Old 09-10-2017, 05:29 PM   #1
jzucker
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 148
Default Start/Stop recording via footswitch

I'm not interested in hacking a game controller or building my own. I would just like to purchase a commercial midi or usb footswitch.

Is there a straight-forward way to do this? Something like this?

Something like this?

https://www.amazon.com/Logidy-UMI3-M...idi+footswitch

In my case, i'm not using it to punch in so millisecond response time is not important though I would grow to use it if I had it. Alternatively, if I could somehow trigger the record start with my mobile device...Obviously, the mobile device response would be extremely slow but that's not an issue in my case.
jzucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2017, 05:49 PM   #2
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 1,369
Default

Yes: every REAPER action can be assigned to any incoming MIDI event.

You can also do so with your mobile device using REAPER's relatively new web interface feature.
cfillion is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2017, 06:36 PM   #3
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19,308
Default

The Lodigy is fine, I have one.
__________________
Your whole life people will tell you what you can't do. Getting past them is the first step to actually getting things done.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2017, 06:37 PM   #4
jzucker
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 148
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
The Lodigy is fine, I have one.
is there a FAQ for setting it up?
jzucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2017, 06:48 PM   #5
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19,308
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jzucker View Post
is there a FAQ for setting it up?
There is a user's manual...

http://logidy.com/?pid=5

It's pretty easily to use in Reaper actually. There is an app with it to set up the channels/CCs you want to use etc.
__________________
Your whole life people will tell you what you can't do. Getting past them is the first step to actually getting things done.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2017, 07:01 PM   #6
jzucker
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 148
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
There is a user's manual...

http://logidy.com/?pid=5

It's pretty easily to use in Reaper actually. There is an app with it to set up the channels/CCs you want to use etc.
i'm talking about configuring it to start/stop recording in reaper. Not a manual of the device itself, lol.
jzucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.