Old 10-21-2009, 05:56 PM   #1
03lespaul
Human being with feelings
 
03lespaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 71
Default What program do you use for screen shots?

Just wondering what program(s) you guys use to upload pictures from your screen.
03lespaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 05:58 PM   #2
Quasar
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 572
Default

I use Corel's Paint Shop Pro, but just about any photo editor will do. I think I've just used MS Paint before.
Quasar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 06:00 PM   #3
03lespaul
Human being with feelings
 
03lespaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 71
Default

How do you do it with ms paint?
03lespaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 06:03 PM   #4
bluzkat
Human being with feelings
 
bluzkat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 6,919
Default

I use SnagIt (from Techsmith) it ain't free but its really good. There are a bunch of *freeware* screen capture programs, Google is your friend.
__________________
Peace...
bluzkat
bluzkat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 06:04 PM   #5
Bubbagump
Human being with feelings
 
Bubbagump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 2,024
Default

You do realize that by pressing the Print Screen key it copies an image of your screen to the clip board? From there you can paste that image into any image program.
__________________
www.theslang.com
Bubbagump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 06:05 PM   #6
03lespaul
Human being with feelings
 
03lespaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 71
Default

screen capture! Thats what I've been trying to say! I guess its been a long day. Google is my friend when my brain works
03lespaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 06:06 PM   #7
03lespaul
Human being with feelings
 
03lespaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bubbagump View Post
You do realize that by pressing the Print Screen key it copies an image of your screen to the clip board? From there you can paste that image into any image program.
I did not. huh thanks.....wait what is the print screen key?
03lespaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 06:07 PM   #8
Destructavator
Human being with feelings
 
Destructavator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: North Olmsted (suburb west of Clevelend area)
Posts: 103
Default

If you're on Windows, you don't need any special third-party software.

Press ALT and "Prnt Scrn" or "Print Screen" (depending on your keyboard).

It's usually next to the mostly useless scroll lock button or close to it.

You then have a screenshot of your focused, active window.

Then open up MS paint (Start -> All Programs -> Accessories -> Paint).

Then paste: CTRL-V.

You can then save it as a BMP, Jpeg, or whatever you want.
Destructavator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 06:08 PM   #9
Quasar
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 572
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 03lespaul View Post
How do you do it with ms paint?
Take the screen shot, open Paint, paste, save as jpeg, upload. Just did it now:

EDIT: (deleting screen shot, which was obnoxious, and Destructavator beat me to it anyway!
Quasar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 06:10 PM   #10
brainwreck
Human being with feelings
 
brainwreck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The 90's
Posts: 19,628
Default

hit the 'print screen' button and paste (from the edit menu) into your image editor. paint.net has some shapes and lines that come in handy when working with screen shots. oh.....crop the shot so as to be kind to us little screen people.
brainwreck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 06:12 PM   #11
Bubbagump
Human being with feelings
 
Bubbagump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 2,024
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 03lespaul View Post
I did not. huh thanks.....wait what is the print screen key?
You have used a keyboard before, right? And I am not referring to 88 weighted keys. Or are you wanting to take movies of your screen?
__________________
www.theslang.com
Bubbagump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 06:12 PM   #12
03lespaul
Human being with feelings
 
03lespaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Destructavator View Post
If you're on Windows, you don't need any special third-party software.

Press ALT and "Prnt Scrn" or "Print Screen" (depending on your keyboard).

It's usually next to the mostly useless scroll lock button or close to it.

You then have a screenshot of your focused, active window.

Then open up MS paint (Start -> All Programs -> Accessories -> Paint).

Then paste: CTRL-V.

You can then save it as a BMP, Jpeg, or whatever you want.
Wow, its that easy. Thanks!
03lespaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 06:13 PM   #13
Destructavator
Human being with feelings
 
Destructavator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: North Olmsted (suburb west of Clevelend area)
Posts: 103
Default

Goodness! Several of us posted at once.

I also forgot to mention - if you want a full-blown video instead of a still, check out "VirtualDub" which is open-source, free, and totally clean and has an internal video screen capture recorder available in it.

Do *not* google for a screen recorder and grab any of the many freeware commercial apps that pop up right away, they are loaded with spyware, viruses, etc.

