Old 01-14-2019, 11:59 AM   #1
pilgrim
Human being with feelings

Default roland td-17 drum kit

I'm new to reaper and midi recording. I've watched the videos on record your band and new midi song. I'm having trouble getting my drums (Roland td-17) heard. reaper recognizes my kit and I've actually got a track with my drums as midi inputs, but can't hear anything. I have other instruments and I hear them but not the drums. Any suggestions?
pilgrim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2019, 05:16 PM   #2
ivansc

Hi and welcome to the forums. My best guess is that you havent been recording anything but the actual MIDI from your drums, rather than the audio.
Basically you have two choices - either run the audio out(s) from your kit into whatever you are using for an audio/MIDI interface so you can direct;y record your Kit sounds into a track in reaper, or if you have any drum vsti plugins, put them on the track where you are recording MIDI at present and pipe the MIDI into the virtual instrument.

I am off to bed right now but either someone in a different timezone will step in or I`ll catch up with you tomorrow.
If you DONT have a drum VSTi and want to try that way, download and install the free MTPowerDrums 2, which is now free and pretty decent.
And in the meantime if you didnt already, download the free User Guide and check out the free video tutorials, all at reaper.fm

Have fun!
Old 01-15-2019, 09:17 AM   #3
Philbo King

I have a Roland kit too.

I record audio and midi. The midi serves as a backup in case the drum kit mix ends up not working with the mix. (I can tweak individual drum levels and send the midi back to the kit to get a new audio take, if need be.)

You need to also output the midi back to the kit (or send it to a VSTi drum synth) to get audio.

Last edited by Philbo King; 01-17-2019 at 06:07 PM.
Philbo King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2019, 11:23 AM   #4
Coachz