Old 09-24-2020, 08:39 AM   #1
stevetek
Human being with feelings

Default Flutter & choppy sound?!?

Hi, I've been using Reaper since 2017 and has always worked GREAT! but now in 2020, on playback it sounds Flutter & choppy???? here is what I Know:
1) I'm not using a sound card so no latency from the sound card.
2) I'll open a new Reaper project and pull in one guitar file with NO effects or anything on the track and still get Flutter & choppy sound.
3) Uninstalled & Remove all of Reaper then reinstalled with no plugins or other add-ons, still the same thing.
4) It will play nice and clean for about 2 sec before the Flutter & choppy sound starts.

HELP - Don't know what to do?!?
stevetek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2020, 09:37 AM   #2
serr

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevetek View Post
Hi, I've been using Reaper since 2017 and has always worked GREAT! but now in 2020, on playback it sounds Flutter & choppy???? here is what I Know:
1) I'm not using a sound card so no latency from the sound card.
2) I'll open a new Reaper project and pull in one guitar file with NO effects or anything on the track and still get Flutter & choppy sound.
3) Uninstalled & Remove all of Reaper then reinstalled with no plugins or other add-ons, still the same thing.
4) It will play nice and clean for about 2 sec before the Flutter & choppy sound starts.

HELP - Don't know what to do?!?
PCI connecting interfaces aren't higher baseline latency than USB/firewire/TB as a general rule. In fact, some PCI connecting interfaces feature lower baseline latency. Still not likely related to the issue...

Let's check the obvious interface connection stuff:
Do you have your system sample rate set intentionally?
Do you have the hardware running at the same sample rate as the project? No live on the fly conversions?
What block size are you running at?