Old 02-08-2012, 03:13 PM   #1
cjklingman
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Default Midi Keyboard not recognized

My Roland A500S midi keyboard is apparently not recognized by Reaper as a legitmate midi input.

I've tried all kinds of option combinations and nothing seems to allow me to play the keyboard and have the input recorded by Reaper. And I certainly cannot seem to monitor the keyboard play while I record.

I use exactly the same setup in Finale Songwriter and the keyboard works fine and is a valuable input device.

There are a couple of other midi utilities that I use and they both recognize the keyboard input with no problem.

What can I do here to use Reaper as it is intended to be used? I can't believe this keyboard is that different from the normal equipment used with Reaper.

C J Klingman
Sherman, TX
cjklingman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 04:49 PM   #2
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 12,546
Default

Did you set up your Midi interface with Preferences>MIDI Devices?

__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums -|- Elk Video Productions -|- Tod's Music
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 09:44 AM   #3
cjklingman
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Default Midi Keyboard not recognized

Well, I tried Mixcraft 5 and it worked perfectly well with my keyboard midi controller and sound module. Uses WaveRT driver although ASIO driver worked well also. Maybe it was a Windows 7 problem. In any case, giving up on Reaper as my DAW software.

C. J. Klingman
Sherman, TX
cjklingman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 10:52 AM   #4
Dr Bob
Human being with feelings
 
Dr Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,045
Default

Yes, but ...

Did you goto REAPER's preferences and set up the MIDI devices you want it to use? If not, it won't use it.

What is your MIDI device? Reaper is professional software and we have seen few reports of MIDI malfunction.

db
Dr Bob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 10:58 AM   #5
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 12,546
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cjklingman View Post
Well, I tried Mixcraft 5 and it worked perfectly well with my keyboard midi controller and sound module. Uses WaveRT driver although ASIO driver worked well also. Maybe it was a Windows 7 problem. In any case, giving up on Reaper as my DAW software.

C. J. Klingman
Sherman, TX
Sorry CJ, my reply wasn't meant to turn you away, I was in a hurry at the time and I just assumed you'd ask if you didn't understand. Did you take a look at the Preferences I mentioned? They have to be setup before it will work.
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums -|- Elk Video Productions -|- Tod's Music
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.