Old 06-05-2013, 12:53 PM   #401
Jeffsounds
Human being with feelings
 
Jeffsounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Northeast Michigan
Posts: 2,965
Default

Something else I found and this might be hard to follow:

Tried to write a "send guitar to reverb" envelope that was basically off until it got to a certain spot in the song and then it turned on. Would not work for me when writing from the guitar track. But it DID work for me when I wrote the envelope from the reverb track, which is weird because it showed the envelope in the guitar track. I did not delete the original envelope when I wrote the 2nd envelope and the guitar track showed BOTH envelopes?!?!?!?! I deleted the original and at that point could tell that the 2nd envelope was working correctly.

I checked the fader in the send/receive box of the guitar track and it showed the volume fader at inf, where it stayed until the envelope went to 0. Checked the fader in the send/receive box on the reverb track and it showed the fader at 0 where it stayed no matter what the envelope was doing.

I'm going to have to go back to Reaborn if this theme isn't going to work.

But I really like this theme, Albert! Amazing job!!!
__________________
"Music is a fundamental human desire." - Mike Butera
Jeffsounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 02:05 PM   #402
Milt
Human being with feelings
 
Milt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 342
Default

Many thanks, Albert for your good and hard work!
Milt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 02:09 PM   #403
Andy_bt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Paris
Posts: 163
Default

Just noticed I can't grab the right pan on the TCP, left works fine...?
A.
Andy_bt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 02:53 PM   #404
DoglegSniff
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by metal_priest View Post
hey!
it's a reaper pref

go to options-appareance and select "tint track panel backgrounds"
Cheers M_P - managed to figure it out and ...it looks even more awesome!
DoglegSniff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 08:08 PM   #405
pcmusicpro
Human being with feelings
 
pcmusicpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cali, Colombia.
Posts: 613
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy_bt View Post
Just noticed I can't grab the right pan on the TCP, left works fine...?
A.
Same here.

Maybe a bug?
pcmusicpro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 08:56 PM   #406
fak0u
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 55
Default

Very Nice theme !

Important things missing though
-peak level indicator on meter
-send level
-Actual dBFS levels on meters ! (should I say metering ?

Problems
-pan very difficult to use in TCP
-second pan not active in TCP
-buggy pans, sometimes resetting to center simply does not work
-FX PARM not working in TCP
-Visual Glitch on Playback Rate Button when Global Automation is set to Touch/Latch/Write
-Regions/Markers not really readable (color choice)
-default waveform color is set to... Flashy Green ?? Blue/Grey would be more Ptools like
-not so beautiful light grey toolbars buttons, hard to say if the button is activated or not. Is it possible to use default buttons ?
fak0u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 08:59 PM   #407
Susan G
Human being with feelings
 
Susan G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Putnam County, NY, USA
Posts: 3,934
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pcmusicpro View Post
Same here.

Maybe a bug?
Seems to work fine here. I can click & drag left & right and double-click to reset the pan to center in the TCP.

-Susan
Susan G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 09:02 PM   #408
Susan G
Human being with feelings
 
Susan G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Putnam County, NY, USA
Posts: 3,934
Default

Hi Albert-

Congratulations on an absolutely beautiful theme !

Thanks!

-Susan
Susan G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 09:05 PM   #409
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,941
Default

did something happen to the link on page 1? The stash says it's not there... Is it being updated perhaps?
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 09:27 PM   #410
pixeltarian
Human being with feelings
 
pixeltarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Minneaplis
Posts: 3,308
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
did something happen to the link on page 1? The stash says it's not there... Is it being updated perhaps?
https://stash.reaper.fm/theme/1199/Al...%29%20BETA%201
pixeltarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 01:12 AM   #411
albertxxxx
Human being with feelings
 
albertxxxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Canary Islands (Tenerife)
Posts: 1,615
Default

It's the same ... I wanted to change the screenshot and I removed the theme .. sorry
albertxxxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 02:55 AM   #412
albertxxxx
Human being with feelings
 
albertxxxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Canary Islands (Tenerife)
Posts: 1,615
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by albertxxxx View Post
:: PRO-TOOLS X ::

This is a beta version .... its incomplete and may contain some bugs.
some elements are provisional and belonging to other themes (imperial reaborn ...)


