Old 08-27-2017, 10:25 AM   #1
Wino Bob
Human being with feelings

Default old guy new hobby

Hi Everyone,
After @(&*# years, I'm finally getting back to music. I'm not a musician - used to be a drummer (insert joke here) nor do I know computers very well (I know, I'm going to be a nightmare . . ). Anyway I have already set up what I need (I think). Scarlett 2i4, win 10/16 gig ram, mics, acoustic guitar, and a very old keyboard circa 1987 . . . I have to say this is the one piece of equipment I'm worried about. I can see the signal lighting up the 2i4 but it's not lighting up the armed track. But I just stared browsing the manual and looking at the videos (wow).

Just wanted to say thanks in advance and really looking forward to getting all these ideas and tunes stared.
Wino Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2017, 10:59 AM   #2
solger

Welcome to the Reaper Forums!

Looks like you already found the User Guide (https://www.reaper.fm/userguide.php) and the Videos section (https://www.reaper.fm/videos.php)

Quote:
I have to say this is the one piece of equipment I'm worried about. I can see the signal lighting up the 2i4 but it's not lighting up the armed track.
In general, make sure that the input range (from first to last) is enabled and selected correctly in Preferences > Audio > Device: www.youtube.com/watch?v=B3W1NowUFA4

And that these 3 points are set correctly for the Track:

1) Correct Track Input (from the 2i4) selected
2) Track Record Arm Button enabled
3) Input Monitoring enabled

More info here: https://www.reaper.fm/videos.php#iLC1HjLXLd0
Most likely point 3) is the missing step ...

Last edited by solger; 08-27-2017 at 11:10 AM.
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2017, 11:10 AM   #3
G-Sun

Welcome!
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2017, 12:02 PM   #4
Wino Bob

Thanks G-Sun / solger