Old 11-27-2017, 06:04 PM   #41
SteveMac
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cubic13 View Post
@guitarwiz1 & SteveMac

Another solution would indeed be to create the subfolder from scratch with the path mentioned above and directly put the 4 toolbars .ReaperMenu files joined with the theme and try to load theme with the same command.

Hope this will help. Let me know how things evolve...
I don't mean to be dense :-) so if you can endure a follow-up question. Before writing I tried creating the MenuSets subdirectory and put the 4 files in their BUT am willing to consider I put a space between Menu and Sets, so I'll try that again.

What I'm writing about here is your comment "and try to load theme with the same command" -- The Options>Customize menus/toolbars" command and window is really not intuitive for me, and I thought (until opening it) that I was reasonably tech-savvy :-).

So if I can trouble someone for the specifics of exactly what to do in Options>Customize, i.e., do I load the Abbey Road Theme zip file that way or just drop it in where all the other themes are? I ask because the themes I downloaded that do not have menu sets all work fine by just being pasted into the theme folder.

Thank you very much; I appreciate all the help.

Steve
SteveMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2017, 02:24 AM   #42
wallace
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 441
Default

This is a really good looking usable theme.
Any chance of a version for lower res screens?

I'm currently on 1600x1200 and it's not really workable at that res (at least for me).


Wallace.
wallace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2017, 07:50 AM   #43
krahosk
Human being with feelings
 
krahosk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,525
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wallace View Post
This is a really good looking usable theme.
Any chance of a version for lower res screens?

I'm currently on 1600x1200 and it's not really workable at that res (at least for me).


Wallace.
It wouldn't look the same AND it would mean starting over the theme again. You just can't bring the Abbey Road console in a small room without breaking it. ;-)
krahosk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2017, 07:52 AM   #44
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 16,224
Default

I am on a pair of 1920x 1200 scereens and it works fine.

Especially with my crap eyesight!
__________________
UK and USA: Our leaders MAY be buffoons but they are still dangerous buffoons.
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2017, 09:26 AM   #45
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 12,518
Default

just a side note:

Last night I watched a couple PBS TV shows about the Beatles... one was a detailed show about how their two 4 track tape consoles were used to create the complex mixes for Strawberry Fields... and a few other tunes...

So there were lots of moments of this actually console in use...

I don't have the title of actual program... yet...

anyway... fun to see in light of this theme
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2017, 11:22 AM   #46
Giovanni_B
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post

So there were lots of moments of this actually console in use...
Of course. The Beatles recorded 13 studio albums, and 12 of them were recorded and mixed using REDD consoles. Their last album (Abbey Road) was made with the TG12345 console.
Giovanni_B is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2017, 09:14 AM   #47
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 12,518
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Giovanni_B View Post
Of course. The Beatles recorded 13 studio albums, and 12 of them were recorded and mixed using REDD consoles. Their last album (Abbey Road) was made with the TG12345 console.
I see you know much more about it than I do... which is not hard since I don't know much... hahaha....

I have known how much they might have just about killed to have any of our current DAW's on hand...

I'd bet they would have really complained about the contrast of a given theme being too light or dark or whatever... [Joe King]

It is interesting in that documentary to see a bit of what they had to deal with to record and mix on two four track tapes...

On the other hand... most of us would about kill to have a studio space like they had...again, hahaha
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2017, 02:18 AM   #48
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 16,224
Default

Yeah it really IS "allabouda place", isnt it?

I have been lucky enough to record in some of the besdt known spaces in USA and UK & it is incredible how much difference the room makes.
__________________
UK and USA: Our leaders MAY be buffoons but they are still dangerous buffoons.
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2017, 06:27 AM   #49
benf
Human being with feelings
 
benf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: France
Posts: 2,219
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
I have known how much they might have just about killed to have any of our current DAW's on hand...