Take my word for it as a former computer tech who does video editing and even taught computer tech stuff in what is now a college at one time.
Destructavator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 06:18 PM   #14
03lespaul
Human being with feelings
 
03lespaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bubbagump View Post
You have used a keyboard before, right? And I am not referring to 88 weighted keys. Or are you wanting to take movies of your screen?
haha yeah I'm trying to find it on my Axiom 61.
03lespaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 06:20 PM   #15
JHughes
Human being with feelings
 
JHughes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Too close to Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,269
Default

I use Hoversnap.
http://www.hoverdesk.net/freeware.htm

I use Irfanview to add borders.
__________________
You can only Reverse, Switch, Invert or Flip POLARITY, not "PHASE".
JHughes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 06:22 PM   #16
03lespaul
Human being with feelings
 
03lespaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Destructavator View Post
Goodness! Several of us posted at once.

I also forgot to mention - if you want a full-blown video instead of a still, check out "VirtualDub" which is open-source, free, and totally clean and has an internal video screen capture recorder available in it.

Do *not* google for a screen recorder and grab any of the many freeware commercial apps that pop up right away, they are loaded with spyware, viruses, etc.

Take my word for it as a former computer tech who does video editing and even taught computer tech stuff in what is now a college at one time.
Thanks Destructavator.
03lespaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 06:23 PM   #17
Lawrence
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 21,217
Default

www.jingproject.com

Free... and allows annotations. Or... if you have a ton of things to do with screen capture or screen video use the Camtasia Studio demo for 30 days until it times out. http://www.techsmith.com/camtasia.asp
__________________
"I, Bozo The Clown, do solemly swear to uphold the Consti.. consti... uh, how do you pronounce that again?".
Lawrence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 06:27 PM   #18
whatsup
Human being with feelings
 
whatsup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,144
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Destructavator View Post
Goodness! Several of us posted at once.

I also forgot to mention - if you want a full-blown video instead of a still, check out "VirtualDub" which is open-source, free, and totally clean and has an internal video screen capture recorder available in it.
cam studio, is the best freeware for screen recorder (after google)
but will check your offer ,though.

Quote:
Do *not* google for a screen recorder and grab any of the many freeware commercial apps that pop up right away, they are loaded with spyware, viruses, etc.
yes indeed, when they come from general sites.

the solution for that, is to look for the developer site, you can see that on the google link.
__________________
you can contack me on
whatsup@inn.co.il
whatsup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 06:31 PM   #19
Destructavator
Human being with feelings
 
Destructavator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: North Olmsted (suburb west of Clevelend area)
Posts: 103
Default

Indeed, Cam Studio is a good program, I've used that one before. I was going to mention it as well but you beat me to it, whatsup.

Keep in mind that it takes a lot of system resources to capture and record video all on the same system, with the computer passing info to the video card and having to grab it back again and encode it with a codec and save it on the hard drive.

This means that if you video-record REAPER in action, REAPER's performance may suffer if you don't have a fast system.

An alternative if you have video-S OUT on your video card is to record with a video input on a second computer, I've done this before with good results (but it takes experience and know-how to set it all up properly).
Destructavator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 06:33 PM   #20
03lespaul
Human being with feelings
 
03lespaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 71
Default

Thank you all so much!
03lespaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 06:35 PM   #21
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 22,847
Default

PrintScreen = The entire desktop

Alt+PrintScreen = Only the application window that has focus.


Karbo
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 06:36 PM   #22
Destructavator
Human being with feelings
 
Destructavator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: North Olmsted (suburb west of Clevelend area)
Posts: 103
Default

I also forgot to mention: If you've already invested in video editing software, Vegas, Corel VideoStudio, anything from "A-Bloat-Be" etc., you can also get a screen capture *driver* that lets your computer see your screen and audio output as an attached "camera" device.

This also works with VirtualDub.
Destructavator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 06:37 PM   #23
audioguytodd
Human being with feelings
 
audioguytodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,050
Default

Or use InfranView. Always a goto app for me (and millions of others).

It's free but screenshots only- no video capture (unless there is a new version...)
__________________
Comp Specs: WIN XPSP3, Q6600, ASUSP5K, 3 GB PC6400 RAM, Focusrite Saffire, AlphaTrack, lots of plugins and hardware.
audioguytodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 06:38 PM   #24
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,667
Default

i always use shup

www.shup.com

but with my own server.
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 06:39 PM   #25
03lespaul
Human being with feelings
 
03lespaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Destructavator View Post
Indeed, Cam Studio is a good program, I've used that one before. I was going to mention it as well but you beat me to it, whatsup.

