Old 01-22-2009, 01:50 AM   #1
frog_jr
Human being with feelings
 
frog_jr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Here at the Western World
Posts: 1,253
Default Render to external helper

Not having a "render to external file" action has always bugged me. Until Deadbeef & Co. hear my plea, here is a decent workaround, I think. Download this file, Moveit.exe to any folder you want to render to. Then go into preferences and select moveit.exe as one of your external editors. (HInt -- get Xenakios_Commands.dll from the resources page, which gives you 2 more external editors to send to.)

Then when you want to render to an external file, you can slice any part of a track, select your slice, select "open item with external" on the right click menu, and it will be copied to your external render directory (wherever you put Moveit) in whatever format you've designated for your renders.

Or you may create a new action called "render to external" and include these two actions, "Apply track FX as new take," and "Open item with external editor" and it will do what it says; apply FX, and give the FX-rendered take to Moveit.

If you have the folder Moveit is in in your media explorer as a shortcut, you can go there easily and view the newly created files, and drag and drop them to reasamplomatic or whatever.
;-----------------------------------------------------
Moveit is just a helper. Any file "opened" with Moveit.exe is simply copied to the folder Moveit resides in, nothing more. Oh, yeah, except if there is already a file by that name, the filename is truncated to the first 16 chars and the date+time (MMddhhmmss) is added. Filenames < 16 chars are not trunced.

This works with multiple items. I have not done extensive testing yet so far, just 3 items with 3 VST filters.
;-----------------------------------------------------
Possible future options might include a renaming dialog, but this way is fast. Somebody tell me if I'm reinventing the wheel here. As far as I can figure there isn't a really easy way to do this.
;-----------------------------------------------------

Download:

http://homeofthegnome.net/4.rpr/Moveit.exe

Source (Autohotkey script of course):

Code:
;This is intended to do one thing only -- be a sendto helper for Reaper.
SplitPath,1,Filen
Length := StrLen(Filen)
IfNotExist,%A_ScriptDir%\%Filen% 
{
Filecopy,%1%,%A_ScriptDir%
}
else
{
SplitPath,1,,,ext,noext
StringLen, Len, noext
If Len > 16
{
StringTrimRight, noext2, noext, (Len - 16)
MsgBox,Truncating filename to %noext2%
Dweezil = %A_ScriptDir%\%noext2%-%A_MM%%A_DD%%A_Hour%%A_Min%%A_Sec%.%ext%
}
Else
Dweezil = %A_ScriptDir%\%noext%-%A_MM%%A_DD%%A_Hour%%A_Min%%A_Sec%.%ext%
Filecopy %1%, %Dweezil%
}
Return

Last edited by frog_jr; 01-22-2009 at 03:17 AM.
frog_jr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 05:21 AM   #2
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South, UK
Posts: 14,218
Default

I'm bumping this as it's a great idea that needs to be shown to more people until we get a good way to export multiple files easily and quickly!

great work!
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 06:35 AM   #3
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South, UK
Posts: 14,218
Default

One thing I found is that the Xenakios 3rd editor option does not allow you to do multiple files but the normal editors do.

Also if you choose "move" instead of copy does it move the reference for these files?

will try myself in a bit

thanks for this though, somehow missed it.

Hope the Dev team implements this soon!
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 05:54 PM   #4
frog_jr
Human being with feelings
 
frog_jr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Here at the Western World
Posts: 1,253
Default

Whah, a reply! I always figured I must have been wrong with this idea since no-one ever responded. Thanks for saying something. --frog
frog_jr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 06:26 PM   #5
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South, UK
Posts: 14,218
Default

No it's great!

I know Xenakios has an extractor for single files but this is great for multiple ones.

Any chance you know how to make one where you can choose a directory to export them to?

if not, it's still great!
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 07:30 PM   #6
frog_jr
Human being with feelings
 
frog_jr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Here at the Western World
Posts: 1,253
Default

Well due to the overwhelming popular demand, I guess I can do that. I'll get back to you sometime within the next 48 hrs.

Cheers, frog
frog_jr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 09:01 PM   #7
frog_jr
Human being with feelings
 
frog_jr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Here at the Western World
Posts: 1,253
Default

OK, here is a different version. This one lets you choose the destination folder. The one minor problem I have with it is if you send it multiple files you have to choose dest folder for each one.

But it copies your destination folder's path to the clipboard, so you can choose to paste it in there for the following files and press Enter, ta-ta-poum.

