Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER General Discussion Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-20-2024, 05:40 AM   #1
dasein64
Human being with feelings
 
dasein64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 36
Default PC Specifications for Optimal Reaper Performance?

I searched the forum for a thread on this and couldn't find one. I also searched the manual. I'm in the market for a new desktop PC dedicated solely (well, largely) to Reaper in my new music room. I'm looking for specs that aren't overkill and expensive, but also not minimal/basic. For example, I'm plug-in and VST crazy and think that 32 M RAM is a nice safeguard in that department.

Can someone direct me to a thread, a page in the manual, a Kenny Gioia video, or respond here? It would be great if there was a sticky thread somewhere that gets updated occassionally as hardware evolves.
dasein64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2024, 06:16 AM   #2
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,919
Default

If you get a mother board with four slots and fill two of them to make 32 gigs you can always upgrade to 64 if you need to. I'm running a 7950X with 64 gigs and 4TB SSDs. It's probably overkill but should last 10 years. It's important to have a good low latency audio interface. I use an old RME 9652 with an adapter board for the PCI slot but they probably have some USB-C that are a low latencies out now that will make it much easier.

I'll also add I freeze all tracks always for speed.

Last edited by Coachz; 05-20-2024 at 07:25 AM.
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2024, 07:21 AM   #3
calsax
Human being with feelings
 
calsax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Oceanside,CA
Posts: 135
Default

Up until I set up my current system in between Christmas and New Years, I ran on a Win7 Toshiba laptop with a dual-core i5, 8GB RAM, 750GB spinning drive and an old M-Audio interface. It worked great, but my antique eyes were having a real problem with the screen size, so I put together an overkill system of my own. I spent about a grand all-in, and feel like I'm good for the next 5-10 years. I highly recommend checking out all options. I really like my Chinese mini-box. It's tiny, quiet, and works great.
__________________
Ryzen 7 7735HS, 32GB DDR5, 1TB NVMe, 2TB SATA SSD, Presonus Audiobox USB 96, Nektar Impact GXP61, Akai MPK mini MKII, BGW 150, JBL Control 5
calsax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2024, 09:09 AM   #4
Dr Bob
Human being with feelings
 
Dr Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 2,160
Default

The main takeways these days are ...

1. Use the fastest cpu core speed.

2. Lots of cores, but not at the expense of 1 above.

3. SSD's for everything. Ideally one for the O/S and programs, another for data (e.g. projects, audio and samples).

4. Decent amount of memory (make sure you can add more if you need it)

5. Spinning disks for backups.

6. Reasonable graphics card (but you don't need a stupid expensive one if you are not a "gamer")

Everything works much better if you buy a quality audio interface with low latency. Depends how much audio I/O you need.

A decent case if it's a tower box, might benefit from good cooling as well.

Make sure it actually has the connectivity for your external devices as well. e.g. Some laptops only have 1 USB slot!

Not an exhaustive list, but you can't go wrong with the more modern cpu's and correct memory and SSD's.

Was harder 10-15 years ago - then the Mac was the choice of something that worked well for audio. A good PC setup needed more careful selection of items and configuration.

HTH

dB
Dr Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2024, 09:14 AM   #5
vsthem
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 695
Default

Yeah, if you generally follow the advice here, I don't think you'll run into problems. Reaper runs really efficiently on any hardware.

The biggest upgrade to my studio was not when I built a new computer, but when I got an RME UFX interface. I'm able to run at everything at a lower latency now.
vsthem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2024, 09:29 AM   #6
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,919
Default

Also I'm using the GPU that's built into the 7950X and it works great for me so I didn't have to buy a graphics card
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2024, 05:42 AM   #7
Lunar Ladder
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 900
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vsthem View Post
The biggest upgrade to my studio was not when I built a new computer, but when I got an RME UFX interface. I'm able to run at everything at a lower latency now.
The effect the audio interface makes is often downplayed or even forgotten, yes. This makes a really big difference.
Lunar Ladder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2024, 09:35 AM   #8
ScuzzyEye
Human being with feelings
 
ScuzzyEye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 628
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Bob View Post
4. Decent amount of memory (make sure you can add more if you need it)
I agree with everything said here, but there is one caveat to leaving memory slots open. You should check to see how many channels the CPU will address. Most current CPUs are quad-channel. Meaning they will address 4 memory modules at once. If you have lower than a multiple of 4 modules installed, you're not hitting the maximum memory bandwidth available.

Since many motherboards only have 4 memory slots that means fully populating the board for max performance. Also even if you do have 8 (or 16) slots, having more than 4 installed sometimes will decrease the maximum access speed. So again, you're best off with exactly 4 installed.

If you have a reasonably designed system (i.e. not something silly like RAM soldered to the board), the memory is removable. So you might have to remove what you have to upgrade, but you can still upgrade pretty easily.
ScuzzyEye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2024, 09:48 AM   #9
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 12,859
Default

Unless you have some special extra processing heavy VST instrument or synth plugin - and there are a few out there - and building a full orchestra of them, just about any machine from 2010 forward.

