Old 11-19-2020, 06:11 PM   #1
Malfunction
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 41
Default Advanced MIDI routing question

I wish to route a preview note trough an jsfx on another track and then run i trough the fx chain.



I enabled feedback routing in the project settings.

I use midibus 16 on target track to isolate the jsfx.

And I have successfully routed to the jsfx of the other track.
The jsfx is altering the midinote ,and I wish to route it back to the original fx chain.

But I dont here the altered note, I hear the unaltered note. That means the note fails to enter the fx-chain in bus 1.

Can a midi note only run through an fxchain once?
Is it possible for an fxchain to block the note, tell it to "hit the shower" first?
Malfunction is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2020, 08:05 PM   #2
domzy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3,017
Default

i'm not sure i follow, are you saying you want some MIDI to route through plugins on two separate tracks - ie originating on track 1 but going through track 2's plugin first before returning to go through the plugin on track 1?
domzy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2020, 08:20 PM   #3
Malfunction
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by domzy View Post
i'm not sure i follow, are you saying you want some MIDI to route through plugins on two separate tracks - ie originating on track 1 but going through track 2's plugin first before returning to go through the plugin on track 1?
That is correct.
Malfunction is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2020, 08:30 PM   #4
domzy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3,017
Default

ok, then i guess the obvious question is why do they need to be on separate tracks or if this isn't viable, then why can't you originate the MIDI from track 2 & avoid the loop?
sorry, still trying to get my head round what's going on.
domzy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2020, 08:55 PM   #5
Malfunction
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by domzy View Post
ok, then i guess the obvious question is why do they need to be on separate tracks or if this isn't viable, then why can't you originate the MIDI from track 2 & avoid the loop?
sorry, still trying to get my head round what's going on.
Im working on a preset velocity script. A script that change the velocity of a midi note as it is being inserted. The velocity setting is on a jsfx that is located on another track. The script itself works globally on all track. The problem I have now is the preview note. It should have the same velocity.

Possible solutions are
1) replacing the preview note completely - use midisend on the jsfx.
(A global memory message has to be sent from the script to the jsfx, and has to
be detected on the fly.)
2) replacing the preview note completely - use stuffmidimessage
3) or route the preview note to the jsfx that is on another track, and get it back ,and then send it through the fx chain.



1st and 2nd might be slow.
3rd option may be the fastest.
Malfunction is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2020, 10:56 PM   #6
Malfunction
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 41
Default

I'll figure out something. Thanks for the reply
Malfunction is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2020, 05:59 AM   #7
domzy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3,017
Default

Yeah, you've lost me. Sorry.
domzy is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.