Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Old 03-23-2023, 02:53 PM   #1
an3
Human being with feelings

Default Recording Arturia Keylab in Reaper (aka Have I lost the track I recorded?)

Hi there - I'm new to Reaper and recording, so I imagine my issue is "operator error" and not the program itself. I am trying to find the solution to this, but since I am new I also don't know what keywords to search for and my terminology in this post may be a little wonky (apologies if this question has been asked before).

I am using an Arturia Keylab with Reaper. These are the steps I took to use it 1. I connected the Keylab to my Mac laptop
2. I armed the track
3. For the "IN FX" I put the input as MIDI
4. I then went to FX and chose VSTi: Analog Lab 4 (Arturia) and chose sounds from there.

I recorded the track and changed sounds throughout (is this the rookie mistake?)

When I listened back, the track had all of the different sounds that I used throughout. I saved the project, closed Reaper. When I reopened Reaper I could still listen to the track how I had recorded it.

The next day I opened Reaper and now the whole track is only one sound. I think it chose the last sound I used before closing everything down for the night.

Does anyone have experience with recording with the Arturia Keylab in Reaper?

Also....is there any way to get my track back or do I need to give up on that hope?

Thanks for any help/insights y'all can offer. I appreciate it
an3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2023, 05:59 PM   #2
DaveCoast

I have the keylab61.

Wild guess here...

When recording MIDI you're not recording sounds you're just recording midi instructions. Then you apply sounds with a vst like AnalogLabV. Unless you print that sound (render), you just have a MIDI item.

So, you can change the vst at any time with the same notes (instructions).

Is that close to where you are confused?
DaveCoast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2023, 07:47 AM   #3
an3