Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for Linux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-10-2018, 11:21 AM   #1
JohnnysCash
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 6
Default Reaper Experimental Linux Version Installation Question

Hello,

I am trying to install reaper on Ubuntu by copy/paste the install-reaper.sh file into terminal.

Terminal prompts me to select either V,R,I or A to continue. I have read the readme text, but I still have no idea what these options are or what they mean.

I'd be very appreciative if someone could point me in the right direction.

P.S. I'm a total Linux noob.

Thanks!
JohnnysCash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 11:33 AM   #2
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Luxembourg/Spain
Posts: 1,684
Default

Probably better to change directory to where you extracted the files and run
Code:
sh install-reaper.sh
__________________
Reaper for Linux Documentation (WIP). Software: Archlinux/KDE, Fabfilter FX, Komplete 8, Nebula, Schwa/Stillwell, T-racks Max/Amplitube/SVX, etc. Gear: i7-2600k/4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040,etc. :)
Jack Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 11:34 AM   #3
Glennbo
Human being with feelings
 
Glennbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 2,743
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnysCash View Post
Hello,

I am trying to install reaper on Ubuntu by copy/paste the install-reaper.sh file into terminal.

Terminal prompts me to select either V,R,I or A to continue. I have read the readme text, but I still have no idea what these options are or what they mean.

I'd be very appreciative if someone could point me in the right direction.

P.S. I'm a total Linux noob.

Thanks!
I started messing with REAPER for Linux before there was an install script, so I haven't used it because I put REAPER manually into .local/share not knowing where the best place for it to live was.

Anyway, reading through the install script I see the following.

[V]iew readme-linux.txt and REAPER license agreement
[R]un REAPER from $srcpath/reaper
[I]nstall REAPER (you will be prompted for various options)
[A]dd desktop integration for $srcpath/reaper

If you do an [I] for install, it will prompt you for options along the way.

PS, you can also do what I did which is to just unzip the archive and copy the REAPER folder where ever you want, provided you have the permissions to do so. You will have to create your own links to REAPER and icons on your menu to start it up though.
__________________
Glennbo
Soundclick - http://www.soundclick.com/glennbo
--
Glennbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 11:35 AM   #4
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The vast, frozen wasteland of western Canadia.
Posts: 5,552
Default

It should be explaining the options right above the prompt.

Code:
  [V]iew readme-linux.txt and REAPER license agreement

  [R]un REAPER from /home/user/Downloads/reaper_linux_x86_64/REAPER/reaper

     You can run REAPER without installing it.
     Your ~/.config/REAPER/ directory will be used

  [I]nstall REAPER (you will be prompted for various options)

     This install script can put the REAPER program into /opt
     or ~/opt, or a path of your choice, and optionally set
     up desktop integration (menu items, file associations).

  [A]dd desktop integration for /home/user/Downloads/reaper_linux_x86_64/REAPER/reaper

     If you've extracted REAPER into the path you would like
     it to live in (/home/user/Downloads/reaper_linux_x86_64/REAPER), you can set
     up desktop integration (menu items, file associations, 
     etc) via this action.
__________________
Currently enrolled in a coding bootcamp; don't expect timely responses from me.
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI tutorial for Lua / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate / ReaPack
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 01:32 PM   #5
JohnnysCash
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 6
Default

Thanks for the speedy and great replies guys!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Winter View Post
Probably better to change directory to where you extracted the files and run
Code:
sh install-reaper.sh
I tried that, but got the following result:

liam@liam-Lenovo-Flex-2-14:~$ cd /home/liam/Documents/Manual DL Apps/reaper595_linux_x86_64/reaper_linux_x86_64
bash: cd: too many arguments

So any advice on why I can't enter that directory would be marvelous.


Regarding the install options; I tried to run the script exactly as before, by copy pasting into terminal, however this time I was not prompted to select from the aforementioned options. This time it simply started executing (something?) I was not presented any options. The output of this attempt is too voluminous to copy/paste here.

At the end there's a little message saying installation complete, however, there's no desktop icon, nothing in apps. Just nothing.

Ubuntu is awesome, but it's just about got me ripping out the last of my hair!
JohnnysCash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 01:37 PM   #6
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The vast, frozen wasteland of western Canadia.
Posts: 5,552
Default

You have a space in the path - Linux doesn't like those.
__________________
Currently enrolled in a coding bootcamp; don't expect timely responses from me.
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI tutorial for Lua / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate / ReaPack
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 04:23 PM   #7
JohnnysCash
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokasenna View Post
You have a space in the path - Linux doesn't like those.
Would that mean it's generally a bad idea to have spaces in folder names?
JohnnysCash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 04:28 PM   #8
lilith93
Human being with feelings
 
lilith93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Karlsruhe
Posts: 130
Default

Yes, don't use spaces,but _ for example.
lilith93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 05:45 PM   #9
Glennbo
Human being with feelings
 
Glennbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 2,743
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lilith93 View Post
Yes, don't use spaces,but _ for example.
Just like Windows, you can put quotes around the whole thing like,