NEXT UPDATE XX/XX/2013

. Fixed some bugs
. Improved touch response with the mouse of sliders
+ New layouts
+ Now, fxparm in tcp be optional in TCP
. Fixed bugs in transport


https://stash.reaper.fm/theme/1199/Al...%29%20BETA%201

fixing bugs ..

Last edited by albertxxxx; 06-06-2013 at 03:12 AM.
albertxxxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 08:48 AM   #413
ashasha
Human being with feelings
 
ashasha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 121
Default

Fairly new Reaper user here. Am I to understand that the theme creator has to do all the work of creating the alternate size items in the options menu to work correctly or is that something that I need to set up?

And I just downloaded the latest beta last night and it's beautiful. I never cared for PT or AVID in terms of workflow, cost, compatibility, but I always thought they had one of the best looking UI's in terms of being able to read and get around without tons of eye fatigue.
ashasha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 08:58 AM   #414
sonnie
Human being with feelings
 
sonnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 642
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ashasha View Post
And I just downloaded the latest beta last night and it's beautiful. I never cared for PT or AVID in terms of workflow, cost, compatibility, but I always thought they had one of the best looking UI's in terms of being able to read and get around without tons of eye fatigue.

Totally agreed, except area-Selection and the automation.
sonnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 09:33 AM   #415
albertxxxx
Human being with feelings
 
albertxxxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Canary Islands (Tenerife)
Posts: 1,615
Default

UPDATE BETA 2

Fixed mayor bugs
. Improved touch response with the mouse of sliders
+ New layouts
+ Now, fxparm in tcp be optional in TCP
. Fixed bugs in transport
. Improved general appareance


https://stash.reaper.fm/theme/1199/Al...%29%20BETA%202

Last edited by albertxxxx; 06-06-2013 at 09:40 AM.
albertxxxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 09:52 AM   #416
JankoNor
Human being with feelings
 
JankoNor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Cologne, Germany
Posts: 117
Default woohooo...

Thanks a lot, Albert!!!
JankoNor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 11:51 AM   #417
marsmellow
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 97
Default

Great, Albert ;-) Thank you so much! Rea'lly awesome!
marsmellow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 11:51 AM   #418
sonnie
Human being with feelings
 
sonnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 642
Default

Your theme is that good I always try to open the mixer with Shift + Cmd + =

Just FYI some comparision pix. Maybe you can get a hand on it, if you want

Mixers


Reapers coloring looks a bit like neon. Its a overall problem, I know, but maybe you can do something about it?

Waveform/Clipview PT + Reaper





The Clips let the grid shine a tiny bit through it in PT.

Just my two minimal criticsal points. Anyway: awesome work. Love it.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2013-06-06 at 20.39.15.jpg (49.3 KB, 994 views)
File Type: png Screen Shot 2013-06-06 at 20.41.54.png (18.4 KB, 943 views)
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2013-06-06 at 20.45.00.jpg (65.6 KB, 996 views)
sonnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 12:07 PM   #419
lemoncel
Human being with feelings
 
lemoncel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonnie View Post
Your theme is that good I always try to open the mixer with Shift + Cmd + =

Just FYI some comparision pix. Maybe you can get a hand on it, if you want

Mixers


Reapers coloring looks a bit like neon. Its a overall problem, I know, but maybe you can do something about it?

Waveform/Clipview PT + Reaper





The Clips let the grid shine a tiny bit through it in PT.

Just my two minimal criticsal points. Anyway: awesome work. Love it.
You can have the grid lines shine through in Reaper - open the "Snap/Grid Settings" and set "Grid Line Z Order" to "through items".
lemoncel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 01:16 PM   #420
sonnie
Human being with feelings
 
sonnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 642
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lemoncel View Post
You can have the grid lines shine through in Reaper - open the "Snap/Grid Settings" and set "Grid Line Z Order" to "through items".
Yes, I know. But its not the same like s little different, much more visible.

Ablerts theme, Grid through:



Jannes Universe, Grid "under":



Its kind of transparent, but not too much. Reapers "through" items is just over "clipbox" and unter waveform.
My english is too bad to descibt it more correctly.
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen Shot 2013-06-06 at 22.14.41.png (23.5 KB, 923 views)
File Type: png Screen Shot 2013-06-06 at 22.15.01.png (32.3 KB, 943 views)
sonnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 01:42 PM   #421
Janne83
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,799
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonnie View Post
Yes, I know. But its not the same like s little different, much more visible.

