Old 08-19-2011, 12:54 AM   #1
ahs
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 375
Default are the reaper fx plugins the same as on a pc

hi,

i'm new and say hello to everybody.
i ried several emails to the cookos but without any answer.

is the mac version (special the fx plugins) the same as on a windows pc?

thankyou
ahs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 02:14 AM   #2
MacFizz
Human being with feelings
 
MacFizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Colmar, France
Posts: 380
Default

Hi
I haven't seen any difference between MacOS and PC versions of the plugins.
MacFizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 02:53 AM   #3
ahs
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 375
Default

thankyou for your answer.

but 1 thread over mine (just discovered, there's a sticky with plugins they don't work on mac os. i think, i've to read through this thread !?

i think, reaper is best on windows ?
ahs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 04:45 AM   #4
MacFizz
Human being with feelings
 
MacFizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Colmar, France
Posts: 380
Default

I use Reaper on both (mac at home on a macbook pro and pc at work).
Reaper isn't "better" on PC, however there's been some specific issues on Mac (usually corrected fats by the dev team).
The only thing I do notice is about the vumeters that seem to be a little less reactive on mac. It seems to be due to macs graphic performance (my macbook pro is early 2008).
For the rest I couldn't do a real comparison as I'm working on a up to date desktop PC hardly comparable to my aging macbook pro. Just to say, I record, edit and mix on the mac projects with 30-50 tracks, instruments and effects without any problems.
MacFizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2011, 04:21 AM   #5
ahs
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 375
Default

hi,


i'm missing the dirac stretch algorythm !!!

do you think reaper is good or better then logic pro.
ahs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2011, 04:42 AM   #6
MacFizz
Human being with feelings
 
MacFizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Colmar, France
Posts: 380
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ahs View Post
do you think reaper is good or better then logic pro.
Well, I think it might depend on what your doing and how you do it.
About a year ago, a friend and I were fed up of Cubase for several reasons (including price and support) and we went on a hunt for another daw.
So we both, each on our sides, tested several daws including Protools, Logic audio, Reaper, and a bunch of others.

After a few weeks of testing, we were both on logic and Reaper, and clearly, for what I do and how I do it, Reaper is defenitly a win (we didn't consider pricing at that point).
I've tried to convince my friend with some of the great features Reaper had, but he finally took Logic because for what he does (a lot of orchestral stuff), he was feeling more confortable with it.

Bottom line is, if you can test them both (Reaper can be tested easily and freely), make you own idea of each, put them both to work with a project and see what happens then.
MacFizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2011, 09:30 AM   #7
ahs
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 375
Default

hi,

money is not the point. but i need good stretching and a convolver reverb.
ahs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2011, 01:00 PM   #8
MacFizz
Human being with feelings
 
MacFizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Colmar, France
Posts: 380
Default

I don't use much streching but for reverb I would strongly suggest investing on a dedicated plugin (meaning, independent from the host).
MacFizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 04:52 PM   #9
Johnnynrg
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lewisham, London
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ahs View Post
hi,

money is not the point. but i need good stretching and a convolver reverb.
Stretching in reaper seems to be ideal for what i need it for, for drum loops and other samples, using the time stretch, to extend loops/clips over a small time section works a treat, without any perceived granulising... Again if you are using it as an effect over larger time sections, i get great results too, just as good as other DAW's, i find.

Hold Alt and drag the corner of a clip, if you've never tried it. Check it out.

On Convolution, Reaverb is a quick fix, with a few nice functions, but if you want a particular convolution reverb with more functions, like Macfizz, I'd suggest investing in something commercial. If u have access to a PC & Reaper, have a little think about SIR Reverb.

Last edited by Johnnynrg; 08-21-2011 at 05:11 PM.
Johnnynrg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 03:13 AM   #10
ahs
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 375
Default

thankyou for your answers.

i am missing also the dirac stretch algo.
where can i find them ?
ahs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 03:28 AM   #11
dub3000
Human being with feelings
 
dub3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 3,830
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ahs View Post
thankyou for your answers.

i am missing also the dirac stretch algo.
where can i find them ?
Dirac is only on win 32 bit.

Also, it's not synced, which means it can go weird on stuff like multiple-mic recordings.

Fwiw, the elastique algorithm is also afaik used in ableton live and the efficient mode in pro tools. I think, anyway.
dub3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.