It is interesting in that documentary to see a bit of what they had to deal with to record and mix on two four track tapes...
I'm asking myself if they have had the same musical creativity with all the things we have on our computers...
__________________
Listen and download my music on https://benest.bandcamp.com/
benf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2017, 12:48 PM   #50
Giovanni_B
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by benf View Post
I'm asking myself if they have had the same musical creativity with all the things we have on our computers...
That's a good topic, for another thread maybe.

I love to write about The Beatles. I have a blog (in spanish), and the last entry I wrote is about the studio effects they used, from echo chamber to ADT, varispeed, reverse tape, etc.
Giovanni_B is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2017, 03:12 PM   #51
benf
Human being with feelings
 
benf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: France
Posts: 2,219
Default

Unfortunately, I don't speak spanish, but if you like Beatles, here is a Beatle-like song I made : https://benest.bandcamp.com/track/this-dream
__________________
Listen and download my music on https://benest.bandcamp.com/
benf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 11:03 AM   #52
cubic13
Human being with feelings
 
cubic13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Near Serre-Ponçon lake, french Alps
Posts: 576
Default

@SteveMac

Sorry for the late answer... What I was suggesting is the following :
1) If you haven't yet (but it seems that you have...) put the four .ReaperMenu files bundled with the theme in the \MenuSets subfolder of your Reaper installation, do so.
2) Using the Options>Customize menus/toolbars... command, you'll see in the opened window, first, a selector which allows you to choose on what any editing is supposed to be applied and, second, an Import... button that allows you to load any menu or toolbar for the chosen object in the selector. From which, with this button, load for :

Main toolbar ---> RE[a]DD_MainToolbar.ReaperMenu
Floating toolbar 1 (toolbar 1) ---> RE[a]DD_Toolbar1.ReaperMenu
MIDI piano roll toolbar ---> RE[a]DD_PianoRollToolbar.ReaperMenu
MIDI event list toolbar ---> RE[a]DD_EventListToolbar.ReaperMenu

Then close this window. You should have now all the four toolbars bundled in the theme appearing and functional.
Hope this will solve your issue...
__________________
DAW : i7-870|P7P55D-E|16 Gb|2 HDD 1 Tb|W7Pro SP1(64)|E-Mu 1616m PCIe + Behringer ADA8000
Soft : Reaper(64)|Cubase 5-6.5(64)|Emulator X3 & several other VSTis (2 bridged)...
Gear : VMK-188+|MPD32|ME30P|Korg 05R/W|Roland D110|Yamaha TX802|Pre-MIDI stuff...
cubic13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 11:57 AM   #53
cubic13
Human being with feelings
 
cubic13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Near Serre-Ponçon lake, french Alps
Posts: 576
Default v 1.20 update is in the stash...

Another update, mainly to answer, first, to RobertP inquiry (post #33) and, second, to the observations made about the use of this theme with a 1080 pixels monitor resolution.

1) I made several changes in the mixer management that allowed me to gain nearly 80 pixels for the minimal height of the mixer. It's not perfect : the user will still see a part of the extended area of the mixer when no track icon is used, as I had to take account of the fact that any track icon is displayed with no less than 96 pixel rows in this theme. This is not avoidable : we cannot, as themers, do anything about the height of it, as it is directly dependent of the overall mixer window one. I'm still wondering why, as the bundled Reaper track icons are all on a 64x64 pixels format, the display of them are expanded as much, with a doubtful result, but well... Another UI quirk to add to an already long list...

However, I think that the changes made will allow a more comfortable use of this theme with a 1080 pixels high monitor resolution (I hope so, at least...).

2) I also made few more graphical adjustements here and there.