And like the original version, the default copy-to dir is the folder of this executable. So if you just press enter when the dialog comes up, it will copy to that dir.

Moveit2.exe does not truncate filenames or append date/time infos like the previous version. Rather, if there's already a file called Bob.wav and you use Moveit2 to render another one there, the new one would be Bob--2.wav. The next would beBob--3.wav, etc. Simple as that.

New version:

http://homeofthegnome.net/4.rpr/Moveit2.exe

Source:

Code:
;This is intended to do one thing only -- be a sendto helper for Reaper.

FileSelectFolder,Roxanne,*%A_ScriptDir%,3,Select Destination Folder Baby
Roxanne := RegExReplace(Roxanne, "\\$") 
Noees = %1%

Clipboard = %Roxanne%

SplitPath,Noees,Filen,,ext,noext

IfNotExist,%Roxanne%\%Filen% 
	{
		Filecopy,%Noees%,%Roxanne%\%Filen%
	}
else
	{
		Guzpa = 1
		Loop,%Roxanne%\*.*
			{
				IfInString,A_LoopFileName,%noext%
				Guzpa++
			}
		FileCopy,%Noees%,%Roxanne%\%noext%--%Guzpa%.%ext%
	}

Return
I hope you find that satisfactory, MusicByNumbers. I'm not a professional coder but I'm learning.

Cheers, frog
frog_jr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 07:08 AM   #8
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South, UK
Posts: 14,218
Default

I will give it a go thanks does it still ask multiple times if you use it in editor slot 1 or 2? I only ask because it would not do multiple items in slots 3 and 4 and this could be related although i'm not a programmer

Thanks anyway, it might be easier for multiple items to use the original version but this new sounds great for a few files only! Thanks

I wish the devs would put this in though for multiple items, it's been asked for a lot
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 07:59 AM   #9
frog_jr
Human being with feelings
 
frog_jr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Here at the Western World
Posts: 1,253
Default

OK. I'm sure there's a better way to do it with multiple files but that will take me a minute. I'll check in w/ you in a day or 2 unless I go on a bender.
frog_jr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 08:39 AM   #10
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South, UK
Posts: 14,218
Default

thanks! have a good one!
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 08:43 PM   #11
frog_jr
Human being with feelings
 
frog_jr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Here at the Western World
Posts: 1,253
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
thanks! have a good one!
I came up with what may be called a quick-n-dirty solution.

First, copy the path of the directory you want the file(s) to be written to into your Windows clipboard. Then use Reaper's "Open items with" moveit3.exe and it will copy them all there, appending a number if other files with your filenames exist there already. You can just copy the path name from your Media Explorer or Windows Explorer's address bars.

So long as nothing else writes to the clipboard during your operation it will all work perfectly. (Note that you have to use a true path name, not My Documents or Desktop.)

I wanted to do something more elegant, but hey, maybe this will hold you until then. Did I mention that you have to have a directory pathname in the clipboard, or else you could set your computer on fire? I hate it when it does that.

Source:

Code:
;This is intended to do one thing only -- be a sendto helper for Reaper.

Noees = %1%

SplitPath,Noees,Filen,,ext,noext

Roxanne = %Clipboard%

    Loop %Roxanne%, 1
        Roxanne = %A_LoopFileLongPath%
	MsgBox,,Moveit3, Storage path will be %Roxanne%,1
 
IfExist,%Roxanne%\%Filen% 

	{
		Guzpa = 1
		Loop,%Roxanne%\*.*
			{
				IfInString,A_LoopFileName,%noext%
				Guzpa++
			}
		FileCopy,%Noees%,%Roxanne%\%noext%--%Guzpa%.%ext%
	}
		else

	Filecopy,%Noees%,%Roxanne%\%Filen%

			
Clipboard = %Roxanne%

Return
Executable: http://homeofthegnome.net/4.rpr/Moveit3.exe

Last edited by frog_jr; 07-31-2009 at 08:47 PM. Reason: I R stuped
frog_jr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 05:04 AM   #12
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South, UK
Posts: 14,218
Default

Thanks a lot for this! I see you enjoy a challenge! will try it out today.

