Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > ReaScript, JSFX, REAPER Plug-in Extensions, Developer Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-20-2018, 10:22 AM   #41
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,551
Default

I changed how it was going through the samples. Before, it was trying to go through all of the channel 1, then channel 2, etc, and somewhere it was getting confused and coming up with negative time values - that is, a split point before the start of the item.

Now it goes through the samples as they come from Reaper - channel 1 sample 1, channel 2 sample 1, channel 1 sample 2, channel 2 sample 2... tracking the RMS for each channel separately, and then stopping if one of them passes the threshold.

The actual behavior should be unchanged, so it's possible what you were getting before was incorrect due to the stereo issues it had. The logic it uses for a split point is:

- Cannot be within __ms of the item start, as set by "Protect left", so that transients are protected.

- Must be far enough from the end of the item that the tail's stretch rate won't be less than the value you set, so it can't find an acceptable RMS value right off the hop and stretch out a ten sample segment over 300ms or something.

- Within that range, find the last (furthest right) position where the given RMS window is over the threshold.

- Split at the next zero crossing from that.
__________________
I'm no longer using Reaper or working on scripts for it. Sorry. :(
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2018, 10:25 AM   #42
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,551
Default

Updating the ReaPack version now.
__________________
I'm no longer using Reaper or working on scripts for it. Sorry. :(
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2018, 01:06 PM   #43
Robert Randolph
Human being with feelings
 
Robert Randolph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 880
Default

Ok, so I was expecting this script to be released a bit "later" (even though I prodded adam to release it sooner... d'oh)

Here's the text and video companions for it:

http://admiralbumblebee.com/music/20...his-Trick.html

and the video:



I explain the reasoning for this script as well as how it works. The video has audio examples.

Last edited by Robert Randolph; 10-20-2018 at 01:13 PM.
Robert Randolph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2018, 01:13 PM   #44
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Black Forest
Posts: 5,067
Default

Marvellous Robert!

EDIT: it's crazy to see, how long it takes in Studio One and how fast it's done in Reaper.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub
If you like or use my scripts, please support the Ukraine: Ukraine Crisis Relief Fund | DirectRelief | Save The Children | Razom

Last edited by _Stevie_; 10-20-2018 at 01:27 PM.
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2018, 10:32 AM   #45
Gianfini
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 795
Default

Hey would it be possible to give the possibility to apply the script to items on one single track, and adjust the Grouped items in the other tracks accordingly?

The way it works now, if I have items on different tracks (say kick, snare, hi-hat) the script makes different decisions for each track, so the result is misaligned, since I have bleeding across tracks it should process the items in different tracks exactly the same way

g
Gianfini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2018, 06:01 PM   #46
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,551
Default

I could have sworn it already does that, but I might be confusing it with another, similar script I did.

Added to my list, will have a look when time permits. I'm in a coding bootcamp right now though, so Reaper time is really, really sparse.
__________________
I'm no longer using Reaper or working on scripts for it. Sorry. :(
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2018, 08:50 PM   #47
Thonex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,721
Default

Fantastic work Loka.

Just wow!

And thanks so much for all your great commenting. I just found out (with X-Raym's kind sharing) about AudioAccessor commands. They look like they could be a lot of fun (or not :O )... but thanks for little tidbits like this:

Code:
   -- It's significantly faster to use locals for CPU-intensive tasks
    local GetSamples = reaper.GetAudioAccessorSamples
Cheers!
__________________
Cheers... Andrew K
Reaper v6.80+dev0621 - June 21 2023 • Catalina • Mac Mini 2020 6 core i7 • 64GB RAM • OS: Catalina • 4K monitor • RME RayDAT card with Sync Card and extended Light Pipe.
Thonex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2018, 10:34 AM   #48
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,551
Default



I tried really hard to make the audio function in this one modular, so in theory it should be copy-pasteable straight into other scripts and given whatever callback function you want.
__________________
I'm no longer using Reaper or working on scripts for it. Sorry. :(
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2018, 11:23 AM   #49
Thonex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,721
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokasenna View Post


I tried really hard to make the audio function in this one modular, so in theory it should be copy-pasteable straight into other scripts and given whatever callback function you want.

Whoa... very cool. Thanks so much for that!
__________________
Cheers... Andrew K
Reaper v6.80+dev0621 - June 21 2023 • Catalina • Mac Mini 2020 6 core i7 • 64GB RAM • OS: Catalina • 4K monitor • RME RayDAT card with Sync Card and extended Light Pipe.
Thonex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2018, 04:00 PM   #50
Gianfini
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 795
Default

Hi, it seems that UNDO doesn't really undo the whole job done by Smart Fill Gaps... leaving dirty items around

Could you fix this?

g
Gianfini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2019, 10:24 PM   #51
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Black Forest
Posts: 5,067
Default

Could it be that the script is broken?

