Old 07-03-2017, 11:33 AM   #1
-enrico-
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 3
Default Send Midi Clock messages to Reaper

Dear community,
My aim is to send a midi clock message from an external device in order to change the BPM of Reaper.

I am developing a device sending Midi clock bytes, 24 times per quarter note.

for the sake of clarity, I send series of "0xF8" command byte, according to the midi protocol but Reaper seems not to detect those messages while other software does. (other messages sent from my device, like note on or control messages are correctly processed by Reaper).

I want simply send midi clock messages, not MTC or SPP, because I don't need the playback function.

Is it possible to change the BPM of Reaper in this way?

many thanks

Last edited by -enrico-; 07-03-2017 at 01:14 PM.
-enrico- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2017, 01:17 PM   #2
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,160
Default

If you want to slave Reaper to external tempo, you gotta use what's available there for external sync. Which is either MTC or SPP...
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2017, 01:30 PM   #3
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,681
Default

REAPER can't sync to tempo from MIDI clock, as there are many places that require it to be able to predict the tempo during playback. You can set the tempo via OSC or by various actions, and you can synchronize playback start via MIDI SPP/clock or by LTC/MTC.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2017, 04:23 AM   #4
-enrico-
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 3
Default CC to actions

Tank you for your quick answer.
I am new to Reaper and I didn't know about "Actions" to set the tempo in Reaper from midi controls.
I found my solution:

- go to Actions, select one of the "Set tempo ..." options
- click on the "Add..." button
- move your controller to make Reaper learn the control and the channel

whenever I want to change the tempo I only need to send a midi CC message instead of trains of 0xF8 bytes!
-enrico- is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.