Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Q&A, Tips, Tricks and Howto

Old 07-06-2021, 05:39 PM   #1
Mufkatar
Human being with feelings

Default Create new automation envelope with each take?

Hi folks,

I'm pretty new to Reaper. I'm on PC(Windows 10), using Reaper version 6.29.

I find it weird that when I record a guitar audio track, using a MIDI expression pedal for the wah effect, the MIDI data (envelope) gets overwritten with each new take. Highly vexing, as I'd very much like to preserve the entire performance within each take, so that if I switch back to take 1, not only audio but also the wah (MIDI) data from take 1 gets played. But only the last recorded MIDI data is preserved, and is unaffected by switching between take lanes.

I'm sure I must be missing something, because this seems highly illogical and counter-intuitive to me?

I've trawled through Kenny's videos and other resources including the forums, but have yet to find an explanation or solution.

Hoping someone can enlighten me - many kudos in advance. :-)
Mufkatar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2021, 12:33 PM   #2
Mufkatar

Default Trying again

Okay, perhaps if I'll rephrase and redefine what I really need, someone will take pity on me? Here's hoping.

Basically, I just want to record both my guitar (DI audio) and the wah performance alongside (MIDI data), both as takes I can switch between to audition the best one.

Right now, I'm trying with the wah MIDI data as an envelope, but no joy as envelopes don't seem to have takes - they are overwritten.

I wouldn't mind recording audio to one track and the MIDI to another, only I am using the "Learn" feature because the MIDI data are coming in as CC#11, and my Guitarport device (that provides the wah DSP effect) only responds to CC#4, so I need to "translate" the MIDI data in some way.