Old 11-12-2017, 09:51 AM   #1
Urban Musiq
Human being with feelings
 
Urban Musiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Europe
Posts: 21
Default Betatesters for reverb needed

I am looking for betatesters for my reverb. Basically it is a clone of the Lexicon 480L's large hall algorithm.

It does its job for me and I hope it is useful for you. It comes without warranty, turn down the volume. Took me some time to get there. After all I am a professional reverb designer. Published under a "beer license".

Get it from here:

ClassicReverbVST

I work with 32bit CPUs and REAPER / WINE and Win XP without problems. How about newer systems?

Urban

BTW I looked into Jesusonic (tried to make a phaser) and produced a bug which happened to sound good to my ears. I found out and implemented it as an output stage for reverbs. JS seems to be fun
Urban Musiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 12:07 PM   #2
mamazai
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 327
Default

Mac OS, In the future ?
mamazai is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 12:55 PM   #3
Urban Musiq
Human being with feelings
 
Urban Musiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Europe
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mamazai View Post
Mac OS, In the future ?
What format do you need?
AU, VST ?
__________________
| Reverb Design | Source Code |
Urban Musiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 03:09 PM   #4
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,050
Default

Just for interest:

Is the algorithm not linear, so that it's not possible to implement as an impulse response to be loaded in ReaVerb ?

Thanks,
-Michael
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 11:36 PM   #5
Urban Musiq
Human being with feelings
 
Urban Musiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Europe
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
Just for interest:

Is the algorithm not linear, so that it's not possible to implement as an impulse response to be loaded in ReaVerb ?

Thanks,
-Michael
Time variance is key for any reverb. I tried to make it as non linear as possible. See the link on design philosophy in my signature. Thats why Griessinger wasn't afraid of the sampling guys.

There are modulated delays on a very small scale (Phaser, Chorus) aswell as large scale. Convolution also eats more CPU.

Quote:
I just tried it and Reaper does not accept/see the plugin after scanning

Reaper v5.60 pre2 (32-bit), Windows 7 Pro 32-bit.
c'est dommage. I'll check on Win XP with Reaper v5.6x. Anyway I plan to recompile it with newer versions of FAUST to different targets (VST3, AU). But VST2.4 should be compatible with your system.

Thanks for trying!

-Urban
__________________
| Reverb Design | Source Code |
Urban Musiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 12:45 AM   #6
mamazai
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 327
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Urban Musiq View Post
What format do you need?
AU, VST ?
Both is OK for Reaper.
mamazai is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 02:48 AM   #7
Urban Musiq
Human being with feelings
 
Urban Musiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Europe
Posts: 21
Default OSX Audio Unit

Quote:
Originally Posted by mamazai View Post
Mac OS, In the future ?
Please see if this works for you. Name should be INEQ1 (filename FaustAU).

-Urban
Attached Files
File Type: zip y0-OSX.zip (226.3 KB, 12 views)
__________________
| Reverb Design | Source Code |
Urban Musiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 05:06 AM   #8
mamazai
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 327
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Urban Musiq View Post
Please see if this works for you. Name should be INEQ1 (filename FaustAU).

-Urban
Reaper can not find the file in fxs.
mamazai is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 07:49 AM   #9
OldG
Human being with feelings
 
OldG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northants,UK
Posts: 161
Default

Bridging enabled in preferences as screenie.. the test dll is in my VST folder but doesn't show up in Reaper FX list. W10 is also 64 bit btw.
OldG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 07:55 AM   #10
Urban Musiq
Human being with feelings
 
Urban Musiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Europe
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mamazai View Post
Reaper can not find the file in fxs.
Unzip to y0.component. This is a OSX bundle. Copy to
/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/Components
or
~/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/Components

---

@ OldG

Thanks for reporting. I will have to fidle with the MinGW cross comiler to make x64 targets. I surmise other 32 bit VSTs are loading ok ?

-Urban
__________________
| Reverb Design | Source Code |

Last edited by Urban Musiq; 11-14-2017 at 08:06 AM.
Urban Musiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 08:29 AM   #11
mamazai
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 327
Default

I know but it doesn't work.
mamazai is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 11:45 PM   #12
OldG
Human being with feelings
 
OldG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northants,UK
Posts: 161
Default

[QUOTE=

@ OldG

Thanks for reporting. I will have to fidle with the MinGW cross comiler to make x64 targets. I surmise other 32 bit VSTs are loading ok ?

-Urban[/QUOTE]

That's right,all other VSTs are fine..
OldG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 06:58 PM   #13
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 309
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Urban Musiq View Post
...
I work with 32bit CPUs and REAPER / WINE and Win XP without problems. How about newer systems?
...
Hi Urban,
I just tried it and Reaper does not accept/see the plugin after scanning

Reaper v5.60 pre2 (32-bit), Windows 7 Pro 32-bit.

akademie
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 02:34 AM   #14
Urban Musiq
Human being with feelings
 
Urban Musiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Europe
Posts: 21
Default

@akademie

works with Win XP and Reaper 5.6x here. Might be a Win 7 (and later) issue. You can look into the last line of (program folder)/reaper-vstplugins.ini to make shure it has been found. Should say something like:
Code:
ClassicReverbVST.dll=000826A13CB7D101,1178686849,ClassicReverbVST.dll (ClassicReverbVST.dsp)(Do 26. Mai 13:51:38
Or you can test the attached simple EQ (y0.dll) which is compiled on a new system, should be Windows VSTi3. This does NOT load on my system(s). Maybe it does on yours.

-Urban
Attached Files
File Type: zip y0.zip (63.7 KB, 18 views)
__________________
| Reverb Design | Source Code |
Urban Musiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 05:44 AM   #15
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 7,820
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Urban Musiq View Post
Might be a Win 7 (and later) issue.
I can say it loads fine here with Win 8.1 (64 bit) / Reaper (32 bit).
Thank you.
nofish is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 06:16 AM   #16
Xenakios
Human being with feelings
 
Xenakios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 7,173
Default

64 bit for Windows and Mac Os?
__________________
For info on SWS Reaper extension plugin (including Xenakios' previous extension/actions) :
http://www.sws-extension.org/
https://github.com/Jeff0S/sws
--
Xenakios blog (about HourGlass, Paul(X)Stretch and λ) :
http://xenakios.wordpress.com/
Xenakios is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 06:40 AM   #17
lolilol1975
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1,473
Default

It does work with 5.62 64 bits.

But:
- I don't like that it is effect only and there is no wet button. It looks aimed at an outdated workflow where we have to setup an FX bus. Definitely not the Reaper way. Especially since I sometimes use TWO reverbs that I mix.
- I tested it on a voice, not on guitars, so maybe that's not the right use case. But so far I have to say the sound doesn't wow me. Not bad but not better for my ears than what I already have. I still prefer OrilRiver or Sanford or even Voxengo OldSkoolVerb. To my ears, OrilRiver gives a much more convincing impression of space to the sound than the famous Lexicon algorithm that is reproduced here.

Last edited by lolilol1975; 11-13-2017 at 07:03 AM.
lolilol1975 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 06:41 AM   #18
Urban Musiq
Human being with feelings
 
Urban Musiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Europe
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
I can say it loads fine here with Win 8.1 (64 bit) / Reaper (32 bit).
Thank you.
You're welcome!

---

I can make a lot of targets IF people show interest by actually listening to the 32 bit versions... After all Reaper's bit-bridge is the best out there by and large.

-Urban
__________________
| Reverb Design | Source Code |

Last edited by Urban Musiq; 11-14-2017 at 02:54 AM.
Urban Musiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.