__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub
If you like or use my scripts, please support the Ukraine: Ukraine Crisis Relief Fund | DirectRelief | Save The Children | Razom
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2019, 10:44 AM   #52
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,551
Default

The script hasn't changed at all, but it's certainly possible. Will try to have a look over the weekend.
__________________
I'm no longer using Reaper or working on scripts for it. Sorry. :(
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2019, 10:45 AM   #53
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,551
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gianfini View Post
Hi, it seems that UNDO doesn't really undo the whole job done by Smart Fill Gaps... leaving dirty items around

Could you fix this?

g
Reaper is sometimes a bit weird about what things it includes in a given undo "block" and what things it doesn't. I can certainly have a look and see if it's something on my end though.
__________________
I'm no longer using Reaper or working on scripts for it. Sorry. :(
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2019, 11:19 AM   #54
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Black Forest
Posts: 5,067
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokasenna View Post
The script hasn't changed at all, but it's certainly possible. Will try to have a look over the weekend.
That's really strange. Maybe something inside Reaper changed. FWIW, I have the same issue on my Windows and OSX machine.
Sure thing man, take your time. It's such a great script, would be a pity to lose it.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub
If you like or use my scripts, please support the Ukraine: Ukraine Crisis Relief Fund | DirectRelief | Save The Children | Razom
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2019, 11:49 AM   #55
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,551
Default

Turns out it was me - scripts made with my GUI Builder weren't having their menu items picked up. I've added a fix, so you should see a GUI library update on your ReaPack shortly.

As for Gianfini's undo issue... I'm not sure that there's anything I can do. The script tells Reaper to put all of the processing in an undo block and to track everything that changes.
__________________
I'm no longer using Reaper or working on scripts for it. Sorry. :(
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2019, 05:54 PM   #56
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Black Forest
Posts: 5,067
Default

Awesome, it works again, thanks man!
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub
If you like or use my scripts, please support the Ukraine: Ukraine Crisis Relief Fund | DirectRelief | Save The Children | Razom
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2019, 10:29 PM   #57
The-Zeronaut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 309
Default

Can anyone explain to my idiot brain in which way is this better than "SWS/AW: Fill gaps between selected items (advanced)"?

Or maybe how is this solution just different and why would i prefer it?
The-Zeronaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2019, 10:30 PM   #58
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Black Forest
Posts: 5,067
Default

Loka's approach is the more desirable: cut the transients from the tail and ONLY timestretch the tail. Because timestretched transients sound really awful. This is really a very clever script that Loka wrote
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub
If you like or use my scripts, please support the Ukraine: Ukraine Crisis Relief Fund | DirectRelief | Save The Children | Razom
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2019, 02:55 PM   #59
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,551
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The-Zeronaut View Post
Can anyone explain to my idiot brain in which way is this better than "SWS/AW: Fill gaps between selected items (advanced)"?

Or maybe how is this solution just different and why would i prefer it?
The SWS action is "dumb", in the sense that it's just splitting at X milliseconds from the beginning and then stretching the rest.

Mine takes the transient length and stretch amount that they use and adds an RMS threshold - it won't split the item until the tail has dropped below the threshold, so that you only end up stretching unimportant content and leaving as much of the good bit intact as possible.
__________________
I'm no longer using Reaper or working on scripts for it. Sorry. :(
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate

Last edited by Lokasenna; 02-17-2019 at 03:25 PM.
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2019, 09:03 PM   #60
JayJSE2
Human being with feelings
 
JayJSE2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 312
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokasenna View Post
The SWS action is "dumb", in the sense that it's just splitting at X milliseconds from the beginning and then stretching the rest.

Mine takes the transient length and stretch amount that they use and adds an RMS threshold - it won't split the item until the tail has dropped below the threshold, so that you only end up stretching unimportant content and leaving as much of the good bit intact as possible.
Wouldn't another way of doing this (without splitting the items first) be to dynamic split (creating stretch markers) and snap to grid as normal, but then set the start of each stretch marker to x1.00 so that the tail of the audio is stretched while the transient is (more or less) untouched?
JayJSE2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2019, 09:30 PM   #61
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,551
Default

Cockos has recently added some improvements to stretch markers and keeping transients intact, so that's entirely possible.
__________________
I'm no longer using Reaper or working on scripts for it. Sorry. :(
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2019, 03:31 PM   #62
endorka
Human being with feelings
 
endorka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 532
Default

This looks awesome and would be the very thing for some projects I am working on.

I've installed it from Reapack, and also set the Lokasenna GUI library path, but unfortunately get an error message then trying to run the smart fill gips command. It says;

Core.lua:57: attempt to call a nil value (field 'ReaPack_GetOwner')

Any advice much appreciated!