So, just to make sure.. If i don't have a filepath in the clipboard it won't just copy the files to the original place but will cause a "circular instruction" and offer my processor up as a sacrifice in a blitz of fire? lol

If so, i will imprint the above instructions deeply into my mind!
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 04:40 PM   #13
frog_jr
Human being with feelings
 
frog_jr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Here at the Western World
Posts: 1,253
Default

Well, it might not catch on fire. But it interprets whatever text that happens to be in the clipboard as a path name, That's one reason why I consider this a quickndirty solution. so let's modify the messagebox dialog so if it wasn't what you wanted you could stop it. Hang on.



Cheers,
-- frog
frog_jr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 01:47 AM   #14
frog_jr
Human being with feelings
 
frog_jr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Here at the Western World
Posts: 1,253
Default

OK, this may be the last time I do this. I've wound up spending too much time on this this weekend. :-) I think this is what you wanted, MusicByNumbers. Tested a little bit on my XP box. Usual disclaimers apply, like you use this at your own risk.

To recap, if you use "Edit with external" and have this selected as that external editor, it will allow you to select/create a destination folder for your copies. It will append a numeral to the end if a file by that name already exists.

Code:
;This is intended to do one thing only -- be a sendto helper for Reaper.

Noees = %1%

SplitPath,Noees,Filen,OutDir,ext,noext

Zuzzy = %A_ScriptDir%\FileCopyTemp\

	
;*  IfWinExist, Browse For Folder
;* Return
	
FileCreateDir,%Zuzzy%

Filecopy,%Noees%,%Zuzzy%\%Filen%
FileAppend,%Zuzzy%\%Filen%`n,%Zuzzy%\FileCopy.txt
	
Roger = %Zuzzy%\FileCopy.txt

IfWinExist, Browse For Folder
ExitApp

Sleep,1000
FileSelectFolder,Roxanne,%A_ScriptDir%,3,Select Destination Folder Baby
Roxanne := RegExReplace(Roxanne, "\\$")
 
    Loop %Roxanne%, 1
	{
        Roxanne = %A_LoopFileLongPath%
	}

Loop, Read, %Roger%  
	{
	SplitPath,A_LoopReadLine,Fuzzy,outdir2,ext2,noext2
	Buzzy = %Fuzzy%
	IfExist,%Roxanne%\%Fuzzy% 
		{
			Guzpa = 1
			Loop,%Roxanne%\*.*
				{
					IfInString,A_LoopFileName,%noext2%
					Guzpa++
					Buzzy = %noext2%--%Guzpa%.%ext2%
				}
		}
	FileMove,%Zuzzy%\%Fuzzy%,%Roxanne%\%Buzzy%
	}
FileRemoveDir,%Zuzzy%,1

IfWinExist, Browse For Folder
WinClose, Browse For Folder

Return
Executable here:

http://homeofthegnome.net/4.rpr/Moveit5.exe

Last edited by frog_jr; 08-03-2009 at 01:50 AM. Reason: Purging the heresies I say
frog_jr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 04:30 AM   #15
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South, UK
Posts: 14,218
Default

I completely appreciate you doing this and will be trying it out later! i'm sure loads of people will find this useful but might be missing it so will put the word out to people who might find it useful and maybe drum up a donation too!
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 11:40 AM   #16
frog_jr
Human being with feelings
 
frog_jr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Here at the Western World
Posts: 1,253
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
maybe drum up a donation too!
No, thanks. I'm just trying to contribute myself here. And develop some skills.

Cheers, Frog
frog_jr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 03:05 PM   #17
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South, UK
Posts: 14,218
Default

Just tried it and it's pretty damn good!

haven't tried it with anything "mega" yet but for 20 files it worked fine!

will let you know how I get on with it!

Have a good one and thanks again!
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 07:54 PM   #18
frog_jr
Human being with feelings
 
frog_jr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Here at the Western World
Posts: 1,253
Default

A little more testing has revealed that if the files to be moved are either reasonably small, or all about the same size, they all get moved/rendered without further input from the user. However, if the files are really large or of different lengths, you may need to interact with the select folder dialog more than once. So my little program is still not really where I want it but that's all I'm doing for right now.

Last edited by frog_jr; 08-03-2009 at 07:56 PM. Reason: fear and loathing
frog_jr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 04:38 AM   #19
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South, UK
Posts: 14,218
Default

Thanks for the heads up does this happen with the original move it might use that one for this
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 08:30 AM   #20
manning1
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,957
Default

frog_jr
there is also another way mate..if one dont wanna solo n render.
lets say you have a trak with quite a few edits.
1. copy whole trak shebang to a new trak n glue.
2. give the glued trak a new name...easily spotted.
3. go into the folder in win containing all the song traks n clips.
4. just copy n paste out the file with a unique id
to where you want it useing win copy n paste.
(right clik to copy n paste.)
5. delete the glued trak with unique id back in rpr or keep it at your option.

