Old 03-21-2014, 06:32 PM   #1
cwcareaga
Human being with feelings
 
cwcareaga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 23
Default Cthulhu routing in Reaper???

OK, after more than a couple of hours I am ready for the gas pipe. I have read a couple of responses about Reaper and Cthulhu but have gotten nowhere.
Does anyone have any actual experience with this beast, i.e. getting it to actually work???
I have tried opening cthulhu as a virtual instrument and then a separate instance of a virtual instrument on a separate track, then sending the cthulhu track to the vsti track. I can hear the track being played but the cthulhu device isn't doing much.
:exasperation:

All suggestions and help would be appreciated like water on the desert!
cwcareaga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 10:21 PM   #2
tut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 45
Default

Ok. Take a deep breathe. Now, put Cthulhu BEFORE your chosen instrument on the SAME track. In Cthulhu, select a chord of choice from the dropdown in the bottom half. Now feed Cthulhu a Midi input of some sort I.e. press a key on your Midi keyboard. You should now hear it working. Good luck. Report back if you have further troubles.
tut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 09:13 AM   #3
cwcareaga
Human being with feelings
 
cwcareaga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 23
Default

OK, tut....deep breath taken.
I'll try your advice and get back to you one way or another.
Thanks in advance...hope it works.
cwcareaga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 09:22 AM   #4
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 17,552
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwcareaga View Post
OK, after more than a couple of hours I am ready for the gas pipe.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tut View Post
Ok. Take a deep breathe.
Perhaps not the best advice


Just do the rest of what tut said.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. Inspired by ...
DarkStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 10:26 AM   #5
cwcareaga
Human being with feelings
 
cwcareaga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 23
Default

Update:
Followed tut's instructions and this beast has been tamed!!!
Works just like a magic charm. Many thanks.
I see no way to increase rep or anything so let's just say IOU 1 beer.
cwcareaga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2014, 02:35 PM   #6
Rav
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2
Default Help!!! With Cthulu

Quote:
Originally Posted by tut View Post
Ok. Take a deep breathe. Now, put Cthulhu BEFORE your chosen instrument on the SAME track. In Cthulhu, select a chord of choice from the dropdown in the bottom half. Now feed Cthulhu a Midi input of some sort I.e. press a key on your Midi keyboard. You should now hear it working. Good luck. Report back if you have further troubles.
Could you give a step by step. I'm trying to get cthulu to work in kontakt and all my soft synths. This is a pain!
Thanks
Rav
Rav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2014, 06:42 AM   #7
Rav
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2
Default My solution

TWO SEPERATE TRACKS

CTHUHLU TRACK 1 CLICK "I/O"> "SEND" CHOOSE SYNTH USED IN TRACK TWO
NEXT: GO TO MIDI DROPDOWN
INPUT MIDI> MAP INPUT TO CHANNEL> CHANNEL 1
ENABLE RECORD
RECORD MONITORIN "ON" (GREEN)
SYNTH TRACK 2 INPUT MIDI> MAP INPUT TO CHANNEL> CHANNEL 1
DISABLE RECORD
RECORD MONITORING "ON" (GREEN)

This was such a pain in the arse to figure out. Hope this helps somone!!!
Rav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2016, 10:51 AM   #8
Olymoon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tut View Post
Ok. Take a deep breathe. Now, put Cthulhu BEFORE your chosen instrument on the SAME track. In Cthulhu, select a chord of choice from the dropdown in the bottom half. Now feed Cthulhu a Midi input of some sort I.e. press a key on your Midi keyboard. You should now hear it working. Good luck. Report back if you have further troubles.
Thank you, that worked perfectly, for Cthulhu, and other arpegiators.
Olymoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2016, 09:23 AM   #9
grayter1
Human being with feelings
 
grayter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 450
Default

Another approach that worked for me is to put Cthulhu on the input FX of the track.

No muss, no fuss.

tg
__________________
Win 10 Pro | i7-6700K 4.00GHz | GA-Z170X-UD5 | 32 GB | nVIDIA GTX 1050ti | Audient iD22 | KeyLab49 | Reaper 5 | Pro Tools 2018.4 | Studio One 4 | Komplete 10 | Omnisphere 2
grayter1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2016, 10:46 AM   #10
OPI
Human being with feelings
 
OPI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,876
Default

Anyone having stability problems? Nothing crashing but boy is it rough on cpu if i dont print the midi files right away.

Figured id try here rather then starting another thread.