Cheers,
Jennifer
__________________
Producer | Arranger | Composer | Bass guitar | Double bass
Website: https://www.jenclarkmusic.com/
endorka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2019, 05:21 PM   #63
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,551
Default

My first guess would be that you need to update your Reapack, if you have it installed but it can't find that function.
__________________
I'm no longer using Reaper or working on scripts for it. Sorry. :(
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2019, 05:47 PM   #64
endorka
Human being with feelings
 
endorka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 532
Default

I didn't think of that, doh! Since Reapack synchronizes everything else I assumed it would synchronize itself too :-)

Installed the latest dll and it's working. Thank you!

Cheers,
Jennifer
__________________
Producer | Arranger | Composer | Bass guitar | Double bass
Website: https://www.jenclarkmusic.com/
endorka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2019, 02:15 AM   #65
endorka
Human being with feelings
 
endorka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 532
Default

I've been using your script Lokasenna, it's great thanks.

I'm also experiencing the same thing as Gianfini, is there something I can do to change this behaviour?

Cheers!
Jennifer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gianfini View Post
Hey would it be possible to give the possibility to apply the script to items on one single track, and adjust the Grouped items in the other tracks accordingly?

The way it works now, if I have items on different tracks (say kick, snare, hi-hat) the script makes different decisions for each track, so the result is misaligned, since I have bleeding across tracks it should process the items in different tracks exactly the same way

g
__________________
Producer | Arranger | Composer | Bass guitar | Double bass
Website: https://www.jenclarkmusic.com/
endorka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2019, 08:42 AM   #66
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,551
Default

It was supposed to be doing that, my code was apparently broken.

I'm uploading a fix now that adds a specific option for this behaviour - it works based on items at the same time position for now rather than groups.
__________________
I'm no longer using Reaper or working on scripts for it. Sorry. :(
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2019, 05:06 PM   #67
endorka
Human being with feelings
 
endorka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 532
Default

Ace, thank you. I'll give that a go tomorrow. Cheers, Jennifer
__________________
Producer | Arranger | Composer | Bass guitar | Double bass
Website: https://www.jenclarkmusic.com/
endorka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2019, 11:03 AM   #68
Gianfini
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 795
Default

Hi I really cannot understand how this work... I set Protect Left to 100ms and then it insert stretch split at 44ms from left of item...

How does RMS Thershold work?

Is there a way to proess one track and move along all other tracks with Grouped items according to splits/moves done in the first track? Otherwise it's pretty useless when you have 8+ mics to align

g
Gianfini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2019, 02:00 PM   #69
endorka
Human being with feelings
 
endorka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 532
Default

Lokasenna has committed an update Reapack that should address this. It's version 1.3, I'm going to try it later. Maybe try updating the script via Reapack if you haven't tried that already?

Edit: I've just tried version 1.3 and it seems to be doing the trick, thanks Lokasenna.

Cheers,
Jennifer
__________________
Producer | Arranger | Composer | Bass guitar | Double bass
Website: https://www.jenclarkmusic.com/

Last edited by endorka; 03-10-2019 at 02:16 PM.
endorka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2019, 09:01 PM   #70
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,551
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gianfini View Post
Hi I really cannot understand how this work... I set Protect Left to 100ms and then it insert stretch split at 44ms from left of item...
It shouldn't be, unless you have the "match the first item at each position" option on and the first item was split at 44ms. Can you share a project and the script settings you're using to make it do that?

Quote:
How does RMS Thershold work?
My algorithm might not be entirely correct, but it's meant to look for the last (furthest-right) position where the specified RMS window (effectively the average level) is above the given threshold, and then takes the next zero crossing to the right for a split point.

Quote:
Is there a way to proess one track and move along all other tracks with Grouped items according to splits/moves done in the first track? Otherwise it's pretty useless when you have 8+ mics to align
Grouping, no. I worked on that for a bit this afternoon but it would require a lot of rewriting to work with grouped items that aren't all at the same position (room mics that are few milliseconds later, etc).

I did add an option earlier today to use the first (lowest track number) item at each time position and match the others with it though.
__________________
I'm no longer using Reaper or working on scripts for it. Sorry. :(
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 01:40 AM   #71
endorka
Human being with feelings
 
endorka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 532
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokasenna View Post
Grouping, no. I worked on that for a bit this afternoon but it would require a lot of rewriting to work with grouped items that aren't all at the same position (room mics that are few milliseconds later, etc).

I did add an option earlier today to use the first (lowest track number) item at each time position and match the others with it though.
That's what I used, it worked well.

That you didn't use groups puzzled me, but I understand why now. I try to do all this sort of editing before moving any parts out of sync with the group, but I can see that this wouldn't always be the case.

