Old 12-08-2017, 10:19 AM   #4361
timbralzoom
Human being with feelings
 
timbralzoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Turkey/Istanbul
Posts: 1,227
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lb0 View Post
Thanks as always Timbral
its my pleasure as always!
although there is some brain stop moments while looking for the knobs
but gives the main save load the strip idea i guess
timbralzoom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 03:34 AM   #4362
Spurk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 86
Default

Hey

I'm trying to figure out how to use the faderbox learn (global) when right clicking.
I looked at your tutorials timbral but I'm afraid you didn't do vids about it (except the XY modulation using faderbox).
Please, can I have some help?
Spurk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 04:12 AM   #4363
timbralzoom
Human being with feelings
 
timbralzoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Turkey/Istanbul
Posts: 1,227
Default

Hi,
here it is
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e0oM...ature=youtu.be

EDIT:
you can save that "__LBX_CTL" track as a Track Template .. but remember you can use only 1 "__LBX_CTL" track in same project.
timbralzoom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 04:30 AM   #4364
Spurk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 86
Default

You're the best! I'm gonna look at it.
cheers
Spurk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 04:45 PM   #4365
amonte
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 18
Default

Well I have pretty much spent the whole weekend messing with LBX and really enjoying it. I've got a bunch of strips that I've put together and started loading in projects.

One thing I did notice is that some of the JS plugins I am trying to hook up to LBX have some strange behaviors when turning the knobs. Specifically the Non-Linear Processor and the F670 compressor plugin. Sometimes they don't move at all, other times they move on their own and other times still they only go to their min and max settings. Anyone else see this?
amonte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 01:03 AM   #4366
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,078
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amonte View Post
Well I have pretty much spent the whole weekend messing with LBX and really enjoying it. I've got a bunch of strips that I've put together and started loading in projects.

One thing I did notice is that some of the JS plugins I am trying to hook up to LBX have some strange behaviors when turning the knobs. Specifically the Non-Linear Processor and the F670 compressor plugin. Sometimes they don't move at all, other times they move on their own and other times still they only go to their min and max settings. Anyone else see this?
Would you be able to share a sharestrip file with me? - so I can try it out.

To create a sharestrip - just go to strip edit mode - select the strip from the list on the left - right-click it and choose export sharestrip file. This contains not only the data for the strip but also the graphics/control files.
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 01:35 AM   #4367
Spurk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 86
Default

Hi again,

A question comes to me. Lets say I have a dedicated LBXcontroler track (where I put all the strip I need from different tracks) If I save the strip-not the projet-and want to load it later on a different project it will be load on the track that is selected, right? So if I wanna keep the correct mapping of the tracks I must save the reaper project and save the project in LBX? And what if I don't want to reload all the project but only one plugin keep the track appart from my LBXcontroler one?

A 2nd one in fact ^^,
is it possible to reaffect a new parameter directly on a existing strip (I mean a knobs, fader, on/off button etc)? Like a right clic "realearn"... or something like that.

thx a bunch in advance for your time! (which is precious to me/us) ^^
Spurk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 01:56 AM   #4368
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,078
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spurk View Post
Hi again,

A question comes to me. Lets say I have a dedicated LBXcontroler track (where I put all the strip I need from different tracks) If I save the strip-not the projet-and want to load it later on a different project it will be load on the track that is selected, right? So if I wanna keep the correct mapping of the tracks I must save the reaper project and save the project in LBX? And what if I don't want to reload all the project but only one plugin keep the track appart from my LBXcontroler one?

A 2nd one in fact ^^,
is it possible to reaffect a new parameter directly on a existing strip (I mean a knobs, fader, on/off button etc)? Like a right clic "realearn"... or something like that.

thx a bunch in advance for your time! (which is precious to me/us) ^^
I'm not 100% sure what you're asking. But - a simple strip file will only contain plugins from the current track (any plugins on different tracks will not recall correctly). If you need a multi track strip file - you need to save as a *strip set* - (in main ... menu).

You can then import (load or merge) a strip set into a current project and it will recreate the tracks and layout as needed. At the moment - you would need to ensure that only the tracks you want are in the project when saving the set as it saves all the tracks. Load will remove any current strip data (so only use on a blank project where stripper has not been used yet), merge - will keep existing stripper data. TBH - the load method doesn't need to be there anymore - I would use merge each time.

As for parameters - simply drag any parameter over an existing control in fx edit mode and it will overwrite the mapping. You can even drag an entire plugin (can't remember if leftclick or rightclick drag) over a single control and it will remap all the control mappings for the plugin. Probably best to play with to get a feel to what it does.

If you're talking about LBX faderbox mappings - then currently you would need to remap in any new project - or create a project template with them already in there. Strip files do not keep control mappings - and I can't remember what strip sets do (although it will recreate any __LBX_CTL track saved in the strip set.
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 02:02 AM   #4369
Spurk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 86
Default

Nope, I wasn't talking about LBX faderbox.
You absolutely got what I was asking. You did answer to all my wondering

cheers and thx again for your work!
Spurk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 08:25 PM   #4370
amonte
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lb0 View Post
Would you be able to share a sharestrip file with me? - so I can try it out.