Windows 10, 12gb ram, 2.8ghz, everything 64 bit.
OPI is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2016, 01:05 PM   #11
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,700
Default

Yes, stability issues here with Cthulhu (latest version) in Reaper - 64bit on OSX 10.11.6
Even worse than that you experience: i have frequent Reaper crashes when using Cthulhu.
I never ever experience crashes in Reaper, except when using Cthulhu
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2016, 01:45 PM   #12
OPI
Human being with feelings
 
OPI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,876
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vanhaze View Post
Yes, stability issues here with Cthulhu (latest version) in Reaper - 64bit on OSX 10.11.6
Even worse than that you experience: i have frequent Reaper crashes when using Cthulhu.
I never ever experience crashes in Reaper, except when using Cthulhu
Glad to see im not the only one. I feel your pain. Belive me, it wants to crash.
OPI is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2016, 02:15 PM   #13
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,700
Default

Thanks !

Quite remarkable ; other plugins from Xfer records i have are very stable in Reaper
(LFO Tool, Serum).
But Cthulhu is drama.

I am using similar plugins to replace cthulhu's functionality, like this one:

http://www.kirnuarp.com/

Development of this plugin is dead, so it seems, but it does the job very well and is stable for me in Reaper :0)
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2016, 03:47 PM   #14
OPI
Human being with feelings
 
OPI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,876
Default

Same here lfo tool is super stable.. we should probably contact the duda.
OPI is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2016, 05:08 PM   #15
TheMaartian
Human being with feelings
 
TheMaartian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Posts: 317
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vanhaze View Post
Yes, stability issues here with Cthulhu (latest version) in Reaper - 64bit on OSX 10.11.6
Even worse than that you experience: i have frequent Reaper crashes when using Cthulhu.
I never ever experience crashes in Reaper, except when using Cthulhu
Are you on the latest version of Cthulhu? For OSX, it's v1.15e. On Win10, it's v1.15. So, there have been some tweaks to the OSX version. I'm on Win10, and have no stability issues.
__________________
Intel i7 @ 3.4 GHz, 16 GB RAM, 2 TB HD; Win10 Home x64; Tascam US-16x08
Studio One 4 Pro; Notion 6; Melodyne 4 Studio; Acoustica 7; Gig Performer 2
PreSonus FaderPort; Nektar P6; M-Audio BX8 D2; Beyerdynamic DT 880 Pro
TheMaartian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2016, 09:45 PM   #16
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,700
Default

Hi !

Yes, i have version 1.1.5e for OSX installed too.
This version had some AAX version fixes, no mentioning of stability fixes.

I will send Steve from Xfer records a Crash Report, whenever Cthulhu crashes Reaper again.
He is always very helpful, great guy.
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2016, 10:41 PM   #17
bluzkat
Human being with feelings
 
bluzkat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 6,919
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vanhaze View Post
http://www.kirnuarp.com/

Development of this plugin is dead, so it seems...
What makes you say this?

Just curious.


__________________
Peace...
bluzkat
bluzkat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2016, 10:44 PM   #18
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,700
Default

Cause it has not been updated for a year or so, i think even longer.
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2017, 02:03 AM   #19
Dextrous
Human being with feelings
 
Dextrous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 32
Default

Hi all,

Searched on here as Iíve just bought Cthulu. Love the plug in, but yep Ė itís crashing the first project Iíve used it in. Canít say 100% yet itís down to Cthulu but massive coincidence if it isnít due to this plug in. Damn shame if it is.

In case youíre wondering, itís a great utensil. The chord utility and the Arp. Both really well done and very handy
Dextrous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2017, 02:19 AM   #20
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,700
Default

I am on mac, using Reaper mac version.
Me 2 experiences quite regular Reaper crashes when using cthulhu.(latest version).
I have a feeling the culprit is cthulhu and not Reaper.

Or you on mac or windows ?
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2017, 06:30 AM   #21
Michael AD
Human being with feelings
 
Michael AD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Hackensack
Posts: 216
Default

I'm on Windows 10 and have been using Cthulhu for years and never had a single crash. I use it with Reaper and Ableton.

Maybe it's a Mac issue.
Michael AD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2017, 08:48 AM   #22
Dextrous
Human being with feelings
 
Dextrous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 32
Default

Hi Vanhaze, yeah I'm Windows 7. Pretty sure Cthulu is causing the problem as nothing up to this point has caused Reaper to crash and I've been with Reaper for quite a long time now.
Dextrous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2018, 08:12 AM   #23
antor
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 10
Default

I am surprised this is not mentioned alot here: Chthulu expects the MIDI input on channel 1. Selecting anything else breaks the "Chords" part for me. But the arpeggiator still works. To fix: for example you can put MIDI tool V2 before Chthulu in the fx chain and set the output channel in MIDI Tool to 1.
antor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2018, 09:59 AM   #24
Sleep opposed
Human being with feelings
 
Sleep opposed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 324
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grayter1 View Post
Another approach that worked for me is to put Cthulhu on the input FX of the track.

No muss, no fuss.

tg
The benefit of this method is that its easy to record the actual notes being spat out by cthulhu, so you can tweak them or use them any other way you see fit... if you're like me who when using the chords might find a progression that "kind of" works, but needs tweaking because of how random the plugin can be...this is really helpful.
Sleep opposed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.