So, let me know how all this behaves, especially when using a vertical 1080 pixels monitor resolution.
__________________
DAW : i7-870|P7P55D-E|16 Gb|2 HDD 1 Tb|W7Pro SP1(64)|E-Mu 1616m PCIe + Behringer ADA8000
Soft : Reaper(64)|Cubase 5-6.5(64)|Emulator X3 & several other VSTis (2 bridged)...
Gear : VMK-188+|MPD32|ME30P|Korg 05R/W|Roland D110|Yamaha TX802|Pre-MIDI stuff...
cubic13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2017, 10:56 PM   #54
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 12,518
Default

seems to be OK here with the update...
thanks as always %^)
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2017, 01:38 AM   #55
RobertP
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Norfolk UK
Posts: 627
Default

many thanks
__________________
Windows 7 Pro. Intel i7 3400ghz. 16GB Ram. Focusrite Scarlett 8i6.
Up to date Reaper 64.
RobertP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2017, 01:51 PM   #56
Solar
Human being with feelings
 
Solar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,300
Default

@cubic13

This is one of your finest beautifully and well executed theme mate. I swear, using it now and it's a gem.

One thing if I may suggest that I think would a great add-on is to keep it as is but make new Color alteration version of the same Theme. Lets say a Darker black or blue version or darker brown version etc.. if you know what I mean. I think that would set this Theme to be a very versatile theme. Just like when you're using Ableton and you can just use the same theme but change colors or the overall.

NO rush, if you feel like it as well would be much appreciated

Again Kudos and thanks for sharing '-)

Best,
__________________
MY: Music Producer, Mix Engineer & Entrepreneur
http://soundcloud.com/officialmy
Solar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2017, 03:21 PM   #57
krahosk
Human being with feelings
 
krahosk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,525
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solar View Post
@cubic13

This is one of your finest beautifully and well executed theme mate. I swear, using it now and it's a gem.

One thing if I may suggest that I think would a great add-on is to keep it as is but make new Color alteration version of the same Theme. Lets say a Darker black or blue version or darker brown version etc.. if you know what I mean. I think that would set this Theme to be a very versatile theme. Just like when you're using Ableton and you can just use the same theme but change colors or the overall.

NO rush, if you feel like it as well would be much appreciated

Again Kudos and thanks for sharing '-)

Best,
Hey, I was thinking the same thing! Like a small tint variation, something easy to execute, that just involves a batch processing of all the images.
krahosk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2017, 11:49 PM   #58
cubic13
Human being with feelings
 
cubic13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Near Serre-Ponçon lake, french Alps
Posts: 576
Default

@Solar & krahosk

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solar View Post
@cubic13

This is one of your finest beautifully and well executed theme mate. I swear, using it now and it's a gem.

One thing if I may suggest that I think would a great add-on is to keep it as is but make new Color alteration version of the same Theme. Lets say a Darker black or blue version or darker brown version etc.. if you know what I mean. I think that would set this Theme to be a very versatile theme. Just like when you're using Ableton and you can just use the same theme but change colors or the overall.

NO rush, if you feel like it as well would be much appreciated

Again Kudos and thanks for sharing '-)

Best,
Thanks !

About the different tint versions, why not ? There are three ways to deal with this :

1) Make new themes which would have different background tints. Quite easy, but this means that there would be as many themes as different tints involved...

2) Make a pack with several sets of files needed to make the theme significantly different. The problem is to be sure that all the files of a given tint would be changed in one pass (including the ones which are in layouts subfolders). So yes, this would involve scripting. I'm afraid that LUA won't be up to the task, as there are no true file management functions in it, afaik. From which, it lets only the WSH (Windows Script Hosting) option, and its execution would have to be done outside Reaper. Beside this, OSX users would be left out of the way, as I don't even know if OSX has this kind of scripting feature.

3) a last way would be to make a version with three or four tints, but it would need several .7z files. Never did this, but why not ?

I'm going to think a little more about this, to see what could eventually be done in practical terms.
__________________
DAW : i7-870|P7P55D-E|16 Gb|2 HDD 1 Tb|W7Pro SP1(64)|E-Mu 1616m PCIe + Behringer ADA8000
Soft : Reaper(64)|Cubase 5-6.5(64)|Emulator X3 & several other VSTis (2 bridged)...
Gear : VMK-188+|MPD32|ME30P|Korg 05R/W|Roland D110|Yamaha TX802|Pre-MIDI stuff...

