Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for Linux

Old 02-20-2021, 09:39 AM   #1
tobinf
Human being with feelings

Default Why do I have to restart my computer to open REAPER?

I've been using REAPER on Ubuntu for a few months. It sort of works, but I have been having one fairly severe recurring issue. Basically, REAPER crashes at random times and then won't restart until I reboot. The crashes don't seem linked to any particular plugins or actions. When I try to restart REAPER after a crash, it gets stuck on "Initializing Registration Info..." If I start REAPER as root, it seems to work. Of course I have tried moving all the plugins and replacing my REAPER config with the default. Neither seems to work. Any ideas what could be happening?

More generally, are there any good ways to debug REAPER? Logs?
tobinf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2021, 11:09 AM   #2
biopsin

Try lauching REAPER in a terminal and wait for it to crash, maybe
something gets printet there.
Reason for crash that comes first to mind is between
a filesystem error or a audio driver error, so check those first.
Also test renaming ~/.config/REAPER to something and let it reinitialize a new profile folder..
Old 02-20-2021, 12:06 PM   #3
tobinf

I've tried renaming the REAPER config. Doesn't change anything. When REAPER crashes, all I get on the command line is a segfault. When I try to restart REAPER the only thing that is printed to the console is "rtconfig: front 'set' not found" which I do not think is related.
Old 02-20-2021, 12:08 PM   #4
JamesPeters

Quote:
Originally Posted by tobinf View Post
More generally, are there any good ways to debug REAPER? Logs?
I had been instructed to do this to troubleshoot Reaper when I had an issue with it (the problem at the time was an incompatible script, a dependency issue that needed resolving).

Install GDB (GNU debugger), and enter this in terminal (in the folder as the Reaper executable):

Code: