Old 10-11-2018, 10:11 AM   #1
maggotspawn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 29
Default Closing a Project...

When I close a project, Reaper immediately want to create a new project.
I generally would prefer to open a different project. How do I stop this behavior?
maggotspawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 10:33 AM   #2
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,053
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maggotspawn View Post
When I close a project, Reaper immediately want to create a new project.
Yeah, that's the default behavior for closing the last project (tab) in the window.

Quote:
I generally would prefer to open a different project. How do I stop this behavior?
One option is to open another project directly (for instance, via 'File > Open Project') with the current project still opened - which will replace the currently loaded project in the window/tab.
As a side note: you'll usually also get a [ Save unsaved project before closing? ] prompt window if the current project wasn't saved before opening another project over it directly.


Another option would be to make a Custom Action with something like this:
Code:
Close current project tab
File: Open project
And assigning this Custom Action then to a key shortcut, menu, toolbar button, etc.


You might also find ReaLauncher useful in this case (see link in my signature)
__________________
ReaLauncher

Last edited by solger; 10-11-2018 at 11:29 AM.
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 12:37 PM   #3
maggotspawn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 29
Default

Thanks. Checking out ReaLauncher now.
maggotspawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 12:44 PM   #4
maggotspawn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 29
Default

Just tried your Custom Action. Seems to work great. Thanks again.
maggotspawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 01:29 PM   #5
maggotspawn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 29
Default

Well, I spoke to soon. Tried it on my internet PC, and it worked.
Doesn't seem to work correctly on my DAW though.
Still interested in ReaLauncher though.
maggotspawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2018, 07:52 AM   #6
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,053
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maggotspawn View Post
...Tried it on my internet PC, and it worked.
Doesn't seem to work correctly on my DAW though.
What exactly isn't working in this case (can you post more details)?
__________________
ReaLauncher
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2018, 09:03 AM   #7
maggotspawn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by solger View Post
What exactly isn't working in this case (can you post more details)?
With my internet PC, it closes the project, then prompts to open a project.
With my DAW, it closes the project, then wants to create a new project. If I close those windows, then it wants to open a project.
maggotspawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2018, 11:54 AM   #8
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,053
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maggotspawn View Post
With my DAW, it closes the project, then wants to create a new project. If I close those windows, then it wants to open a project.
Just a wild guess: do you perhaps have Preferences > Project > Prompt to save on new project enabled?

Otherwise can you maybe post a screenshot of this 'create a new project window'.
Quote:
... then wants to create a new project. If I close those windows ...
Or a licecap screen capture which shows this behavior? https://www.cockos.com/licecap/
__________________
ReaLauncher
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2018, 12:01 PM   #9
maggotspawn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by solger View Post
Just a wild guess: do you perhaps have Preferences > Project > Prompt to save on new project enabled?

Otherwise can you maybe post a screenshot of this 'create a new project window'.


Or a licecap screen capture which shows this behavior? https://www.cockos.com/licecap/
It was the Prompt to save on new project.
It's working as it should now. Thank you.
maggotspawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2018, 12:06 PM   #10
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,053
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maggotspawn View Post
It was the Prompt to save on new project.
It's working as it should now. Thank you.
Great
__________________
ReaLauncher
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.