Last edited by cubic13; 12-09-2017 at 12:00 AM.
cubic13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2017, 03:44 PM   #59
krahosk
Human being with feelings
 
krahosk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,525
Default

Wow, thanks Cubic for even considering! :-) It would involve as you say as many themes as there are tint variations. No problem if it not possible.
krahosk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2017, 11:47 PM   #60
cubic13
Human being with feelings
 
cubic13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Near Serre-Ponçon lake, french Alps
Posts: 576
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by krahosk View Post
Wow, thanks Cubic for even considering! :-) It would involve as you say as many themes as there are tint variations. No problem if it not possible.
Well, as it is doable. The problem is to make my mind about how to implement two or three additional tints and, once done, which ones... Suggestions welcomed, by the way, knowing that the actual panel background tints is varying between RGB 192/181/168 and 165/157/148.

It will not be in the following days, though. Have a RE[a]DD update to finish first...
__________________
DAW : i7-870|P7P55D-E|16 Gb|2 HDD 1 Tb|W7Pro SP1(64)|E-Mu 1616m PCIe + Behringer ADA8000
Soft : Reaper(64)|Cubase 5-6.5(64)|Emulator X3 & several other VSTis (2 bridged)...
Gear : VMK-188+|MPD32|ME30P|Korg 05R/W|Roland D110|Yamaha TX802|Pre-MIDI stuff...
cubic13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2017, 11:35 AM   #61
Solar
Human being with feelings
 
Solar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,300
Default

Yeees indeed big thanks @cubic13 for considering and laying out the options as they all don't seem to be easy. But again, no rush, take your time as we know these revisions or new color themes do take time to do as you have to double check that they apply to all little details of the main theme. Totally hear you on this. thats why, we appreciate your consideration but no rush.

Looking forward to it.

Best and happy holidays to ALL, enjoy with moderation

PEace ;-)
__________________
MY: Music Producer, Mix Engineer & Entrepreneur
http://soundcloud.com/officialmy
Solar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2017, 11:06 AM   #62
krahosk
Human being with feelings
 
krahosk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,525
Default

I think the main thing is what tint variation to settle on and that you could do.
What about suggesting a few and pick just one that's most popular according to forum vox populi?

- darker and more grey
- more blue
- more brown
- your suggestions are welcome

My preference is just more grey overall and slightly darker.
krahosk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2017, 11:32 PM   #63
cubic13
Human being with feelings
 
cubic13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Near Serre-Ponçon lake, french Alps
Posts: 576
Default

Hi again, mates !

Just noted your suggestions, krahosk, even if I'm not really enthousiastic about the blue one... Actually, I think that a lightly more grey and darker tint would indeed be the most appropriate as a first mod ; something like the grey tint used as default in the Re[a]DD project theme.

Let's see if there are other ones...
__________________
DAW : i7-870|P7P55D-E|16 Gb|2 HDD 1 Tb|W7Pro SP1(64)|E-Mu 1616m PCIe + Behringer ADA8000
Soft : Reaper(64)|Cubase 5-6.5(64)|Emulator X3 & several other VSTis (2 bridged)...
Gear : VMK-188+|MPD32|ME30P|Korg 05R/W|Roland D110|Yamaha TX802|Pre-MIDI stuff...
cubic13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 11:36 AM   #64
Jimmy James
Human being with feelings
 
Jimmy James's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 207
Default

This theme has to be Theme of the Year. I have been using it a lot. I have not done much tracking on it yet. But I have done some mixing. I do miss having a blank channel to break up my sections in the mixer. But other than that this is very amazing!
I am going to do some tracking on it after the new year. You did a great job of catching the vintage vibe and modern appointments.
Nothing looks out of place. All the colors blend in. Everything is super crisp and neat.
You have made something that can be built upon here. I could see many versions over time. Or just this version would be plenty. I mean this in the best way. You pushed the envelope with this.
Abbey Road Amazing!
Jimmy James is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.