Old 02-18-2012, 03:14 PM   #1
Jon Jo Wilson
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 133
Default Midi Controler

Hi there would like to know if you can use say a Akai MPD 24 / 26 faders to assign as a controller to write in automation ..
And if so could someone kindly explain how to do it.. Kind regards Jon Jo.
Jon Jo Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 04:31 PM   #2
V'ger
Human being with feelings
 
V'ger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,714
Default

First set it up in Preferences - Audio - Midi Devices: Double-click the device, then check the boxes to Enable input and Enable input for control messages.

Next select the track where you have the plugin to be automated then in the input drop down window on the track select: Input MIDI - All midi inputs - All channels.

Arm the track.

Now, to connect a VST knob to a controller knob: Move the VST knob a little bit so that it's activated, then click the Param button at the top of the FX window and choose Learn. Now move the controller on your MDP and they are connected. Click OK button and you're done.
V'ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 08:12 AM   #3
Jon Jo Wilson
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 133
Default

Thank you ever so much will do that Now!!
Jon Jo Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 08:22 AM   #4
Jon Jo Wilson
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 133
Default

Just so you know did all that but I aso want to arm a track and use my faders on MPD 26 write in automation Say Volume on my mixes sorry if I did not make my self very clear
Jon Jo Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 08:39 AM   #5
V'ger
Human being with feelings
 
V'ger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,714
Default

Yes but as Reaper (still) doesn't allow for track volume, pan, sends etc to be midi learned directly, you need to load up a plugin on the track called TrackReaControl and use that. It's part of the SWS/SM extension package.

For sends, use SendReaControl.
V'ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 08:56 AM   #6
Jon Jo Wilson
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 133
Default

Ohh that sound a bit complicated ...What a shame this is not built into Reaper.. Guess you cant have everything (
Jon Jo Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 09:11 AM   #7
V'ger
Human being with feelings
 
V'ger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,714
Default

Yes shame that, but you really should have the SWS extension anyway and loading up the plugins and connecting is not a big deal.

You can even make a project or track template where the ReaControls are all set up every time. If you go to Preferences - Project - Project settings, you can set a custom project to load each time which makes it a breeze.
V'ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 09:30 AM   #8
Jon Jo Wilson
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 133
Default

I would have ago if there was a Video Tutorial ill have a look on YouTube see if there is anything there .. Thank you so much for your help
Jon Jo Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 03:43 PM   #9
V'ger
Human being with feelings
 
V'ger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,714
Default

Here: http://youtu.be/E_7DBXDVZt8?hd=1
V'ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.