To create a sharestrip - just go to strip edit mode - select the strip from the list on the left - right-click it and choose export sharestrip file. This contains not only the data for the strip but also the graphics/control files.
Sure, here you go

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Hi...Cy2UKVYbZ0YrRZ
amonte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2017, 03:34 AM   #4371
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,078
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amonte View Post
Well I have pretty much spent the whole weekend messing with LBX and really enjoying it. I've got a bunch of strips that I've put together and started loading in projects.

One thing I did notice is that some of the JS plugins I am trying to hook up to LBX have some strange behaviors when turning the knobs. Specifically the Non-Linear Processor and the F670 compressor plugin. Sometimes they don't move at all, other times they move on their own and other times still they only go to their min and max settings. Anyone else see this?
Hi Amonte,

Nice strip

Think I've sussed out your issues. I think it's with the design of the JS plugins.

For instance - the Fairchild clone - the GR and Ratio are actually meters - and not controls - so if you were to find a suitable calibrated control - you could use that to signify the GR and Ratio values.

The other issues - it looks like you've set up the controls to be buttons - hence why they are jumping between min and max. Simply go into FX edit mode - select any controls with this behaviour - and then in the CTL OPTIONS box - click through the control types (underneath EDIT NAME button). Knob/Slider is probably standard for continuous parameters.

Let me know if this helps.

L.

EDIT: Also - the gain reduction meter is a log scale - so you may wish to change it's response in CTL OPTIONS 2. Otherwise - unless you have massive GR - you won't notice it move much (if at all).

Another quick note - with your gauges - notice they don't line up beginning and end of the knobs throw. You can extend the length of the gauge to match the beginning and end positions of the knob. Also - if the ticks don't line up correctly - you can adjust them either way - or if they're completely out - you can simply remove them all - then rotate the control to each tick position you want - then right-click the knob to add a tick at that position...
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner
Donate via Paypal

Last edited by lb0; 12-12-2017 at 03:47 AM.
lb0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2017, 08:54 AM   #4372
amonte
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lb0 View Post
Hi Amonte,

Nice strip

Think I've sussed out your issues. I think it's with the design of the JS plugins.

For instance - the Fairchild clone - the GR and Ratio are actually meters - and not controls - so if you were to find a suitable calibrated control - you could use that to signify the GR and Ratio values.

The other issues - it looks like you've set up the controls to be buttons - hence why they are jumping between min and max. Simply go into FX edit mode - select any controls with this behaviour - and then in the CTL OPTIONS box - click through the control types (underneath EDIT NAME button). Knob/Slider is probably standard for continuous parameters.

Let me know if this helps.

L.

EDIT: Also - the gain reduction meter is a log scale - so you may wish to change it's response in CTL OPTIONS 2. Otherwise - unless you have massive GR - you won't notice it move much (if at all).

Another quick note - with your gauges - notice they don't line up beginning and end of the knobs throw. You can extend the length of the gauge to match the beginning and end positions of the knob. Also - if the ticks don't line up correctly - you can adjust them either way - or if they're completely out - you can simply remove them all - then rotate the control to each tick position you want - then right-click the knob to add a tick at that position...
Awesome, thank you for the help and tips!

Like I said, I really love working with the lbxstripper. Honestly, this is a game changer for me. I just find it so much easier to work like this than having all the extra clicks. My next trick is to get my FaderPort to jump between parameters.

Is there a way to have the track name appear in the strip?
amonte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2017, 09:21 AM   #4373
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,078
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amonte View Post
Awesome, thank you for the help and tips!

Like I said, I really love working with the lbxstripper. Honestly, this is a game changer for me. I just find it so much easier to work like this than having all the extra clicks. My next trick is to get my FaderPort to jump between parameters.

Is there a way to have the track name appear in the strip?
Great!

At the moment the track name is only visible in the top bar (if you've not hidden it).

But I have thought about a special control that can display items like track name... Will add it to my list of things to do.

EDIT: Also - the GR output from the Fairchild cannot be easily mapped currently to any stripper controls unless you designed a special purpose built one. Most of it's useful values (0-10dB reduction) are in like the final 1% of *movement* - thus doesn't show up on the control. Of course - you could just use the value readout for text GR meter, but would be nice to calibrate it suitably for Stripper.
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner
Donate via Paypal

Last edited by lb0; 12-13-2017 at 09:30 AM.
lb0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2017, 11:46 AM   #4374
ThrashJazzAssassin
Human being with feelings
 
ThrashJazzAssassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 180
Default

Talking about GR meters, have you seen this new API feature in the latest 5.70?

Quote:
+ VST: support TrackFX_GetNamedConfigParm() with GainReduction_dB to retrieve the current GR from plug-ins that support the Presonus GR API
Also, might help someone, I have a zip of GR meter graphics in my github https://github.com/ThrashJazzAssassin/LBX-Strips which basically consists of all of timberalzoom's meters rotated 180 degrees with appropriately edited and renamed .knb files.
ThrashJazzAssassin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2017, 01:40 PM   #4375
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,078
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThrashJazzAssassin View Post
Talking about GR meters, have you seen this new API feature in the latest 5.70?



Also, might help someone, I have a zip of GR meter graphics in my github https://github.com/ThrashJazzAssassin/LBX-Strips which basically consists of all of timberalzoom's meters rotated 180 degrees with appropriately edited and renamed .knb files.
Thanks for the heads up. I don't know how many plugins adhere to Presonus's API but certainly something I could add to Stripper for any that do.

And thanks for doing the control edits - will take a look when I get some time (not much at the moment - blame Christmas season!)
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.