Old 04-03-2024, 09:09 AM   #1
thfox
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Asheville, NC US of A
Posts: 68
Default ASIO INPUT PROBLEM

Hey Y'all, I recently moved my Reaper installation to a "new" laptop, originally a Windows 11 computer, downgraded to Windows 10. Everything seemed to be working beautifully until I tried to record audio thru my trusty mixer. Nothing wrong with the mixer, it seems the Realtek audio hardware in the PC won't accept audio input from my Asio4All driver. I tried 3 recent versions of the Asio driver - no luck. Computer specs : Asus Vivobook, 11th generation Intel i5, Realtek HD audio. I'm able to get playback thru the ASIO driver but not record thru it. On my other computers, Asio4All always works great. Help !

Last edited by thfox; 04-03-2024 at 09:16 AM.
thfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2024, 10:20 AM   #2
Stella645
Human being with feelings
 
Stella645's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 3,690
Default

So the mixer is plugged into the computers mic input?
It doesn't have usb connection? (the mixer)
__________________
Funkatarium 30th Anniversary Remixes
Ltd Edition Vinyl finally available on Bandcamp.
https://funkatarium.bandcamp.com/alb...ersary-remixes
Stella645 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2024, 10:25 AM   #3
thfox
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Asheville, NC US of A
Posts: 68
Default

It's plugged in via USB.
thfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2024, 10:32 AM   #4
MiddleC
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 573
Default

If it's connected by USB, your RealTek input probably shouldn't be involved. What's the model of your mixer?
MiddleC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2024, 10:59 AM   #5
thfox
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Asheville, NC US of A
Posts: 68
Default

It's an Alesis MultiMix8 USB. I've done this setup countless times with various Windows 7 & 10 PCs with no problem whatsoever.
And as to the Realtek input, I'm referring to the hardware "sound card".
thfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2024, 11:41 AM   #6
thfox
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Asheville, NC US of A
Posts: 68
Default

This is a link to a page at the Steinberg forum, but it's the same issue I'm having with Reaper : https://forums.steinberg.net/t/how-t...ettings/811565
Attached is my sound settings page in Reaper. Notice the Output Range, that's connected to my mixer, but there's no option for USB AUDIO CODEC in the Input field. That's the problem.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Reaper audio.jpg (94.7 KB, 62 views)

Last edited by thfox; 04-03-2024 at 11:49 AM.
thfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2024, 12:22 PM   #7
Wallaby
Human being with feelings
 
Wallaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Location: Swiss Zürich
Posts: 852
Default

Why is there ASIO4all ?
Is this the official driver for this interface ?

The inputs have no USB codec inputs because the driver doesn't offer such.

Here is a link to the official driver :
https://drivers.plus/get/a/c/b/5/2/w...ver_2.8.12.zip
Wallaby is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2024, 12:43 PM   #8
DVDdoug
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 2,787
Default

I've never used ASIO4ALL...

Your mixer should be plug-and-play with the regular Microsoft-supplied WASAPI or DirectSound drivers.

Quote:
Musicians and engineers can plug the MultiMix 8 USB FX’s class-compliant USB connection into their Mac or PC without installing any software drivers and enjoy a digital-direct stereo connection with virtually any audio software application.
Have you tried the Windows drivers?

Were you getting any advantage with ASIO4ALL in the past?

ASIO4ALL should also work fine but it's not aways "better". True-ASIO usually has advantages, but it's also not better in every situation.

Quote:
And as to the Realtek input, I'm referring to the hardware "sound card".
Right... Your soundcard which you are not using unless you are using it for monitoring/playback...
DVDdoug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2024, 12:48 PM   #9
Stella645
Human being with feelings
 
Stella645's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 3,690
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thfox View Post
This is a link to a page at the Steinberg forum, but it's the same issue I'm having with Reaper : https://forums.steinberg.net/t/how-t...ettings/811565
Attached is my sound settings page in Reaper. Notice the Output Range, that's connected to my mixer, but there's no option for USB AUDIO CODEC in the Input field. That's the problem.
The input options you see there are whatever one's you have set up in ASIO4all. Can you screencap ASIO4all control panel.
__________________
Funkatarium 30th Anniversary Remixes
Ltd Edition Vinyl finally available on Bandcamp.
https://funkatarium.bandcamp.com/alb...ersary-remixes
Stella645 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2024, 01:01 PM   #10
thfox
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Asheville, NC US of A
Posts: 68
Default

The reason to use an asio driver is to minimize latency. The Alesis Multimix IS plug and play. The asio driver is useful to reduce latency for ANY DAW. Attached is a screenshot of audio settings from Reaper on a one of my other computers where it works properly. Reaper is seeing both the input and output of the plugged in device.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Reaper proper settings.JPG (40.4 KB, 52 views)

Last edited by thfox; 04-03-2024 at 01:11 PM.
thfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2024, 01:08 PM   #11
Stella645
Human being with feelings
 
Stella645's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 3,690
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wallaby View Post

