Old 08-10-2006, 01:15 AM   #1
hexfix93
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 14
Default Please read these midi thread.

http://gearslutz.com/board/showthread.php?t=79431

http://gearslutz.com/board/showthread.php?t=43748

http://gearslutz.com/board/showthread.php?t=56904

WE are tired of daws that don't sync with external hardware. no pc software so far is tight at all.

please read that thread. and please see if you can remedy this problem in reaper...

Last edited by hexfix93; 08-10-2006 at 01:23 AM.
hexfix93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2006, 01:31 AM   #2
olzzon
Human being with feelings
 
olzzon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Europe
Posts: 706
Default

That is not completely true.

Yes, some daws, have problems with sync between Midi and Audio. But so do ALL, read ALL, external hardware when it has to sync audio and midi.

For me that thread is more about a guy that, tries to do things in a pre-determined way, and not in the way that works when you have external hardware and a DAW.
I just think he need to change his workflow a little.

And then he uses the most untight Audio-midi DAW on the planet
Not that i dislike Cubase, but this is not one of itīs strengh.
Itīs tight doing only midi, or only audio
__________________
Light travels faster than sound. Thatīs why some people appear bright until you hear them speak
Kasper Olsson Hans
olzzon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2006, 03:40 AM   #3
malcolmj
Human being with feelings
 
malcolmj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,669
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by olzzon
Yes, some daws, have problems with sync between Midi and Audio. But so do ALL, read ALL, external hardware when it has to sync audio and midi.
If you're syncing to MIDI clock maybe, but I've used several sequencers that synced well to DAW's (and to tape decks) because the reference was SMPTE. SMPTE has a much higher resolution than MIDI clock. I look forward to the day when REAPER can sync to SMTPE.

Most of the comments in those threads are about syncing using MIDI clock.
malcolmj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2006, 09:04 PM   #4
hexfix93
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 14
Default

I'm not talking about sync, saw studio says it locks its timing to the audio clock so its sample accurate. I want reaper to do the same, i want no midi drift, no jitter, no slop. and options like the mpc. that would rule.
hexfix93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2006, 10:34 PM   #5
malcolmj
Human being with feelings
 
malcolmj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,669
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hexfix93
I'm not talking about sync, saw studio says it locks its timing to the audio clock so its sample accurate. I want reaper to do the same, i want no midi drift, no jitter, no slop. and options like the mpc. that would rule.
How, exactly, do you measure MIDI drift or jitter?
malcolmj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2006, 10:39 PM   #6
olzzon
Human being with feelings
 
olzzon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Europe
Posts: 706
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hexfix93
I'm not talking about sync, saw studio says it locks its timing to the audio clock so its sample accurate. I want reaper to do the same, i want no midi drift, no jitter, no slop. and options like the mpc. that would rule.
Yes what SAW sends out is.
BUT. midi is slow and old, and a serial protocol, so donīt expect wonders
__________________
Light travels faster than sound. Thatīs why some people appear bright until you hear them speak
Kasper Olsson Hans
olzzon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2006, 12:01 AM   #7
hexfix93
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by malcolmj
How, exactly, do you measure MIDI drift or jitter?
by doing a record loop. over a long period of time. there is this site:

http://www.evc-soft.nl/evc/products/miditest/#sysex

tests midi and jitter etc...

as far as to not expect wonders, well the mpc and the atari st had super tight midi, much better than any mac or pc, even with their amt8s and midexes...

and that is what i am getting at here... saw locks t he midi with no jitter. so. i bet reaper could do the same...
hexfix93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.