Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > Recording Technologies and Techniques

Old 01-23-2009, 12:46 PM   #1
Tedwood
Human being with feelings

Default Drum Sampler Tutorial - Power for free

I have seen lots of posts about drum VSTs, samplers, EZ, AD, BFD etc and questions on how to get started with drum VSTs. I thought maybe it would be good if someone did a tutorial on how to set up a powerful drum sampler with your own kit pieces.

I am no expert on samplers by any means but I did make my own GM drum sampler about a year ago with which I was, and still am very impressed. It will take a bit of effort but I think this is valuable education for me as well, and hopefully we can all get something out of it.

This will be based around Shortcircuit 1.1.2. This sampler has filters and oscillators I haven't even explored yet, because I really only wanted a drum kit to sound like a drum kit, depending on the genre you might want to get in to some that at a later date but for now I would like to introduce you to the concept of high quality multi layered drum sampling on the cheap.

A word of caution here, this tutorial may not be suitable for the total newcomer to digital audio, and it assumes you have a basic grasp of Reaper and you have set up your ins and outs etc. However it's not going to be rocket science either and you can learn in a few pages of text what took me several months of trials and error

You can get a pdf of these instructions here if you wish:
Teds Shortcircuit Tutorial PDF

The first thing you are going to need is Shortcircuit 1.1.2 so go and download it now - here: http://vemberaudio.se/shortcircuit.php

The next thing you are going to need is some drum samples. Sure I could upload a bunch of samples for you do use but for one thing you might not like my taste, and for another it's good to learn how to make your own.