Ablerts theme, Grid through:



Jannes Universe, Grid "under":



Its kind of transparent, but not too much. Reapers "through" items is just over "clipbox" and unter waveform.
My english is too bad to descibt it more correctly.

To achieve this effect you mustnt use images (delete or move them form the themes folder) for media item bg but only the colors in thee theme edtior and set the media item bacgr. opacity to approx 0.7-0.8.



J
__________________
Win10, R 64bit
Janne83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 01:42 PM   #422
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: City
Posts: 10,359
Default

Jannes item background image might be slightly transparent.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 01:54 PM   #423
sonnie
Human being with feelings
 
sonnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 642
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Janne83 View Post
To achieve this effect you mustnt use images (delete or move them form the themes folder) for media item bg but only the colors in thee theme edtior and set the media item bacgr. opacity to approx 0.7-0.8.

J
Ah, I did it for the selected track. And for unselected it won't happen anywhere.
sonnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 02:07 PM   #424
Janne83
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,799
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonnie View Post
Ah, I did it for the selected track. And for unselected it won't happen anywhere.
you have to remove 2 pngs: item_bg.png and item_bg_sel.png

J
__________________
Win10, R 64bit
Janne83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 02:48 PM   #425
sonnie
Human being with feelings
 
sonnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 642
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Janne83 View Post
you have to remove 2 pngs: item_bg.png and item_bg_sel.png

J
Yehaaw. Thank you.
Thats why you don't have them in your themes
sonnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 04:19 PM   #426
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,941
Default

Thanks yet again albert... it's looking quite beautiful...

I am wondering about the play rate control in the transport...

that is something I usually turn off to avoid accidents of moving it from the transport... however there seems to be no way to get that knob gone in this theme...

Is that something you intend to add in the future?
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 05:32 PM   #427
albertxxxx
Human being with feelings
 
albertxxxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Canary Islands (Tenerife)
Posts: 1,615
Default

try to improve (item_bg) for the next update ...
I've noticed some errors .... in the new layout (narrow) missing track number....I guess the next version will be 1.0




NEXT UPDATE :::: V1.0

.Fix posible bugs
.Improve some elements
.improve general appareance
albertxxxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 05:36 PM   #428
FarBeyondMetal
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 374
Default

Thanks for all the hard work Albert, it looks great. My one request if it is not too much trouble is for you to include a wide Master Mixer layout.
FarBeyondMetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 07:29 PM   #429
LogicMD
Human being with feelings
 
LogicMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 31
Default

Really like this theme, thanks for all your hard work Albert
__________________
After you learn the rules, there are no rules, just your ears, skill and creativity.....
LogicMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 08:48 PM   #430
ashasha
Human being with feelings
 
ashasha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 121
Default

Not sure if this is something you noticed or did on purpose, but when you change automation on all track types it overlays a colored rectangle over playback rate knob. I can see where this would be a great indicator of what mode you are in, but it's a bit on the "less attractive" side.

I do have to admit that I feel a bit spoiled coming into this whole thing new and getting to enjoy the fruits of your labors.
ashasha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 08:58 PM   #431
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,941
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ashasha View Post
Not sure if this is something you noticed or did on purpose, but when you change automation on all track types it overlays a colored rectangle over playback rate knob. I can see where this would be a great indicator of what mode you are in, but it's a bit on the "less attractive" side.

I do have to admit that I feel a bit spoiled coming into this whole thing new and getting to enjoy the fruits of your labors.
confirmed... but not true for just trim\read, but for the other modes yes

my guess is this was intended to not be over the playrate but over the global mode area???
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 10:25 PM   #432
pitpat
Human being with feelings
 
pitpat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 299
Default

The new narrow layout definitely helps with laptop screens. However, if its height can further be decreased, it would be a lot better.

