Old 12-06-2017, 07:06 AM   #1
Veto
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 140
Default -----

-----

Last edited by Veto; 05-18-2018 at 08:22 AM.
Veto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 04:01 PM   #2
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 14,789
Default

With a lot of help in the forum thread you mentioned, I did a rather large project with fft_real() - including a spectrum analyzer view - and it does work as expected.

-Michael
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 04:40 PM   #3
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,746
Default

I'm pretty sure you're getting different values with some offsets because the FFT buffer crosses the 65536 boundary (per the documentation you quoted).

Try adding this line immediately above the loop() that prints the results:

Code:
((in_buf/65536)|0) != (((in_buf+fft_size*(real?1:2) - 1)/65536)|0) ? gfx_printf("would give bad results\n") :
(that will print an error message rather than results if in_buf crosses a boundary)

Last edited by Justin; 12-06-2017 at 04:53 PM.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2017, 09:12 PM   #4
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 15,618
Default

really quite nice Veto... thanks
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 12:52 AM   #5
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 14,789
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veto View Post
Thanks again everybody, in the end my gfxanalyzer mod shaped up nicely

Looks perfect !

Any chance you provide it via ReaPack (please including a decent "About" section) ?

Thanks a lot !
-Michael
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 04:19 AM   #6
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,900
Default

Interesting ! This is an ambitious project !

--
It could have been nice to have a toggle for having tracks colors instead of predetermined one but it's not possible via JSFX to get track color...

... but what is possible to add JSFX sliders for INT colors of each tracks, and altered this with a script (scripts can set FX values), like "Set Veto's freq analyser JSFX color to their track receive" (I assume you put the analyses on a dedicated analyzing group). :P

--

More complex but very useful would be to have a Slope settings, like there is on Voxengo Span.


As you can see the GFX version looks more 'bassy' than the voxengo one. (in fact it is pretty harsh electric guitar signal, Span slope gives me a more accurate (to what I hear) analyses by showing this bump in the highs.

--
Thanks for your work !
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 04:45 AM   #7
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 7,268
Default

I agree with X-Raym to be able to customize the colors
Slope would be nice too.
Very cool Veto!
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 06:44 AM   #8
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 12,110
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veto View Post
Is "Slope" identical to tilting the spectrum (I'm sorry I don't have Span here)? If so, it wouldn't be hard but I kind of find it a bit odd, because all amplitude values wouldn't match then. Let me think about this.
Yes.
A common setting (which I also use) is a slope of 3dB/octave so that pink noise shows flat.
Span uses 4.5dB/octave as default.

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=111819

Nice work on the analyzer btw.

Last edited by nofish; 12-10-2017 at 07:14 AM.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2017, 07:13 AM   #9
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13,335
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veto View Post
Thanks guys.
You're right Michael, I really should look into Reapack.
It should be included into Reaper installer.
Nice plug-in! Thank you for the good job!
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2017, 11:54 AM   #10
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 14,789
Default

As already stated I would appreciate buttons to set the slope to zero and to pink noise compensation (I don't remember the value for that)

-Michael
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 01:11 AM   #11
skippertag
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 474
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veto View Post
Thanks again everybody, in the end my gfxanalyzer mod shaped up nicely

Very, very cool!! Thanks a lot!

With regards to Span - I had always the feeling that it shows something to me that wasn't really helpful..

I mean...how can you get used to a curve when you always have to adjust the slope/tilt to make it show different signal levels every time?
Is it really useful to adjust something to show you what you wanna see instead of adjust the sound to make the given analyzer show what is "real"?

Would something like iZotope's Balance Control or Hofa IQ-Analyzer or anything simliar really be of good reference help it you don't know what the analyzer is currently showing because you always have to check and adjust the slope for that special task that you're observing?

I personally need one Reference to which I can get used to where I see directly if my sound curve is within the ballpark or not..

Thanks again Veto for that great mod!!

For me that greatest feature you may want to take into account is the ability to load and save reference curves and maybe to show a weighted curve in addition to the peaks like the great IQ-Analyzer does with its Energy Curve :-)

Last edited by skippertag; 12-11-2017 at 01:27 AM.
skippertag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 07:25 AM   #12
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 14,789
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skippertag View Post
how can you get used to a curve when you always have to adjust the slope/tilt to make it show different signal levels every time?
While I think that slope is important, at least two slope setting (flat and "pink noise") should be available by direct buttons.

-Michael
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2017, 02:38 PM   #13
skippertag
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 474
Default

Many thanks Veto!!
skippertag is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.