Old 10-09-2014, 02:08 PM   #1
jdnz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 4
Default fx wet/dry anomaly wrt vst/vsti

I insert a vsti followed by a couple of vst fx on a track, and the wet/dry control in the fx window functions as expected - i.e. if set to 100% wet I hear ONLY the effected signal, can then mix back in dry signal

However, if I insert a second vsti after the first (using vsti's that correctly pass thru midi of course) the functionality seems broken - on the second vsti setting mix to 100% wet leaves me with the full dry signal mixed in, moving the mix level down merely fades the second vsti output, I always get 100% wet signal from the first vsti

this mentioned elsewhere wrt to using things like razor (in vocoder mode) - fix there is to use the vst version of reaktor (not the vsti version) - but seems to me the wet/dry functionality should be the same for both vst and vsti
jdnz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2014, 03:13 PM   #2
jdnz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdnz View Post
I insert a vsti followed by a couple of vst fx on a track, and the wet/dry control in the fx window functions as expected - i.e. if set to 100% wet I hear ONLY the effected signal, can then mix back in dry signal

However, if I insert a second vsti after the first (using vsti's that correctly pass thru midi of course) the functionality seems broken - on the second vsti setting mix to 100% wet leaves me with the full dry signal mixed in, moving the mix level down merely fades the second vsti output, I always get 100% wet signal from the first vsti

this mentioned elsewhere wrt to using things like razor (in vocoder mode) - fix there is to use the vst version of reaktor (not the vsti version) - but seems to me the wet/dry functionality should be the same for both vst and vsti
had a friend check this on OSX (I'm won win7x64) - same inconsistent behaviour with vst/vsti, but with audiounits the mix behaviour is consistent irregardless of the audiounit type (fx/instrument etc)

Also checked the reaper manual and it only mentions the correct behaviour, so looks like wet/dry mix on vsti is definitely really broken (as opposed to broken as specified)
jdnz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.