Thanks
pitpat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 11:59 PM   #433
metal_priest
Human being with feelings
 
metal_priest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Padova
Posts: 1,396
Default

thanks again albert!

the new narrow track is really nice!
But...what is it the MASTER2 layout?
when i click on it, the tracks becomes this way:

[IMG]http://img689.**************/img689/7466/schermata20130607alle08.png[/IMG]

and, i cant still use the fxparam in the TCP..it's just a visual thing or it should work?
metal_priest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 12:16 AM   #434
eamblar
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 23
Default

Great work!.

One question,
How can I hide tracks inside the folders in the mcp?.

Last edited by eamblar; 06-07-2013 at 01:35 AM.
eamblar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 01:02 AM   #435
CaptainHook
Human being with feelings
 
CaptainHook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 323
Default

Great work Albert!
__________________
=> York Street Recording Studios <=
"Art is the expression of imagination, not the reproduction of reality." - Henry Moore
CaptainHook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 05:46 AM   #436
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: City
Posts: 10,359
Default

What other layouts do you want to add ?

One naming issue. The "Narrow" layout could probably do with a better name, because "Narrow" in the default theme and most others refers to tracks on the MCP being of less width, not height.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 05:49 AM   #437
albertxxxx
Human being with feelings
 
albertxxxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Canary Islands (Tenerife)
Posts: 1,615
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by metal_priest View Post
thanks again albert!

the new narrow track is really nice!
But...what is it the MASTER2 layout?
when i click on it, the tracks becomes this way:

[IMG]http://img689.**************/img689/7466/schermata20130607alle08.png[/IMG]

and, i cant still use the fxparam in the TCP..it's just a visual thing or it should work?
. (BUG, fixing) Select MASTER 2 in screenset/layouts.... to have a more reduced master...I will try to arrange for the mixer not see well
. First, you have to open fxparm in the mixer ...and select layout (fxparm) in tcp

Last edited by albertxxxx; 06-07-2013 at 06:14 AM.
albertxxxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 05:53 AM   #438
albertxxxx
Human being with feelings
 
albertxxxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Canary Islands (Tenerife)
Posts: 1,615
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by airon View Post
What other layouts do you want to add ?

One naming issue. The "Narrow" layout could probably do with a better name, because "Narrow" in the default theme and most others refers to tracks on the MCP being of less width, not height.

true .... "REDUCED" maybe?
new layout?
I do not know, probably will be very similar design aspects mainly changing the VU meter, and a separator track

Last edited by albertxxxx; 06-07-2013 at 06:02 AM.
albertxxxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 08:01 AM   #439
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: City
Posts: 10,359
Default

"Low" or "Small" perhaps ? Those are terms associated with height.

The fader throw is smaller after all.

Automation.
Write looks nice and alarming. The other two writing modes are hard to tell apart. Did coloured buttons look bad ?

The default and several other themes colour the fader guidance track(black part on which the fader travels) when READ(green), LATCH(yellow, red when writing), TOUCH(yellow, red when writing) or WRITE(always red) is engaged, and if the volume envelope is activated and armed. It is a very fast way to see what automation modes are active on the tracks. This is missing from the theme at this time.


FX buttons(labeled "Inserts" in the theme) get a little lost. I am used to being able to see whether the effects exist, are bypassed or active. The difference between "no effects are there" and "there are effects here" is dramatically reduced, making it a little harder, though I'm not 100% sure that's bad and I may just be used to more. So I'm not going to suggest any changes there, since it may just be my preference.

What do others think ? Is the indicator for the presence and activation of an effects chain strong enough or not ?
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom

Last edited by airon; 06-07-2013 at 08:06 AM.
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 10:16 AM   #440
metal_priest
Human being with feelings
 
metal_priest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Padova
Posts: 1,396
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by albertxxxx View Post
. (BUG, fixing) Select MASTER 2 in screenset/layouts.... to have a more reduced master...I will try to arrange for the mixer not see well
. First, you have to open fxparm in the mixer ...and select layout (fxparm) in tcp
yeah, i got the first one, thanks!
now the master track looks perfect on my 13" screen.

but...cant really understand the fxparm...maybe it's a reaper feature that i dont know!
I cant find nothin in the mixer about fxparm, and when i set the "fxparm" on the tcp and i go with my mouse on it, i can see the yellow text about the "width 0%" and "width 100%"!
what am i missing?

anyway, i used this theme on a 42" screen, and OMG! it looks amazing!
metal_priest is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.