Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for Linux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2024, 10:54 AM   #1
Ad Phronesis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Finland
Posts: 22
Default Unable to render video (ffmpeg)

I'm not able to render videos (ffmpeg). Debian Stable 12, REAPER 7.12, ffmpeg and VLC installed from standard Debian repos. Playback and editing works well. REAPER tells me in prefs that it doesn't find ffmpeg. Can this be related to older similar problems, that seem to have various workarounds?
Ad Phronesis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2024, 06:45 PM   #2
atomlux
Human being with feelings
 
atomlux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2023
Posts: 424
Default

https://github.com/BtbN/FFmpeg-Build...red-4.4.tar.xz


sudo cp ffmpeg-version-path-downloaded/lib/lib*.so* /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/
atomlux is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2024, 04:48 AM   #3
Ad Phronesis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Finland
Posts: 22
Default

Thank you for your answer! As you seem to know a solution for this, could you or someone tell what is the reason for this? Is there something funky in REAPER, ffmpeg or in distro, such as in Debian Stable?
Ad Phronesis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2024, 07:39 AM   #4
atomlux
Human being with feelings
 
atomlux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2023
Posts: 424
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ad Phronesis View Post
Thank you for your answer! As you seem to know a solution for this, could you or someone tell what is the reason for this? Is there something funky in REAPER, ffmpeg or in distro, such as in Debian Stable?
I learned that solution when using Debian 12, but in Manjaro it works out of the box.
I don't know why.
My internet connection kinda sucks, that's why I tried Debian, but now I'm willing to put up with more updates anyway and use Manjaro. It has a lot of advantages.
atomlux is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2024, 03:40 AM   #5
Ad Phronesis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Finland
Posts: 22
Default

Thanks. Such version 4.4 does not exist for download. Tested this with available versions 5.1, 6.1 and 7.0, none of them work. So is this a problem with Debian installing these library files into unexpected location for REAPER to find? Because I have ffmpeg version 5.1.4-0+deb12u1 installed from repo. So could it be just a matter of defining correct location to REAPER:
"ffmpeg/libav search path:
$PATH"
Ad Phronesis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2024, 03:53 AM   #6
atomlux
Human being with feelings
 
atomlux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2023
Posts: 424
Default

I picked up the link from a thread that has Justin answering.
He uses Ubuntu.
I don't know what to say, I never tell people to change distro lol
atomlux is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2024, 04:04 AM   #7
Ad Phronesis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Finland
Posts: 22
Default

Yeah, his seems to be related to this, even in the bug report section:

https://forums.cockos.com/showthread.php?p=2714408

Tried all that library defining thing also in commandline, but no luck as I can't find that specific 4.4 version. Very strange as this seems to be simple problem. I guess this really has something to do with updated versions of ffmpeg. Thanks all for your help!
Ad Phronesis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.