Old 10-01-2019, 06:23 AM   #41
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,865
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xenakios View Post
Regarding the "simple extension" plugin doing nothing, which code are you specifically talking about? If it's the code I posted, you should see a message on the Reaper console
Yep the file name was inappropriate.

I finally renamed the dll to reaper_re_test.dll.

But how do I see the " Reaper console" ?

I found actions to open the debug console -> same is empty and never occurs when starting Reaper.
and to open "ReaConsole" -> allows for inputting some command.

-Michael

Last edited by mschnell; 10-01-2019 at 06:28 AM.
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2019, 10:30 PM   #42
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,865
Default

Any answer to how do I see the " Reaper console" ?

Thanks,

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2019, 02:28 AM   #43
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 2,768
Default

It opens by itself when ShowConsoleMsg is called.
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2019, 02:21 PM   #44
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,865
Default

Supposedly this is what the "simple extension" does. So obviously I did not yet correctly install it.

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2019, 03:03 PM   #45
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 2,768
Default

Perhaps a 32-bit vs 64-bit mismatch between the dll and REAPER?
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2019, 06:08 AM   #46
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,865
Default

I verified that it's compiled for 64 Bit (and that Reaper is "Reaper (x64)".

I re-compiled as "Release", instead of Debug.

I moved the file as "reaper_re_test.dll" in the same directory ( c:\Users\mschnell\AppData\Roaming\REAPER\UserPlugi ns ) as Reapeck resided (as reaper_reapack64.dll ).

But I don't see anything .

Thanks for any further tips,

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2019, 06:36 AM   #47
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 2,768
Default

You mentioned before this was a "minimal extension", but is it my barebone extension example, Xenakios's one or something else? Can you share the problematic DLL and source code?
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2019, 06:56 AM   #48
Xenakios
Human being with feelings
 
Xenakios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 7,913
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post

But I don't see anything .
The extension may be failing when it loads the API functions, in that case it just returns failure to Reaper before it even gets to showing the message. edit : Well, actually if it's the super simple code I posted, that doesn't even check the function is properly loaded, but Reaper would just crash if that failed. So apparently Reaper isn't even attempting to load the .dll for some reason.
__________________
For info on SWS Reaper extension plugin (including Xenakios' previous extension/actions) :
http://www.sws-extension.org/
https://github.com/Jeff0S/sws
--
Xenakios blog (about HourGlass, Paul(X)Stretch and λ) :
http://xenakios.wordpress.com/

Last edited by Xenakios; 10-08-2019 at 07:02 AM.
Xenakios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2019, 06:58 AM   #49
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,865
Default

Seemingly even something else.

I compiled all three and the dlls I get are identical with only differences in two or three bytes.

I doubt that the code in main.-cpp is compiled in to the dll at all but I just get some kind of "dll frame"

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2019, 07:03 AM   #50
Xenakios
Human being with feelings
 
Xenakios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 7,913
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
I doubt that the code in main.-cpp is compiled in to the dll at all but I just get some kind of "dll frame"
Well, it isn't compiled into the dll if you haven't added the file into your VS project...(Or if you somehow managed to exclude the file from the build. The file name will have a white and red "-" sign with it in that case.)
__________________
For info on SWS Reaper extension plugin (including Xenakios' previous extension/actions) :
http://www.sws-extension.org/
https://github.com/Jeff0S/sws
--
Xenakios blog (about HourGlass, Paul(X)Stretch and λ) :
http://xenakios.wordpress.com/

Last edited by Xenakios; 10-08-2019 at 07:08 AM.
Xenakios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2019, 07:03 AM   #51
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,865
Default

OK. I tested this by writing some ninsend in main.cpp and I don't even get an error message

There is a file "dllmain.cpp in this project that seems to get compiled. But where to place this code I was provided in the forum ?

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2019, 07:05 AM   #52
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 2,768
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
I compiled all three and the dlls I get are identical with only differences in two or three bytes.
Then the compiler built the same source code, not three different ones (the few different bytes are likely the timestamp or some other ID).

Try building my example using the command line provided at the top and Xenakios's one using the provided .bat file.
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2019, 07:13 AM   #53
Xenakios
Human being with feelings
 
Xenakios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 7,913
Default

The dll project Visual Studio generates by default kind of sucks. I usually remove all the files it generates, add my own manually, and turn off using the precompiled headers thing. (If that is on, it requires some of the autogenerated files to be in the project.)
__________________
For info on SWS Reaper extension plugin (including Xenakios' previous extension/actions) :
http://www.sws-extension.org/
https://github.com/Jeff0S/sws
--
Xenakios blog (about HourGlass, Paul(X)Stretch and λ) :
http://xenakios.wordpress.com/
Xenakios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2019, 07:31 AM   #54
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,865
Default

I see.

For the moment I added main.cpp to the project and I could compile the original test code (after enabling "atoi" by adding "#include <stdlib.h>"m, and I got a much bigger DLL file (but no change when trying it).


I'll retry this but not much hope....

[edit]

Of course after removing the files from the project and just adding the main.cpp file with the suggested code, Studio does not compile the project but sais:

Severity Code Description Project File Line Suppression State
Error C1083 Cannot open precompiled header file: 'x64\Debug\Dll1.pch': No such file or directory Dll1 C:\Users\mschnell\source\repos\Dll1\main.cpp 1

(In fact i have no idea what "precompiled header file" means.)

-Michael

Last edited by mschnell; 10-08-2019 at 07:37 AM.
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.