Last edited by manning1; 08-04-2009 at 04:04 PM.
manning1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 12:46 PM   #21
frog_jr
Human being with feelings
 
frog_jr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Here at the Western World
Posts: 1,253
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
Thanks for the heads up does this happen with the original move it might use that one for this
I'll make another later this week then. There's another way but I've never done it before.
frog_jr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 12:47 PM   #22
frog_jr
Human being with feelings
 
frog_jr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Here at the Western World
Posts: 1,253
Default

(quote) frog_jr
there is also another way mate..if one dont wanna solo n render.
lets say you have a trak with quite a few edits.
1. copy whole trak shebang to a new trak n glue.
2. give the glued trak a new name...easily spotted.
3. go into the folder in win containing all the song traks n clips.
4. just copy n paste out the file with a unique id
to where you want it useing win copy n paste.
(right clik to copy n paste.)
5. delete the glued trak with unique id bsack in rpr or keep it at your option.(/quote)

Ka-kow!
frog_jr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 08:52 PM   #23
manning1
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,957
Default

frog jr.
what does kakow mean ??
i'm reading a thriller series of books right now called the cat who...
about 2 siamese cats that help a reporter called qwill
solve crime cases. highly recommended reading..author is lilian
jackson braun . 25 books in the cat who series.
one of the cats is called KOKO..lol.
hence why i asked.
manning1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 01:25 PM   #24
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South, UK
Posts: 14,218
Default

bump because its a very useful app that many of the new guys might be aware of!

COCKOS PLEASE can we have it so when you drag multiple files out of reaper it exports ALL OF THEM!

yeah!
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 07:09 PM   #25
frog_jr
Human being with feelings
 
frog_jr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Here at the Western World
Posts: 1,253
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
bump because its a very useful app that many of the new guys might be aware of!

COCKOS PLEASE can we have it so when you drag multiple files out of reaper it exports ALL OF THEM!

yeah!
I second that emotion. But not necessarily dragging, as far as I'm concerned. A "render to external" right-click item, please, for single or plural items and for time selections is what I need. I mean we can pretty much do that already with scripting but it's more involved than I prefer.

Cheers, frog
frog_jr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 03:38 PM   #26
Joystick
Human being with feelings
 
Joystick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Athens / Greece
Posts: 625
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frog_jr View Post
I second that emotion. But not necessarily dragging, as far as I'm concerned. A "render to external" right-click item, please, for single or plural items and for time selections is what I need. I mean we can pretty much do that already with scripting but it's more involved than I prefer.

Cheers, frog
If you like region exporting try reading this design:

http://www.panozk.com/wp-content/upl...ort-Design.png

And vote for the feature here:

http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=3154

Cheers!
__________________
Pan Athen
SoundFellas Immersive Audio Labs
www.soundfellas.com
Joystick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 05:26 PM   #27
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South, UK
Posts: 14,218
Default

I would love this feature too (and have voted)

For now though I think the batch converter now has the option to add the items from the selection in the arrange which means it's possible to multi export now.

I would still prefer control and alt to work on multiple items but till then
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 06:22 AM   #28
Joystick
Human being with feelings
 
Joystick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Athens / Greece
Posts: 625
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
I would love this feature too (and have voted)

For now though I think the batch converter now has the option to add the items from the selection in the arrange which means it's possible to multi export now.

I would still prefer control and alt to work on multiple items but till then
As I answer on the other post it doesn't export with the effects of the track, the name of the region and most importantly, usually a sound effect is a combination of many sound mixed in various track formations, so this doesn't export that which is crucial for layered sound design.

Thanks for the vote, it would be a life-saver for sound designer, wouldn't it?
__________________
Pan Athen
SoundFellas Immersive Audio Labs
www.soundfellas.com
Joystick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 07:45 AM   #29
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South, UK
Posts: 14,218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joystick View Post
As I answer on the other post it doesn't export with the effects of the track, the name of the region and most importantly, usually a sound effect is a combination of many sound mixed in various track formations, so this doesn't export that which is crucial for layered sound design.

Thanks for the vote, it would be a life-saver for sound designer, wouldn't it?
Ah your right, that is a shame and would really love to see this happen soon!
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.