Old 10-15-2019, 08:40 AM   #1
timothys_monster
Human being with feelings
 
timothys_monster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 841
Default Preventing Alt key from menu bar focus

Hey there,

to make the use of Pro Tools and REAPER at the same time easier, I changed some shortcuts in REAPER to match the PT workflow.

Especially with daily tasks like scrolling and zooming my brain would just go nuts otherwise.

Now, I am on Windows 7 and since I use Alt + Mousewheel for zooming in REAPER it always focuses the menu bar when pressing Alt. So If I zoom and then want to press space bar for playback it instead opens up a pop-up menu at the top left, which is super annoying.

I installed AutoHotKey and followed the instruction in this thread but without success. I doesn't work. Maybe because of a AHK syntax update?
timothys_monster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2019, 08:47 AM   #2
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 7,349
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timothys_monster View Post
Hey there,

to make the use of Pro Tools and REAPER at the same time easier, I changed some shortcuts in REAPER to match the PT workflow.

Especially with daily tasks like scrolling and zooming my brain would just go nuts otherwise.

Now, I am on Windows 7 and since I use Alt + Mousewheel for zooming in REAPER it always focuses the menu bar when pressing Alt. So If I zoom and then want to press space bar for playback it instead opens up a pop-up menu at the top left, which is super annoying.

I installed AutoHotKey and followed the instruction in this thread but without success. I doesn't work. Maybe because of a AHK syntax update?
Preferences > General > Keyboard > Prevent the ALT key from focusing main menu
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2019, 09:03 AM   #3
timothys_monster
Human being with feelings
 
timothys_monster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 841
Default

Thank you, kind Sir!

I could have sworn I looked up the keyboard prefs before even considering an external script. Anyways... Thanks for clearing it up!
timothys_monster is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.