Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Old 06-04-2018, 10:21 AM   #1
conflict
Human being with feelings

Default Reaper distorting after a few mins use

I have been using reaper for a few months now, it is great and love it .
I have been sending files between myself and another band member for our album pre production...

Since a few weeks back, we are now both experiencing distorted tracks and it gets worse and worse.
Yet when you render or play back ... nothing wrong...

I was going to upgrade to the full version this week as was the other member ..
Any ideas what the hell this could be ???

Thanks so so much .
conflict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2018, 10:32 AM   #2
solger

- Windows or macOS?
- Which audio interface? (Or are you still using the RME Babyface in this case)?
- What are your current settings under Preferences > Audio > Device?
- and so on ...

Quote:
Yet when you render or play back ... nothing wrong...
When does the distortion occur then, exactly? And in which way?
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2018, 11:00 AM   #3
conflict

Mac OS X sierras

Other person windows 10

Scarlet 6i6 audio interface via usb audio device settings are to the interface

The whole track gets distorted after a few mins on both of our systems and we have to turn off then re load every 2 mins
Old 06-04-2018, 11:23 AM   #4
solger

In general, I'd recommend to re-check the audio device settings (sample rate, buffer size), first.
And also to go through some DAW optimization tips, in addition (to rule out that something else might be causing issues):

macOS:Windows:
Just in case, also make sure that there aren't any demo plugins used in the project which might be causing issues (or generate noise when the demo time limit is over).

If this doesn't solve the problem, try reinstalling the audio interface drivers. Or check the manufacturer page if any newer (or beta) drivers are available.
Old 06-04-2018, 12:00 PM   #5
conflict