave 2099
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bolgwrad View Post
So rather than record on your carefully nurtured vocal/guitar/bassoon track and then dial the take level up (every time!), or record hot and risk clipping, just:

- Record at the optimal level on a VST-lite *copy* of your playback track. -

Once recorded or comped, drag the new, optimal media item onto your carefully nurtured playback track, which is all ready with VSTs, envelopes, etc.

Is this different from just recording input on the same track as your FX? Your FX aren't written to the recording unless you select Record Output. Genuinely curious to know if I'm missing something.

cheers,
Dave
Dave 2099 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2020, 01:09 AM   #295
Dave 2099
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bolgwrad View Post
Set a custom action to 'toggle all FX on/off', such as Ctrl+F. It's very useful if you want to open more Reaper tabs or windows, eg for project/item copy/pasting purposes.

While the FX are off, your computer won't go into snail mode and Reaper won't be straining to even run. If you then minimize Reaper with all the FX off, it doesn't seem to hog CPU, and it's much faster to switch back, including turning the FX back on.
That's very handy, thanks!
Dave 2099 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2020, 08:13 AM   #296
juan_r
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 20
Default

@nofish, @Ether, thanks for the thought. It would be nice to get a file packed with info. It would make for excellent random reading and perusal. Rooting for your efforts to succeed!
juan_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2020, 08:33 AM   #297
billybuck
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 107
Default

The "problem" with the mega tips n tricks thread is that many of the older tips for custom actions are now built into Reaper as stock actions, or have been scripted by some other kind soul. That's a good problem to have in a DAW.
billybuck is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2020, 01:29 PM   #298
Ether
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 45
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by billybuck View Post
The "problem" with the mega tips n tricks thread is that many of the older tips for custom actions are now built into Reaper as stock actions, or have been scripted by some other kind soul. That's a good problem to have in a DAW.
I agree. It should be someone more in the know to make a useful list.
I too like the idea of gathered tips for us newcomers. That was what triggered the post.
Maybe a pdf to read in a relaxed state of mind when you're offline.
Ether is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2020, 09:53 PM   #299
Ether
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 45
Default

If you think images in posts seems to big, try to change "forum style".
The "quick" setting is located way way down at the bottom of the page.
You'll see "reaper 3" which is the default forum style. This style does not scale down the images.
Forum style "reaper 5" does scale down images.
To make it persistent go to usercp/options at the bottom; called skins.

Last edited by Ether; 02-22-2020 at 01:24 PM.
Ether is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.