Here is a link to the official driver :
https://drivers.plus/get/a/c/b/5/2/w...ver_2.8.12.zip
Those are for a 32bit o/s.
__________________
Funkatarium 30th Anniversary Remixes
Ltd Edition Vinyl finally available on Bandcamp.
https://funkatarium.bandcamp.com/alb...ersary-remixes
Stella645 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2024, 01:28 PM   #12
MiddleC
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 573
Default

Stella645 was asking for a screenshot of the ASIO4ALL settings, not the Reaper audio config.
MiddleC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2024, 05:44 PM   #13
thfox
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Asheville, NC US of A
Posts: 68
Default

Yes here it is, USB CODEC not to be found ....
(That's the device name the PC assigned to it.)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg A4A config.jpg (68.7 KB, 59 views)
thfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2024, 12:23 AM   #14
Stella645
Human being with feelings
 
Stella645's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 3,690
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thfox View Post
Yes here it is, USB CODEC not to be found ....
(That's the device name the PC assigned to it.)
That's odd as your Reaper screencap was showing USB Audio codec for outputs when you had ASIO4all selected. But even outputs aren't showing in there.
You're absolutely sure nothing else has changed between those 2 screencaps?


And presumably in ASIO4all control panel on the working computer you do see USB Audio Codec for both ions and outs??

EDIT: Ignore all that....you just need to disable the Smart Sound technology driver so your device uses standard windows audio for the USB device.
__________________
Funkatarium 30th Anniversary Remixes
Ltd Edition Vinyl finally available on Bandcamp.
https://funkatarium.bandcamp.com/alb...ersary-remixes

Last edited by Stella645; 04-04-2024 at 12:47 AM.
Stella645 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2024, 07:40 AM   #15
thfox
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Asheville, NC US of A
Posts: 68
Default

I may have already tried that but I'll be sure to do it. Thank you.
thfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2024, 10:39 AM   #16
thfox
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Asheville, NC US of A
Posts: 68
Default

Stella645, I disabled SST driver, restarted my computer and lo and behold
- success ! Works perfectly, thank you !
That was a nightmare with a simple fix !

Last edited by thfox; 04-04-2024 at 12:02 PM.
thfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2024, 11:58 AM   #17
Stella645
Human being with feelings
 
Stella645's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 3,690
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thfox View Post
Stella645, I disabled SST driver,restarted my computer and lo and behold- success ! Works perfectly, thank you !
Nice!
__________________
Funkatarium 30th Anniversary Remixes
Ltd Edition Vinyl finally available on Bandcamp.
https://funkatarium.bandcamp.com/alb...ersary-remixes
Stella645 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2024, 11:42 PM   #18
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 14,812
Default

I once did try an ASIO driver for Realtec (a true hardware driver. ASIO4ALL ist NOT a hardware driver !!!! but a wrapper for Windows API drivers).

It did not work - and it does have a bad reputation.
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2024, 11:40 AM   #19
thfox
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Asheville, NC US of A
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
I once did try an ASIO driver for Realtec (a true hardware driver. ASIO4ALL ist NOT a hardware driver !!!! but a wrapper for Windows API drivers).

It did not work - and it does have a bad reputation.
Nothing I know of seems to work like Asio4All !
thfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2024, 12:28 AM   #20
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 14,812
Default

what do you mean by "like" ? (quality, versatility or technology ? )
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2024, 09:32 AM   #21
thfox
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Asheville, NC US of A
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
what do you mean by "like" ? (quality, versatility or technology ? )
My experience is that Asio4All runs reliably and produces markedly louder volume and better fidelity audio than what is produced with other drivers except for Windows Direct Sound which is about equal in fidelity but of course, has the usual latency of all the Windows drivers.

Last edited by thfox; 04-06-2024 at 10:24 AM.
thfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2024, 09:36 AM   #22
thfox
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Asheville, NC US of A
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stella645 View Post
Nice!
I guess Intel's Smart Sound Technology isn't really ALL THAT SMART !!!
thfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2024, 08:44 AM   #23
LugNut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: So Florida
Posts: 1,437
Default

Hi,

Stella, how did you know it was Intel SST?

My friend has been using asio4all and reaper for years. Good results.Wouldn't use it myself on 'pro" interfaces with good drivers, but it works.


I did read about an alternative to a4all recently, but can't remember name.

Hey Schnell, this same friend had a comp years ago running xp, that he said he had no device manager.....I said...that can't be. I went to his house, sure enuff a working xp daw with no device manager.

Sometimes rl experience in many things trumps Google:-)
LugNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2024, 12:48 PM   #24
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 14,812
Default

Hmm.

When using a single Audio device, I don't see what benefit ASIO4ALL should/could be vs. setting Reaper to WASAPI instead of ASIO.
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2024, 09:43 AM   #25
Stella645
Human being with feelings
 
Stella645's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 3,690
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LugNut View Post
Hi,

Stella, how did you know it was Intel SST?
I know how to use a search engine.
__________________
Funkatarium 30th Anniversary Remixes
Ltd Edition Vinyl finally available on Bandcamp.
https://funkatarium.bandcamp.com/alb...ersary-remixes
Stella645 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.