Old 09-18-2018, 01:32 PM   #1
bolgwrad
Human being with feelings
 
bolgwrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: On my arse in Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 157
Default Still using XP? 32bit 64Gb RAM patch still available

http://www.mediafire.com/file/cbj96q...+RAM+patch.zip

Copy the *.exe files to Windows/System32/ and modify (BACK UP) your boot.ini file. Reboot. And breathe.
bolgwrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2018, 04:54 PM   #2
Steviebone
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bolgwrad View Post
http://www.mediafire.com/file/cbj96q...+RAM+patch.zip

Copy the *.exe files to Windows/System32/ and modify (BACK UP) your boot.ini file. Reboot. And breathe.
Wholly unadvisable IMO. To begin with you don't want to download and run executables from anywhere on the Internet without very careful consideration and vetting. Secondly the ability to address large chunks of RAM is something that is inherent to the design of the operating system (and the hardware). Hacks like these will likely never work reliably. Some software addresses memory through bios calls and some access memory directly using hardware calls. I'm not familiar with your particular hack but it would take a lot of convincing for me to believe that it would actually work well with all programs because of this fact.The cost of 64-bit machines is dirt cheap now. You're really better off to move to a 64 bit system if it's more memory your after.

If you do decide to download anything from a sharing site like MediaFire that contains executables you should definitely run it through a site like virustotal.com first. Even then, you would be running an executable that's going to modify the core features of your operating system. Not a good idea.

Last edited by Steviebone; 09-18-2018 at 05:02 PM.
Steviebone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2018, 04:55 PM   #3
bolgwrad
Human being with feelings
 
bolgwrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: On my arse in Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steviebone View Post
Wholly unadvisable IMO.
Why, IYO?
bolgwrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2018, 05:00 PM   #4
Steviebone
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bolgwrad View Post
Why, IYO?
see edit above
Steviebone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2018, 05:06 PM   #5
Xenakios
Human being with feelings
 
Xenakios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 7,271
Default

Virustotal.com says the files are clean.

But what is the point of the patch? Why would someone have a computer with up to 64GB of memory installed but not be using a modern 64 bit operating system?
__________________
For info on SWS Reaper extension plugin (including Xenakios' previous extension/actions) :
http://www.sws-extension.org/
https://github.com/Jeff0S/sws
--
Xenakios blog (about HourGlass, Paul(X)Stretch and λ) :
http://xenakios.wordpress.com/
Xenakios is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2018, 05:20 PM   #6
bolgwrad
Human being with feelings
 
bolgwrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: On my arse in Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xenakios View Post
Virustotal.com says the files are clean.

But what is the point of the patch? Why would someone have a computer with up to 64GB of memory installed but not be using a modern 64 bit operating system?
I've got a 64bit machine, 8G RAM that came with Win7. Got an old Maya 44e 4-channel soundcard that works great with Reaper, except that it works better under XP, because Win7 and Win10 both have issues with my video card, network card, multiple monitors - or god knows what else because look, Win XP just WORKS. Win7 and Win10 aren't nearly as finished. On this machine I've exhaustively trialled Win7, Win 10, even WinXP64bit; WinXP32 SP3+ still does what I ask without getting in the way. Win7 and Win10 are simply not as transparent or reliable. On this hardware.

If this hack allows my OS to function more effectively - and it does - then I'm sharing it in the hope that others may be helped, not to assert that my choices are better than anyone else's.

Last edited by bolgwrad; 09-18-2018 at 05:39 PM.
bolgwrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2018, 05:34 PM   #7
bolgwrad
Human being with feelings
 
bolgwrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: On my arse in Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steviebone View Post
see edit above
I'm not trying to convince you of anything. Your mileage no doubt varies.
bolgwrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2018, 06:56 PM   #8
Steviebone
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bolgwrad View Post
I'm not trying to convince you of anything. Your mileage no doubt varies.
I used XP on multiple machines for many many years. Some machines were finally updated just last year. I did notice a huge improvement when moving to win7 64x. It depends on each circumstance. One word of caution. Keep all those XP machines completely OFF the Internet. They are wide open at this point.

FWIW I don't believe there any older motherboards that will allow more than 4 gig anyway. Chances are your XP machine can't see more than 4 unless it was purchased in the last 5 years, in which case I can't imagine why it would be running XP.
Steviebone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2018, 08:59 PM   #9
woogish
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 265
Default

XP forever, unaltered
woogish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.