Old 02-05-2007, 08:54 PM   #1
mr. moon
Human being with feelings
 
mr. moon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,552
Default Waves SSL 4000 VSTs: no go?

I have tried posting this in a couple of other ongoing threads, but I'll now try to post it as it's own topic to see if I hear from anyone.

Reaper will not "see" my Waves SSL 4000 VSTs as VST effects. The only way I can get them to work at all in Reaper is by installing the Cakewalk VST adapter from my SONAR 5 installation DVD and running it configured to access my systems VST directory where the Waves plugs were installed. Only then will Reaper gain access to them, and not as VST effects (i.e. "VST:XXX") but as DX-wrapped VST effects (i.e. "DX: VST XXX"). Once they are wrapped by the Cakewalk VST wrapper, they work perfectly in Reaper and are listed as DX effects.

...I'm hoping that other folks running the Waves SSL 4000 plugs will chime in and let me know how they are working for them in Reaper.

TIA.

-mr moon
mr. moon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 04:42 AM   #2
Ben Zero
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: London, England
Posts: 678
Default

They work fine here - I'm running the native DirectX versions. Try that

B
Ben Zero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 07:01 AM   #3
mr. moon
Human being with feelings
 
mr. moon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,552
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Zero View Post
They work fine here - I'm running the native DirectX versions. Try that

B
Yeah, the DirectX versions work, however I'm wondering why the VST versions won't work in Reaper.

-mr moon
mr. moon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 07:05 AM   #4
Arclight
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oregon
Posts: 21
Default

I have the same problem with the Waves SSL 4000 plugins. Can't see the VSTs in Reaper.

Roger
Arclight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 07:55 AM   #5
mr. moon
Human being with feelings
 
mr. moon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,552
Default

Actually now that I look at it, only the stereo version are available in the DirectX versions, only the VSTs have the mono versions available. Does anyone else experience this same thing?

-mr moon
mr. moon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 10:28 AM   #6
Arclight
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oregon
Posts: 21
Default

Bump... Exact same thing here.

Roger
Arclight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 03:27 PM   #7
Bevoss
Human being with feelings
 
Bevoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 666
Default

Yeah, same here, seems to work fine in DX though.
Bevoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 05:24 PM   #8
mr. moon
Human being with feelings
 
mr. moon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,552
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bevoss View Post
Yeah, same here, seems to work fine in DX though.
Do you get the mono version of them in DX format?

Only the stereo version "DX: Waves XXX stereo" is available to me in DX format, unless I run the VST wrapper; then I get a "VST: DX Waves XXX mono" option

-mr moon
mr. moon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 07:26 PM   #9
Bevoss
Human being with feelings
 
Bevoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 666
Default

Yeah, seems to be stereo option only...does that use more cpu? What's the drawback...?

Thanks for making me look...I didn't realise SSLEQ was in DX too, now I can use it again!

edit: sorry, I thought you meant Waves diamond bundle! idiot.....
Bevoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 07:54 PM   #10
mr. moon
Human being with feelings
 
mr. moon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,552
Default

[QUOTE=Bevoss;46051]Yeah, seems to be stereo option only...does that use more cpu? What's the drawback...?
/QUOTE]

The drawback is that on some individual (mono) instrument tracks (i.e. bass guitar) I have found the mono version to be more accurate and realistic sounding than the stereo version; they also seem to create a sound that allows the instrument to be more successfully placed into a mix correctly ...however, YMMV.

-mr moon
mr. moon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 08:55 PM   #11
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,490
Default

There's an app around that converts a waveshell DLL into a DLL for each VST.. REAPER seems to do better with it...
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2007, 06:35 AM   #12
mr. moon
Human being with feelings
 
mr. moon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,552
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
There's an app around that converts a waveshell DLL into a DLL for each VST.. REAPER seems to do better with it...
I tried that months ago, and it worked ...once. Then after that, the plugs wouldn't work properly. I think another forum user reported the same thing happening too.

-mr moon
mr. moon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2007, 03:28 PM   #13
Trogdor
Human being with feelings
 
Trogdor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Niagara
Posts: 43
Default

I have the same thing, I have only the Direct X ones and they are in stereo as well.
Trogdor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 11:49 AM   #14
mr. moon
Human being with feelings
 
mr. moon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,552
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
There's an app around that converts a waveshell DLL into a DLL for each VST.. REAPER seems to do better with it...
Hey Justin, so are you saying that if I want to use the mono Waves SSl plugs in Reaper, I should probably hang onto the Cakewalk VST wrapper?



