Old 06-26-2019, 12:12 PM   #1
AtmanActive
Human being with feelings
 
AtmanActive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Malta
Posts: 311
Default [SOLVED] Select first level children of a folder track

Hello fantastic Reaper community. The best forum community in the world.

I was wondering if there is a script to automatically select first-level children of an already selected folder track.

SWS has a similar function but that one selects all children, even children's children which I don't want.

Any advice would be appreciated.

If nothing is available I'll just code it myself.

Thanks.

Cheers!

Last edited by AtmanActive; 06-28-2019 at 02:05 AM.
AtmanActive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2019, 04:45 PM   #2
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 4,909
Default

A custom action like this:

SWS: Select only children of selected folders
Xenakios/SWS: Select first of selected tracks

---
edit: Heda has the correct custom action below.

Last edited by xpander; 06-28-2019 at 03:06 AM.
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2019, 01:32 AM   #3
AtmanActive
Human being with feelings
 
AtmanActive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Malta
Posts: 311
Default

Xpander, thank you for your reply.

Unfortunately, this doesn't yield the desired result. It does exactly what it says on the tin: "Select first of selected tracks" so I end up with selection of only one track.

My goal is to select a folder/bus, hit an action and get all children tracks selected, but not their children as well. If I want to reduce volume of all tracks on a bus, by having children's children selected as well, I would mess up the internal relations between instruments and their parent sub-bus-es or processor tracks.

For example, let's imagine that one of the master bus' children is a bass track. But that bass track is not a single/simple track but a bus itself having several MIDI instruments and all being glued nicely with some processors on this bus. Lowering volume for all the tracks in the mix, including those instruments would make the sound of the bass instrument different, simply because bass bus' processors are now working with different input gain.
Hence, I need a way to lower the volume of all main tracks in a mix, but not their sub-buses as well.
AtmanActive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2019, 01:47 AM   #4
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,470
Default

What about this custom action:

- SWS: Select only children of selected track
- SWS: Unselect children of selected folder track(s)


I suggest you to use VCA to control volumes of children. The disadvantage is that you have to remember to assign VCA slave to the children tracks... which gives me an idea to make children tracks auto assigned to a specific vca mmmm I'll be back
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2019, 02:05 AM   #5
AtmanActive
Human being with feelings
 
AtmanActive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Malta
Posts: 311
Default

Oh yes!

That's it.

Thanks heda.
AtmanActive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2019, 03:04 AM   #6
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 4,909
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heda View Post
What about this custom action:

- SWS: Select only children of selected track
- SWS: Unselect children of selected folder track(s)
Ah, that's it, thanks heda. Silly me, didn't think of there possibly being more than one top level child track...
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.