"Program Files"

You can also precede a space with a backslash as in,

Program\ Files

So this line,

cd /home/liam/Documents/Manual DL Apps/reaper595_linux_x86_64/reaper_linux_x86_64

should be properly evaluated by Linux if entered like this,

cd "/home/liam/Documents/Manual DL Apps/reaper595_linux_x86_64/reaper_linux_x86_64"

or like this,

cd /home/liam/Documents/Manual\ DL\ Apps/reaper595_linux_x86_64/reaper_linux_x86_64
__________________
Glennbo
Soundclick - http://www.soundclick.com/glennbo
--
Glennbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 06:22 PM   #10
JohnnysCash
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glennbo View Post
I started messing with REAPER for Linux before there was an install script, so I haven't used it because I put REAPER manually into .local/share not knowing where the best place for it to live was.

Anyway, reading through the install script I see the following.

[V]iew readme-linux.txt and REAPER license agreement
[R]un REAPER from $srcpath/reaper
[I]nstall REAPER (you will be prompted for various options)
[A]dd desktop integration for $srcpath/reaper

If you do an [I] for install, it will prompt you for options along the way.

PS, you can also do what I did which is to just unzip the archive and copy the REAPER folder where ever you want, provided you have the permissions to do so. You will have to create your own links to REAPER and icons on your menu to start it up though.

Thanks once again to all. You've given me some great info.

Glennbo, I can get it running from the extracted .tar. I'd love to know how to create a desktop shortcut though. I tried "copy to" on the reaper executable and put it on desktop, but it won't run from there. I have to navigate to the folder i created to house (potentially) manually installed apps and open it from there. I'm basically looking for a "create shortcut" kinda deal like u get in windows.
JohnnysCash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 06:30 PM   #11
JohnnysCash
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Winter View Post
Probably better to change directory to where you extracted the files and run
Code:
sh install-reaper.sh
Hey Jack,

I removed the spaces from folder name and did as you said. results were:


liam@liam-Lenovo-Flex-2-14:~$ cd /home/liam/Documents/ManualApps
liam@liam-Lenovo-Flex-2-14:~/Documents/ManualApps$ sh install -reaper.sh
sh: 0: Can't open install
liam@liam-Lenovo-Flex-2-14:~/Documents/ManualApps$ sudo sh install -reaper.sh
[sudo] password for liam:
sh: 0: Can't open install
JohnnysCash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 07:44 PM   #12
Glennbo
Human being with feelings
 
Glennbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 2,743
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnysCash View Post
Thanks once again to all. You've given me some great info.

Glennbo, I can get it running from the extracted .tar. I'd love to know how to create a desktop shortcut though. I tried "copy to" on the reaper executable and put it on desktop, but it won't run from there. I have to navigate to the folder i created to house (potentially) manually installed apps and open it from there. I'm basically looking for a "create shortcut" kinda deal like u get in windows.
In my case, I used the native menu editor in Xubuntu, clicked New Launcher and put

~/.local/share/reaper_linux_x86_64/REAPER/reaper

in for the command. Ubuntu may or may not have the same menu editor as Xubuntu, which is /usr/bin/menulibre.
__________________
Glennbo
Soundclick - http://www.soundclick.com/glennbo
--
Glennbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 07:45 PM   #13
Glennbo
Human being with feelings
 
Glennbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 2,743
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnysCash View Post
Hey Jack,

I removed the spaces from folder name and did as you said. results were:


liam@liam-Lenovo-Flex-2-14:~$ cd /home/liam/Documents/ManualApps
liam@liam-Lenovo-Flex-2-14:~/Documents/ManualApps$ sh install -reaper.sh
sh: 0: Can't open install
liam@liam-Lenovo-Flex-2-14:~/Documents/ManualApps$ sudo sh install -reaper.sh
[sudo] password for liam:
sh: 0: Can't open install
Try issuing

bash install-reaper.sh

-
__________________
Glennbo
Soundclick - http://www.soundclick.com/glennbo
--

Last edited by Glennbo; 10-10-2018 at 11:06 PM.
Glennbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 10:54 PM   #14
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 2,309
Default

It's install-reaper.sh, not install -reaper.sh.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnysCash View Post
Would that mean it's generally a bad idea to have spaces in folder names?
Spaces are perfectly fine (anything except a slash or a null byte is allowed in Ext4 filenames) but must be escaped properly when using the terminal (otherwise the shell splits the command line into arguments at spaces).

Last edited by cfillion; 10-10-2018 at 11:10 PM.
cfillion is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 04:56 AM   #15
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Luxembourg/Spain
Posts: 1,684
Default

A tip, the tab key very often works for completing commands and pathnames, try it out!
__________________
Reaper for Linux Documentation (WIP). Software: Archlinux/KDE, Fabfilter FX, Komplete 8, Nebula, Schwa/Stillwell, T-racks Max/Amplitube/SVX, etc. Gear: i7-2600k/4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040,etc. :)
Jack Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.