Try to avoid the planned obsolescence and software spoofing gone wild!
Soldered in hard drives. Hidden whitelists for "approved devices". Subscription scams (redundant) that leave you owning nothing. (All post-Jobs Apple examples.) Buying a computer with a pre installed OS but not giving you the license key. (This one's a Windows based scam.)

I started running live sound with Reaper with simultaneous recording all 36 inputs to multitrack with a early 2008 4th gen Macbook Pro. My 2009 Mac Pro is still overpowered for everything I do.
serr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2024, 04:21 PM   #10
TLSLayer
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Posts: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by calsax View Post
Up until I set up my current system in between Christmas and New Years, I ran on a Win7 Toshiba laptop with a dual-core i5, 8GB RAM, 750GB spinning drive and an old M-Audio interface. It worked great, but my antique eyes were having a real problem with the screen size, so I put together an overkill system of my own. I spent about a grand all-in, and feel like I'm good for the next 5-10 years. I highly recommend checking out all options. I really like my Chinese mini-box. It's tiny, quiet, and works great.
"Ryzen 7 7735HS, 32GB DDR5, 1TB NVMe, 2TB SATA SSD, Presonus Audiobox USB 96, Nektar Impact GXP61, Akai MPK mini MKII, BGW 150, JBL Control 5 "
-I'll try this again: Are these what you have in your computer, and do impulse responses work right on your Reaper?
TLSLayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2024, 08:10 AM   #11
calsax
Human being with feelings
 
calsax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Oceanside,CA
Posts: 135
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TLSLayer View Post
"Ryzen 7 7735HS, 32GB DDR5, 1TB NVMe, 2TB SATA SSD, Presonus Audiobox USB 96, Nektar Impact GXP61, Akai MPK mini MKII, BGW 150, JBL Control 5 "
-I'll try this again: Are these what you have in your computer, and do impulse responses work right on your Reaper?
That is the description of my system. The computer is a PELADN HA-4, with the listed cpu, ram, and internal storage. The PreSonus Audiobox is an external audio/midi interface. The Nektar and Akai are midi controllers. The BGW and JBL are my power amp and speakers. I use impulse response files with ReaVerb on most projects, and they work without issue for me and this system.
__________________
Ryzen 7 7735HS, 32GB DDR5, 1TB NVMe, 2TB SATA SSD, Presonus Audiobox USB 96, Nektar Impact GXP61, Akai MPK mini MKII, BGW 150, JBL Control 5
calsax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2024, 06:22 PM   #12
AudioBabble
Human being with feelings
 
AudioBabble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: Jupiter Island
Posts: 1,199
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by calsax View Post
That is the description of my system. The computer is a PELADN HA-4, with the listed cpu, ram, and internal storage. The PreSonus Audiobox is an external audio/midi interface. The Nektar and Akai are midi controllers. The BGW and JBL are my power amp and speakers. I use impulse response files with ReaVerb on most projects, and they work without issue for me and this system.
Just to be Rodger Irrelevant for a moment... JBL Control 5 are great speakers I have the SB5 sub as well. Nice.
__________________
{Read This} | {FR - FX inserts on sends} | {latest drivel}
AudioBabble is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2024, 08:37 PM   #13
TLSLayer
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Posts: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by calsax View Post
That is the description of my system. The computer is a PELADN HA-4, with the listed cpu, ram, and internal storage. The PreSonus Audiobox is an external audio/midi interface. The Nektar and Akai are midi controllers. The BGW and JBL are my power amp and speakers. I use impulse response files with ReaVerb on most projects, and they work without issue for me and this system.
What specifically do I need for Reaper plugins and the impulse responses? Do I need a particular CPU or sound card?
TLSLayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2024, 12:20 AM   #14
jazznfunk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Riga Latvia
Posts: 197
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coachz View Post
I use an old RME 9652 with an adapter board for the PCI
Coachz, can i ask for what riser/adapter board You are using for RME 9652?

Back to topic. I'm quite happy with 16GB RAM, 12/24 core Ryzen 9 CPU and M2/SSD's for Reaper. 200+ 5.1 tracks with lots (900+ in project toal) of Repaer FX's (mostly) and automations is playing quite good. Render is slow, but reasonable. I'm not a gamer, but have bold graphics card, who feed one 4k and one FullHD screens easy.
jazznfunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2024, 12:38 PM   #15
StefanMax
Human being with feelings
 
StefanMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Alicante, Spain
Posts: 230
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dasein64 View Post
I'm looking for specs that aren't overkill and expensive, but also not minimal/basic.
It doesn't get more precise and comprehensive than what you'll find in these three articles:

https://devblogs.microsoft.com/windo...-guide-part-1/

Good luck!
__________________
---------------------------
no sig
StefanMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.