Old 03-31-2018, 10:55 AM   #1
bigearz
Human being with feelings
 
bigearz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 252
Default Recording from Midas M32

I will be doing my first live recording gig in a few weeks. Venue has a Midas M32, which I understand that I can just plug in a USB cable to a laptop and record. I’m just looking for verification that it’s really that simple. Just hook up a laptop running Reaper and Reaper will see the stream.

Thanks.
__________________
Keep your ears open!
http://www.revealaudio.com
Win7 x64, i7 4770, 16GB RAM, KeyLab 88
bigearz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2018, 11:27 AM   #2
zappsunzorn
Human being with feelings
 
zappsunzorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Virginia Beach VA
Posts: 2,266
Default

I would try to get there the day before and try it out if possible. If anything is new in the Reaper area (including hardware) I suggest testing that also. You do not want a setting on the computer or in Reaper to mess things up, and a test will give you a fair amount of security. If they have a show before the one you are recording it would be great if you are able to record that one just as a test run, as long as everyone is ok of course.

PS: they have ASIO drivers for the M32, be sure to install them to record if you have not already

http://www.musictri.be/brand/c/Midas...tive=Downloads
zappsunzorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2018, 11:37 AM   #3
Stella645
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 939
Default

You will need to make sure the M32 is configured correctly and you would need the driver installed on your laptop and you'll need to set up 32 tracks assigned to the 32 inputs (or however many you need)

Maybe USB stick is the easier option though you still have to configure the M32.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lkJyqSgOYec

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-at8D-PNl30
Stella645 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2018, 02:16 PM   #4
bigearz
Human being with feelings
 
bigearz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 252
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zappsunzorn View Post
I would try to get there the day before and try it out if possible. If anything is new in the Reaper area (including hardware) I suggest testing that also. You do not want a setting on the computer or in Reaper to mess things up, and a test will give you a fair amount of security. If they have a show before the one you are recording it would be great if you are able to record that one just as a test run, as long as everyone is ok of course.

PS: they have ASIO drivers for the M32, be sure to install them to record if you have not already

http://www.musictri.be/brand/c/Midas...tive=Downloads
Thanks. That looks like what I need.
__________________
Keep your ears open!
http://www.revealaudio.com
Win7 x64, i7 4770, 16GB RAM, KeyLab 88
bigearz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2018, 07:04 PM   #5
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7,502
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigearz View Post
I understand that I can just plug in a USB cable to a laptop and record.
In OSX yes. No driver install needed.

It looks like Windows needs a driver install which will be found on their webpage.
serr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2018, 07:25 PM   #6
moliere
Human being with feelings
 
moliere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 2,207
Default

a strange quirk of my X32 (probably similar) experiences, was that I needed to reboot my windows laptop once I plugged into the USB cable to get proper detection of the X32. Just in case you're having detection issues, something to try. Definitely need the driver installed first.
moliere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2018, 02:08 AM   #7
JDSStudios
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigearz View Post
I will be doing my first live recording gig in a few weeks. Venue has a Midas M32, which I understand that I can just plug in a USB cable to a laptop and record. I’m just looking for verification that it’s really that simple. Just hook up a laptop running Reaper and Reaper will see the stream.

Thanks.
Hey bigearz, my secon post here

If you have never done it, it can be a bit tricky. USB sends and returns have to be set properly in the M32’s app matrix router, and you also have to switch you channels from Mic/Line to USB.

I agree that you should do test runs, cause it can get tricky. I had one wrong USB set to return a playback track, and could not turn its volume down, because it was piped to an unused hidden channel.
JDSStudios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2018, 08:37 AM   #8
bigearz
Human being with feelings
 
bigearz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 252
Default

The board is being run by someone who has a lot of experience with this. He’s the house sound man, so this is nothing new for him . I anticipate he’ll be able to correctly give me what I need. I definitely plan on arriving early enough to test things out.
__________________
Keep your ears open!
http://www.revealaudio.com
Win7 x64, i7 4770, 16GB RAM, KeyLab 88
bigearz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2018, 08:45 AM   #9
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 17,552
Default

^^^
Also, find out what he likes to eat / drink while working and go in fully stocked.

But, go in and practise, perhaps during a rehearsal.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. Inspired by ...
DarkStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2018, 11:37 AM   #10
bigearz
Human being with feelings
 
bigearz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 252
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStar View Post
^^^
Also, find out what he likes to eat / drink while working and go in fully stocked.
.
Always good advice!
__________________
Keep your ears open!
http://www.revealaudio.com
Win7 x64, i7 4770, 16GB RAM, KeyLab 88
bigearz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.