Old 06-04-2019, 08:36 AM   #1
strangy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 3
Cool MCU mode - problem with encoders

Hi folks,

I need to control Reaper from control surface, so I tried to setup my Maschine MK3 as MCU device. It works well except that when I stop touching knobs it keeps recording automation for 3 seconds. Even when I stop playback and play again it keeps writing for 3 seconds.

It was not usable for me, so I bought Behringer X-Touch One. The fader works as expected in all automation modes, but the pan encoder behaves like encoders from Maschine and keeps writing automation for 3 seconds after last move.

Is it should be that way?
strangy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2019, 11:23 AM   #2
azslow3
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Heidelberg, Germany
Posts: 656
Default

The DAW should make the decision when you release the control. In case "truth" is known and can be used, like with MCU faders, that is working as expected. Some "reasonable timeout" is used otherwise (in your case 3 seconds).

MCU knobs (and so X-Touch knobs) are not touch sensitive.
MCU faders and Maschine knobs are. But the software should support that feature for particular control. I do not have Maschine and so I do not know if it possible convince it to send touch information in some mode (f.e. old Novation knobs are also touch sensitive, but they was never using that for the purpose you want (imho) because touch sensitivity implementation in the hardware was too buggy).
azslow3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2019, 01:48 PM   #3
strangy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by azslow3 View Post
The DAW should make the decision when you release the control. In case "truth" is known and can be used, like with MCU faders, that is working as expected. Some "reasonable timeout" is used otherwise (in your case 3 seconds).

MCU knobs (and so X-Touch knobs) are not touch sensitive.
MCU faders and Maschine knobs are. But the software should support that feature for particular control. I do not have Maschine and so I do not know if it possible convince it to send touch information in some mode (f.e. old Novation knobs are also touch sensitive, but they was never using that for the purpose you want (imho) because touch sensitivity implementation in the hardware was too buggy).
If it possible they definitely should release control on stop and pause. Now when I try to do another take of panning it erases some of written automation.
strangy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.