Old 01-23-2023, 12:22 PM   #1
alphoc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 295
Default Unnumbered separator track

I have a problem with theme editing, as you know there is something called seperator layout. But unfortunately they also have something meaningless like the track number at the bottom. Here is a way to delete the track number from the track we use as the seperator? It would be great if the track number after the seperator could be a continuation of the one before the seperator.
alphoc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2023, 02:54 PM   #2
PetrWerba
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 15
Default

The separator track is only a visual trick.
In fact this is a regular track and has its own ID number, which can be hidden by editing the color theme.
PetrWerba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2023, 01:29 AM   #3
Pleziosaurus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 2
Default

In fact, there is a way to have a "unumbered separator track". I've seen themes (I don't remember which ones) that provide MCP layouts with tracks that have an empty space reserved on their right. Using this layout and a subsequent default track, you'll get a gap between the two of them.

Sorry if this is unclear, english is not my mother tongue...
Pleziosaurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2023, 10:47 AM   #4
rncwalker
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: South Fl.
Posts: 681
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alphoc View Post
I have a problem with theme editing, as you know there is something called seperator layout. But unfortunately they also have something meaningless like the track number at the bottom. Here is a way to delete the track number from the track we use as the seperator? It would be great if the track number after the seperator could be a continuation of the one before the seperator.
It can be done!, But understand that if you are using the version 6 theme, you can set it to work in the Theme adjuster.

If it's a version 5 or 4 theme, you can use Walter to create your Separator.
You just need to decide which way you want it, as there are "Pros and Cons" to whatever way you want to do it. You also need to know your way around Walter a little.

Below is how you could make it look.
Between tracks 4 & 5 there is a divider that will not cause you to loose a track.
The wood divider between tracks 5 & 7 shows that you lost track 6.

For me, loosing track 6 is a problem as I use a control surface and it would not know to skip that track.




Robert
rncwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2023, 12:26 PM   #5
synkrotron
Human being with feelings
 
synkrotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Warrington, UK
Posts: 1,402
Default

none of my tracks have a track number... it is of no use to me

but to achieve that I had to turn to Walter and create my own theme from scratch, which is much easier than you think
__________________
Bandcamp // YouTube // SoundCloud
synkrotron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2023, 07:19 AM   #6
alphoc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 295
Default

Thanks for the posts, but I still don't quite understand what to do.

Maybe I didn't explain it fully, what I want is that the track number does not appear on the seperator track. Of course, it would be good for me to learn a way to do this if possible.
alphoc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2023, 09:06 AM   #7
rncwalker
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: South Fl.
Posts: 681
Default

@alphoc,

1st) What is the name of the theme you are using?
Need to know that, to provide you with what to do.

2nd) Do you plan on changing themes a lot?
If you do change themes a lot, then there is no point in doing anything, as each theme would need to be changed.

3rd) do you know anything about how to use Walter?
If you have no knowledge of Walter, it will require some learning.

With out this information, there is not any good information that we can provide to you yet!


EDIT: Read this post to get a little understanding of what's involved.

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....85#post2639585


Robert

Last edited by rncwalker; 01-25-2023 at 09:12 AM. Reason: Reference post
rncwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2023, 09:22 AM   #8
SNJUK2
Human being with feelings
 
SNJUK2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Zhytomyr,Ukraine
Posts: 248
Default

Hi Example
Unpack theme Edit rtconfig- Add layout (Mixer)

Layout "Separator" "Sep" ;-- Sep -folder in theme with: mcp_bg.png & mcp_bgsel.png
;--if dont need del "Sep"
clear mcp.*

set mcp.size [19 550] ;--width hight

set mcp.label [3 300 15 60 0 0 0 0] ;--If you need
set mcp.label.color [240 240 240] ;--if not
set mcp.label.font [3] ;--del

set mcp.extmixer.mode [1]
set mcp.extmixer.position [0]

EndLayout
__________________
Ableton Live Config
SNJUK2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2023, 09:32 AM   #9
rncwalker
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: South Fl.
Posts: 681
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SNJUK2 View Post
Hi Example
Unpack theme Edit rtconfig- Add layout (Mixer)

Layout "Separator" "Sep" ;-- Sep -folder in theme with: mcp_bg.png & mcp_bgsel.png
;--if dont need del "Sep"
clear mcp.*

set mcp.size [19 550] ;--width hight

set mcp.label [3 300 15 60 0 0 0 0] ;--If you need
set mcp.label.color [240 240 240] ;--if not
set mcp.label.font [3] ;--del

set mcp.extmixer.mode [1]
set mcp.extmixer.position [0]

EndLayout
The Problem with this is; if he is using the version 6 theme, none of this information you provide will work!

Robert
rncwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2023, 10:06 AM   #10
SNJUK2
Human being with feelings
 
SNJUK2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Zhytomyr,Ukraine
Posts: 248
Default

Why not?

__________________
Ableton Live Config
SNJUK2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2023, 10:17 AM   #11
Rednroll
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,630
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SNJUK2 View Post
Why not?

It's verboten and you will be scolded and punished for modifying the default theme.
Rednroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2023, 12:07 PM   #12
alphoc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 295
Default

Thanks a lot, my theme Logic 3.90

The result was not like the photo above, maybe I failed. It's like a tricky job.

Last edited by alphoc; 01-25-2023 at 12:26 PM.
alphoc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2023, 12:52 PM   #13
synkrotron
Human being with feelings
 
synkrotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Warrington, UK
Posts: 1,402
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alphoc View Post
The result was not like the photo above, maybe I failed. It's like a tricky job.
it is easier, much easier to create a theme from scratch than it is to modify a possibly quite complex theme


one of the main reasons for complex code is to allow Joe Public to alter a theme without having to learn Walter

if you are making a theme for your own use it then becomes remarkably simple
__________________
Bandcamp // YouTube // SoundCloud
synkrotron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2023, 01:59 PM   #14
SNJUK2
Human being with feelings
 
SNJUK2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Zhytomyr,Ukraine
Posts: 248
Default

Oh sorry - "Sep" folder
Attached Files
File Type: zip Sep.zip (1.1 KB, 4 views)
__________________
Ableton Live Config
SNJUK2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.