Keep in mind that it takes a lot of system resources to capture and record video all on the same system, with the computer passing info to the video card and having to grab it back again and encode it with a codec and save it on the hard drive.

This means that if you video-record REAPER in action, REAPER's performance may suffer if you don't have a fast system.

An alternative if you have video-S OUT on your video card is to record with a video input on a second computer, I've done this before with good results (but it takes experience and know-how to set it all up properly).
Shouldn't be a big deal. Hopefully my OCed q9550 can take it.
03lespaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 06:40 PM   #26
Destructavator
Human being with feelings
 
Destructavator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: North Olmsted (suburb west of Clevelend area)
Posts: 103
Default

Just think - with all the people coming into this thread and posting at the same time as we have for the last 5 min. or so, someone is probably going to get excited reading all this and be up all night downloading and trying out all of these apps we've mentioned...

...That and tomorrow morning I wouldn't be surprised to come back to this forum and see dozens of recorded videos of REAPER in-action from people trying it all out...
Destructavator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 06:42 PM   #27
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,667
Default

this thread just might be the fastest posted-on thread ever
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 06:43 PM   #28
Sheppola
Human being with feelings
 
Sheppola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 3,292
Default

+10 for Irfanview.

Also you can just type mspaint in the Start menu/run box to launch mspaint.

HTH
__________________
"Music washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life."
http://www.reverbnation.com/pauldouglas
https://www.youtube.com/user/TalosIO
Sheppola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 06:44 PM   #29
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,667
Default

win7 has "snipper" which is really good for screenshots, more "snagit" like.

theres another, snag-it
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 06:44 PM   #30
03lespaul
Human being with feelings
 
03lespaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Brian Merrill View Post
this thread just might be the fastest posted-on thread ever
I think your right haha
03lespaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 06:46 PM   #31
Destructavator
Human being with feelings
 
Destructavator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: North Olmsted (suburb west of Clevelend area)
Posts: 103
Default

Heck, I've seen people even record their screen with a cell-phone camera and post the clip on YouTube, not that I recommend that though...
Destructavator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 06:48 PM   #32
Destructavator
Human being with feelings
 
Destructavator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: North Olmsted (suburb west of Clevelend area)
Posts: 103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 03lespaul View Post
I think your right haha
I agree. I wonder if this will become some kind of competition, to see how many people can post in the same thread at the same time - Crash the forum software, anyone?

Actually, please don't do that...
Destructavator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 06:50 PM   #33
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 22,847
Default

Vista has a snipping tool as well but not as nice as snagit.

Karbo
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 06:51 PM   #34
clickonce
Human being with feelings
 
clickonce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 132
Default

Screenshot Captor is best I have found.. and it's free.
clickonce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 06:52 PM   #35
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,667
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
Vista has a snipping tool as well but not as nice as snagit.

Karbo
the windows 7 one may be improved, not sure
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 06:53 PM   #36
Destructavator
Human being with feelings
 
Destructavator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: North Olmsted (suburb west of Clevelend area)
Posts: 103
Default

A complete list of all the apps that would do the job would be a mile long, we're not going to make this thread go on for pages and pages with every single friggin' one, are we?
Destructavator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 06:53 PM   #37
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,667
Default



__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 06:56 PM   #38
Lawrence
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 21,217
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Destructavator View Post
A complete list of all the apps that would do the job would be a mile long, we're not going to make this thread go on for pages and pages with every single friggin' one, are we?
Well... he did ask "what we were using" which of course would be many different things? They'll all do the job.
__________________
"I, Bozo The Clown, do solemly swear to uphold the Consti.. consti... uh, how do you pronounce that again?".
Lawrence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 06:59 PM   #39
Destructavator
Human being with feelings
 
Destructavator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: North Olmsted (suburb west of Clevelend area)
Posts: 103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lawrence View Post
Well... he did ask "what we were using" which of course would be many different things? They'll all do the job.
True, and a quick google for "screen capture software" comes up with ~15.6 *million* results.
Destructavator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 07:07 PM   #40
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: City
Posts: 10,162
Default



I use XNView. Has great zoomming via the mouse and can crop stuff. I add annotations in Gimp or Xara usualy. Jing is probably more efficient at that.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.