Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-23-2017, 04:41 AM   #1
TH.
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 4
Default ReaSurround // writing speaker/sources coordinates as table?

Dear all,

i am very much looking for a proper way to import or write the coordinates of speakers and sources into ReaSurround.
Moving the entire coordinates by hand to the right position is very unsuitable for a more complex array. e.g. a dome with more than 8 speakers and more than one ring.
I tried to export the preset, but can't read or edit the generated files (.fxb / .fxp / .rpl) — its not a utf8 style ;-)
is there any way to insert xyz-coordinates as a table?
where are the presets (user presets) saved to? Perhaps I will be successful in this way?

another question about ReaSurround:

For example i want to move an 8 channel input file.
Is it possible to move all source positions (rotation, low/high) with one automation, or do i really have to automate ALL single source positions (xyz, low/high).

Will there be another update to use AED (azimuth / elevation / distance) coordinates?

And my last Question:
What panning strategy is implemented into ReaSurround?
It looks and sounds like vbap, but also could be dbap?

I am looking forward for your reply!

All the best,

Tim
TH. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2017, 02:00 PM   #2
made
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 27
Default

I disable the UI to set the speaker positions.

To move multiple channels, you have to select them and move them together.
You could also use the Rotate knob.

Unfortunately there's a bug that ReaSurround will only play back the automation after you touched one of the sources.

I would think ReaSurround is plain old amplitude panning. Neither VBAP nor DBAP...
made is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2017, 05:19 PM   #3
olilarkin
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 1,248
Default

+1 is it VBAP or DBAP and can we just set the speaker positions in a text file?
__________________
VirtualCZ | Endless Series | iPlug2 | Linkedin | Facebook
olilarkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2017, 02:16 AM   #4
olilarkin
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 1,248
Default

lua rescript to set reasurround speaker XYZ positions for 8 loudspeakers

Code:
local tracks = reaper.CountSelectedTracks(0)

if tracks == 0 then
  reaper.ShowMessageBox("Select some tracks and retry.", "Selection is empty!", 0)
  return
end

local speakers = {}

for i=1,8 do
  speakers[i] = {} -- create a new row
  for j=1,3 do
    speakers[i][j] = 0
  end
end

-- normalized XYZ positions :-( I used excel to work it out
speakers[1] = {0.293, 1, 0}
speakers[2] = {0.707, 1, 0}
speakers[3] = {1.000, 0.707, 0}
speakers[4] = {1.000, 0.293, 0}
speakers[5] = {0.707, 0.000, 0}
speakers[6] = {0.293, 0.000, 0}
speakers[7] = {0.000, 0.293, 0}
speakers[8] = {0.000, 0.707, 0}

for index=0,tracks-1 do
  local track = reaper.GetSelectedTrack(0, index)
  local fxid = reaper.TrackFX_GetByName(track, "ReaSurround", false)
  local skip = 13 -- speaker XYZ starts at param 13 with one input
  for o=1,8 do -- for each speaker
    for p=1,3 do -- for X,Y,Z
      local result = reaper.TrackFX_SetParamNormalized(track, fxid, skip+o+p, speakers[o][p]);
    end
    skip = skip + 6 -- jump to next XYZ params
  end
end
__________________
VirtualCZ | Endless Series | iPlug2 | Linkedin | Facebook
olilarkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.