Old 06-18-2009, 12:06 PM   #1
cartunes
Human being with feelings
 
cartunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 11
Default Rendering Selection Question

Hello,
New here & just started using Reaper yesterday, love it- great program!

A few questions & will start with this. When rendering a track using 'selected tracks to stems' & using selection points of the source track it ends up the length of the longest track in the project, not the length of the selection. (see pic- top is the rendered stem, bottom is the length of track & selection I)
I checked the manual & couldn't seem to find it, any help is appreciated.

Thanks,
cartunes
Attached Images
File Type: gif render.gif (41.3 KB, 340 views)

Last edited by cartunes; 06-18-2009 at 12:07 PM. Reason: sp
cartunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 12:23 PM   #2
Xenakios
Human being with feelings
 
Xenakios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 7,458
Default

Stem renders unfortunately always render the length of the whole project. It's been asked several times to make that use for example the selected time for the render, but it hasn't been made to work like that.
__________________
For info on SWS Reaper extension plugin (including Xenakios' previous extension/actions) :
http://www.sws-extension.org/
https://github.com/Jeff0S/sws
--
Xenakios blog (about HourGlass, Paul(X)Stretch and λ) :
http://xenakios.wordpress.com/
Xenakios is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 12:30 PM   #3
cartunes
Human being with feelings
 
cartunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xenakios View Post
Stem renders unfortunately always render the length of the whole project. It's been asked several times to make that use for example the selected time for the render, but it hasn't been made to work like that.
Thanks X,

I'll use cut/ trim for now, maybe it'll be in a future release.
cartunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 12:39 PM   #4
Xenakios
Human being with feelings
 
Xenakios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 7,458
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cartunes View Post
Thanks X,

I'll use cut/ trim for now, maybe it'll be in a future release.
Actually are you speaking of the stem rendering from the project or from the render dialog? I was thinking you meant the stem rendering action you can get by right clicking the track in the project...

The project render dialog should work so that it can render only the time selection in the project. If it doesn't, it may be a bug.
__________________
For info on SWS Reaper extension plugin (including Xenakios' previous extension/actions) :
http://www.sws-extension.org/
https://github.com/Jeff0S/sws
--
Xenakios blog (about HourGlass, Paul(X)Stretch and λ) :
http://xenakios.wordpress.com/
Xenakios is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 01:15 PM   #5
cartunes
Human being with feelings
 
cartunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xenakios View Post
Actually are you speaking of the stem rendering from the project or from the render dialog? I was thinking you meant the stem rendering action you can get by right clicking the track in the project...

The project render dialog should work so that it can render only the time selection in the project. If it doesn't, it may be a bug.
I'm in the project, track menu/ 'render selected tracks to track stems (& mute originals)

When I right click on a track in the project I only see 'render as new take'.
cartunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 01:17 PM   #6
Xenakios
Human being with feelings
 
Xenakios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 7,458
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cartunes View Post
I'm in the project, track menu/ 'render selected tracks to track stems (& mute originals)
Yes, I mean that action. That doesn't respect the time selection, but rather renders the whole project.
__________________
For info on SWS Reaper extension plugin (including Xenakios' previous extension/actions) :
http://www.sws-extension.org/
https://github.com/Jeff0S/sws
--
Xenakios blog (about HourGlass, Paul(X)Stretch and λ) :
http://xenakios.wordpress.com/
Xenakios is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 03:53 PM   #7
Om_Audio
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 89
Default

I am on v3.66 and this issue persists. Whether render to stems or using the render to file dialog- you cannot just render the time selection. Really frustrating.
Om_Audio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 08:58 AM   #8
Tower Studio
Human being with feelings
 
Tower Studio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Montpellier, France
Posts: 133
Default

Indeed...
__________________
Mac Pro 2 x 2.8 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon • 8 Go 800 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM • Mac OS X (10.6.4)
RME Fireface 800 • Reaper 3.66 • Logic Pro 9.1.1 • Cubase 4.5.2 • UAD-2 Quad • TC Powercore • Euphonix MC Mix
Tower Studio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 04:03 AM   #9
Tycho
Human being with feelings
 
Tycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 359
Default

+1 for this. Surprised this hasn't been a bigger issue for more people, seems like it would save a lot of time not having to wait on an entire stem render when you just need a segment.

Is there really no other way to do this? Basically I'd like to select a time range or even a single media item and right click to "bounce to track" (as it was called in Sonar) or something like that.
Tycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 03:20 PM   #10
risk0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
Default

Would be nice if you could just render a selected area not the entire song lenght. Have they fixed yet?
risk0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 06:23 PM   #11
luiso
Human being with feelings
 
luiso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: La Habana, Cuba
Posts: 79
Default sws extensions

try this actions

SWS/AW: Render tracks to mono stem tracks, obeying time selection
SWS/AW: Render tracks to stereo stem tracks, obeying time selection

it works for me...
luiso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2018, 01:29 AM   #12
semikid
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 270
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by luiso View Post
try this actions

SWS/AW: Render tracks to mono stem tracks, obeying time selection
SWS/AW: Render tracks to stereo stem tracks, obeying time selection

it works for me...
This works great! Thank you!
semikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 02:47 PM   #13
nocturn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 24
Default

hey maybe this is a good spot to ask, im having trouble running:

Xenakios/SWS: Set render speed to realtime
Track: Render selected area of tracks to stereo stem tracks (and mute originals)

its doing 32bit float, but my projects 24bit. project settings have 24bit set, in the regular render settings its always 24 bit, donno where else to look



EDIT: found it a second after posting naturally: in the project settings, you have to set "format for apply fx, freeze, glue,ect" to custom and set custom to 24bit, in my case. ARRG 5hours

Last edited by nocturn; 11-13-2018 at 03:04 PM.
nocturn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.