Old 02-26-2012, 05:07 PM   #1
TIQA
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Riga, Latvia
Posts: 3
Default mtc timecode sync

hello.

i thinking about hooking two cards together to record a bit more channels than i have with one card. so idea this far is to take one multitrack hdd recorder, output mtc midi clock and then sync. so far i was experimenting with two different computers and two different cards synced through midi. i noticed that slave is starting to record about 3/4 of bar late. ill try to rec some real signal tomorrow, but just wanted to know if anyone have tried this and will it work properly? will two be in sync when imported together in one project?
TIQA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 04:27 AM   #2
HorseloverFat
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 32
Default

Hi,

I used to do that some 10+ years ago with Akai DPS12 and computer. Computers were not very powerful for audio back then. It worked quite ok. MTC sync is not anywhere near to be sample accurate, so phasing issues may occur in simultaneously recorded tracks. Most of the time that was not a problem though.

Of course the best solution is to get an audio interface with adequate number of inputs, much less hassle.

-hf
HorseloverFat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 07:00 AM   #3
planetnine
Human being with feelings
 
planetnine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 7,585
Default

The way to sync would be sending Word Clock from one card to the other. Different cards deal with this in different ways and some can't acheive sync due to a lack of sync connectors or inability to do anything with the signal. Some have a WC connection, some can do it extracting the sync from S/P-DIF (M-Audio), some from ADAT, and some even by proprietary methods.

I use SMPTE when synching multitrack HDD recorders together, but they're locked to WC and merely use the SMPTE (or MTC) to align their position counters (HH:MM:SS:FF)

I hope this means something to you. I can go deeper if you need anything explaining.

>
planetnine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.