-mr moon
mr. moon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2007, 01:06 AM   #15
Casualty
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 92
Default

Same problem here

The mono versions should show up as DX plugs as well - they show up as DX plug ins in both stereo and mono versions in Vegas and Sound Forge at least....
Casualty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2007, 08:42 AM   #16
Arclight
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oregon
Posts: 21
Default

I tried the shell2vst utility that Justin mentioned and it seems to work fine in Reaper as I'm able to see the Waves VSTs now. The only ones I don't see are the SSL 4000s even though the shell2vst app created the individual VSTs for them.

Roger
Arclight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 12:53 PM   #17
mr. moon
Human being with feelings
 
mr. moon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,552
Default

Update:

Under Vista, the cakewalk vst wrapper no longer allows the mono versions of the DX (or VST) waves SSL plugs to run in Reaper.

Is this Waves SSL 4000 issue something that will be addressed down the road, or should I not expect to use them with Reaper? ...Which really would suck because I love using the mono versions on instrument tracks, while the stereo versions (which work fine in Reaper under Vista) are best used on stems, or what you would call "folders" (I think).

-mr moon
mr. moon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 02:27 PM   #18
mr. moon
Human being with feelings
 
mr. moon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,552
Default

OK, we're getting closer, I guess.

In 1.806 I could not access the Mono SSL plugs at all, and any project that had them included would give me an error message when opened.

In 1.807 I do not receive the error messages when opening projects with the mono plugs included, however I cannot add the mono plugs in a new project unless I save the mono version from a pre-existing projects as an FX chain, and then add it in that way. They still show up as "DX: VST SSL..." plugs in te fx chain, as the cakewalk vst wrapper has to be used for the system to access the mono versions whatsoever. There is still no way for me to access the VST mono versions without the vst wrapper.

-mr moon
mr. moon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 05:56 PM   #19
likenokevin
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 199
Default

I'm trying to use VB Audio FFX4 wrapper and from within the FFX4 UI I can see the mono SSL plugs but when I try to load it it says...

"INPUT PIN does not accept Format"

The stereo ones load fine within the FFX4.

Does the above error mean anything to you, Justin?
likenokevin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2007, 10:14 PM   #20
mr. moon
Human being with feelings
 
mr. moon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,552
Default Waves SSL Mono workaround!!

Hey, I think I found a "kludge" fix to get the mono plugs to work on mono tracks that are hard panned to the right side, which they would not do because the Waves mono plugins appear to only "read" and "effect" the only left channel the signal that passes through it. Meaning that any mono signal that passes through them will be effected if it is panned to the middle or hard-left, but not at all if hard-panned to the right.

All you need to do is drop an instance of the "JS: Utility/chanmix2" after the Waves Mono plugin of your choice, use my little preset (see below), and you're good to go. It will then take your effected right-side aligned mono track signal (i.e. right side overhead) and pass it on to the right side. It will work if you have the track you want to be hard-panned to the right panned anywhere from center to hard-right. However, this probably depends on the panning law used in the project, but there are people with bigger brains around here who could confirm this...



To use my template, you'll have to import it into your "JS: Utility/chanmix2" and then apply it as a preset.

-mr moon
Attached Files
File Type: rpl MoonRSWavesEnabler.RPL (221 Bytes, 232 views)

Last edited by mr. moon; 03-13-2007 at 08:00 AM. Reason: terminology edit
mr. moon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2007, 02:42 PM   #21
olzzon
Human being with feelings
 
olzzon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Europe
Posts: 706
Default

Have you guys mailed Waves about these issues?
I think it´s good to tell them that some of their customers are using Reaper, so that it over time will be on their supported list.
__________________
Light travels faster than sound. That´s why some people appear bright until you hear them speak
Kasper Olsson Hans
olzzon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 10:47 AM   #22
tedw@rigo
Human being with feelings
 
tedw@rigo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 51
Default Nice ideas...

Nice ideas... it's OK for me now...
Reaper is new for me and i love it !!!
tedw@rigo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.