Cheers,
Jennifer
__________________
Producer | Arranger | Composer | Bass guitar | Double bass
Website: https://www.jenclarkmusic.com/
endorka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 02:41 PM   #72
Gianfini
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 795
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokasenna View Post
It shouldn't be, unless you have the "match the first item at each position" option on and the first item was split at 44ms. Can you share a project and the script settings you're using to make it do that?
See below. The split on the forefront item happens at around 43ms, even if protect left is 80

Gianfini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 02:43 PM   #73
Gianfini
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 795
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokasenna View Post

I did add an option earlier today to use the first (lowest track number) item at each time position and match the others with it though.
Yes, this is what I need. To have a reference track (be it the lowest number or the currently selected track) and match the others with the movements done in reference track items

Why not using Grouping then (so the tracks to be matched are the ones gropued with the reference track)?

g
Gianfini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 04:05 PM   #74
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,551
Default

With groups, it's possible that the items aren't all at the same position (overheads being a bit later, etc) so I have to make it bypass much more of the logic. It's possible, it'll just require a pretty big rewrite.

Thanks for the .gif, I'll try to have a look tonight.
__________________
I'm no longer using Reaper or working on scripts for it. Sorry. :(
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 09:27 PM   #75
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,551
Default

I've just pushed what I think is a fix for the Protect Left issue above. I had to rewrite a big chunk of the audio code, so I really really really hope I didn't break anything else.
__________________
I'm no longer using Reaper or working on scripts for it. Sorry. :(
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2019, 11:24 PM   #76
Gianfini
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 795
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokasenna View Post
With groups, it's possible that the items aren't all at the same position (overheads being a bit later, etc) so I have to make it bypass much more of the logic. It's possible, it'll just require a pretty big rewrite.

Thanks for the .gif, I'll try to have a look tonight.
No I'll try to make my point better

Give that I have 8 tracks. They are all aligned as *I did align them and put into phase* before (except room mic that must be few ms later by construction)

Now don't worry about other tracks being one/few milliseconds later/earlier anymore

I need to process one track (where i usually combine kick+snare) and have all the others move exacly as the one i'm processing without checking transients or else anymore in the other tracks.

Just item movement/splits/stretches be replicated on all grouped tracks as per the first track

G
Gianfini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2019, 06:06 AM   #77
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,551
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gianfini View Post
No I'll try to make my point better

Give that I have 8 tracks. They are all aligned as *I did align them and put into phase* before (except room mic that must be few ms later by construction)

Now don't worry about other tracks being one/few milliseconds later/earlier anymore
I completely understand what you're suggesting.

The script was originally written to do all of that checking and processing for every single item. Making it use the first item's values isn't as simple as you think; it requires rewriting a fair amount of the code to be able to bypass the checks and error handling.

Having the items all at the same position (and length) is easy because all I have to do is tell it "split here" and the rest of the processing will come out the same as the first item.
__________________
I'm no longer using Reaper or working on scripts for it. Sorry. :(
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2019, 12:58 PM   #78
Gianfini
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 795
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokasenna View Post
I completely understand what you're suggesting.

The script was originally written to do all of that checking and processing for every single item. Making it use the first item's values isn't as simple as you think; it requires rewriting a fair amount of the code to be able to bypass the checks and error handling.

Having the items all at the same position (and length) is easy because all I have to do is tell it "split here" and the rest of the processing will come out the same as the first item.
I understand.

Just to be sure: I mean to process items on one track and have items on other tracks to follow. Not first item to bereplicated to other items in the same track.

Anyway don't worry. It is so good already and usable

Thanks
Gianfini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2019, 01:15 PM   #79
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,551
Default

There are actually two different ways it could be done:

1. Doing what the current "match the first item" behavior does, where it finds the distance from the start of the item to the split and then splits at that same distance for the other items.

i.e. If it split at 100ms into the first item, it'll split at the second item's start + 100ms.

2. Splitting all of them at the actual time the first item was split, which means that for the reverb tracks you'd actually be splitting earlier in the content.

i.e. If it split at 100ms into the first item, and your reverb tracks are 30ms late, the reverb items will be split at their start + 70ms.
__________________
I'm no longer using Reaper or working on scripts for it. Sorry. :(
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2019, 11:17 PM   #80
Gianfini
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 795
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokasenna View Post
There are actually two different ways it could be done:

1. Doing what the current "match the first item" behavior does, where it finds the distance from the start of the item to the split and then splits at that same distance for the other items.

i.e. If it split at 100ms into the first item, it'll split at the second item's start + 100ms.

2. Splitting all of them at the actual time the first item was split, which means that for the reverb tracks you'd actually be splitting earlier in the content.

i.e. If it split at 100ms into the first item, and your reverb tracks are 30ms late, the reverb items will be split at their start + 70ms.
Ok it’s manageable anyway, I prefer method 2.

Otherwise you end up with different lenght items across tracks

And then how often ones have printed materia with 30msl delay...

G
Gianfini is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.